1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to use to clean my MAF

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Add7, Oct 19, 2004.

  1. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey peps,

    Can someone tell me what i need to use.

    Im not in the mood to search through the archive!

    Cheers

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. T3RBO
    Offline

    T3RBO 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Something like IPA (isopropyl alcohol)
    #2
  3. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers
    #3
  4. 663KAY
    Offline

    663KAY New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry to hijack your post but Audi A3 1.8TS did u get your temp problem sorted?...
    I had the waterpump and thermostat changed...problem gone!
    #4
  5. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    no worries!

    No i didnt mate! i have a thermostat at home spare. so i might just change it.

    but the water pump is a bit more difficult
    #5
  6. clcollins
    Offline

    clcollins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use flash liquid, you did say bath, right? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #6
  7. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol
    #7
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    *groan*
    #8
  9. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #9
  10. 663KAY
    Offline

    663KAY New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Audi A3 1.8TS said:
    Hey peps,

    Can someone tell me what i need to use.

    Im not in the mood to search through the archive!

    Cheers

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Hey, can u tell me how to remove it in the first place..those funny screws are pissin me off.. do i need a special tool?...my car's starting to hesitate under hard acceleration and I think that migh t be the culprit...
    #10
  11. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,972
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    [ QUOTE ]
    663KAY said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    Audi A3 1.8TS said:
    Hey peps,

    Can someone tell me what i need to use.

    Im not in the mood to search through the archive!

    Cheers

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Hey, can u tell me how to remove it in the first place..those funny screws are pissin me off.. do i need a special tool?...my car's starting to hesitate under hard acceleration and I think that migh t be the culprit...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    You need to remove the whole MAF housing, not just the sensor itself. The tube bit between the inlet and air filter housing, should be a couple of jubilee clips.
    #11
  12. 663KAY
    Offline

    663KAY New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanx, jojo. would it then mean that I'd have to disconnect it? And will this not send an error to my ecu meaning I'd have to have it cleared?
    lastly, if it's in the housing, then how do i gain access to clean it (if that would make a difference)?
    Sorry for all the q's, just wanna get it right the first time around! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
    #12
  13. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,972
    Likes Received:
    1,576
    Yes, you need to remove the whole unit to clean, you will not get an error when disconnecting the maf, unless the car ignition is ON!

    Look here ----> Air Mass Meter
    #13
  14. 663KAY
    Offline

    663KAY New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your help/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif ...I cleaned my MAF this weekend and now my car seems to have a new life! Feels good to save money by doing these simple jobs yourself!! Been a while since I enjoyed driving it this much, thanks again /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif...this must be by far, the most helpful site on the web!

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/dancing.gif
    #14

Share This Page