1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What to do with a Navman S50?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by Davsurfa, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2009]
    So I had this Navman that worked fine, but then it's rare I'll leave anything alone. Had a quick mooch online to see how to unlock it, because it runs WINce I figured I could use it as a PDA too. Unlocking it was easy and quick, then after a phone call to a mate to see what programs I could put on it he said "Nip over and try this disc".
    So I nipped, then uploaded the disc and was amazed at what is on there now!!! I have now got 11 different navigation programs including the original one, Tom Tom and Garmin

    [​IMG]

    Although the most impressive has to be this one

    [​IMG]

    This has 3D maps in the cities. The buildings are the right shape, colour and actually look like the buildings they represent.

    On top of this there are also various media players

    [​IMG]

    Including window media player

    [​IMG]

    Then when you get bored of music you could always just pop a movie on(I just tried a short clip to see if it worked).

    [​IMG]

    Or just have a wallpaper of whatever you wish

    [​IMG]

    And of course pretty much every type of tool, useful or otherwise

    [​IMG]

    So having got all of this working I connected an audio lead, 3.5mm jack to phono lead, to the back of my headunit and plugged it in to the headphone socket on the Navman. This way the audio is a lot better than using the mono speaker in the back of the satnav and, on journeys that I know the way on, the otherhalf can sit and watch a movie or play the games. The only problem is trying to get a big enough SD card to put movies and music on.

    Still, that was how I spent this arvo and evening. I'm happy with the outcome. I didn't think for a minute I could make a satnav so useful.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Oct 25, 2009]
    Shame mine won't do all that flashy stuff, too old. What ver Win Ce does it run?
    #2
  4. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 25, 2009]
    5.0 but it now runs windows mobile, and mobile vista according to the start up bit. I'm no genius when it comes to computers but most satnavs can be unlocked and once that's done they'll do loads!!
    #3
  5. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2009]
    Just as a taster of the 3d maps this is Corporation Street in Birmingham,

    [​IMG]

    Even the police station looks like the actual building!
    #4
  6. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Oct 26, 2009]
    Nice one, shrink the pics a bit if you can, Thanks

    Mine is Ver 4.2 and i have since found Tom Tom will run on it so will try that
    #5
  7. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2009]
    Oooer yeah sorry about the size!!
    #6
  8. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 26, 2009]

    Better?? :D
    #7
  9. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2009]
    All the software, once it's been unlocked, can be found on GPSUnderground.
    #8
  10. devonmikeyboy
    Offline

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Oct 27, 2009]
    I have read about doing this but am always to scared i will screw something up and bugger the sat nav up. What disc did you friend have that you used.
    #9
  11. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2009]
    The software he used came from GPSUnderground. Depending on what satnav you are using, I can only speak about the Navman cuz that's all I know, if you download Navdisc if it all goes horribly wrong you can just restore the original software. Unlocking and locking was done using this page whilst the Navman was connected. Any software I have on mine is on the SD card. If I pull the card out it reverts back to the original programming. A 1GB card is the minimum to run all the programs I have but you don't have to run all of them. I have unlocked a S80 Navman and put just the iGO program on there for a mate. Once you have unlocked whichever model you have most of the programs will run although I've not seen the iGO program running on any tomtoms. If you do somehow manage to screw it all up just pull the card and lock it again. It really is that easy.
    #10
  12. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Oct 27, 2009]
    GPS underground is soooooo painfully slow ATM.

    All the links are used to the bits i want too, BBBOOOOHHOOOOO
    #11
  13. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 27, 2009]
    LMAO!! Always the way! What satnav are you using?
    #12
  14. devonmikeyboy
    Offline

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Oct 27, 2009]
    I have been using a Snopper Indigo which the postcode finder was **** from day one. Have been useing a cheap ebuyer F+H 3.5 version 2 sat nav which i always intended unlocking but chickened out as i am not that great with computers and thought i would screw it up. Now have a TomTom 930T which is a great device.
    #13
  15. Davsurfa
    Offline

    Davsurfa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2009]

    The Tomtom has the same size screen as my Navman and I have seen unlocked Tomtoms carry most of the programs that I'm running. Have a crack at, like the good Dr Pepper says "What's the worst that can happen?"
    #14
  16. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,596
    Likes Received:
    273
    [Oct 28, 2009]

    Becker High speed, 9794 Win Ce 4.2. only costed £50 so can't really complain. Currenly running mio map 3 instead of its Navigon rubbish
    #15

Share This Page