1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What manifold for gt28rs?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Triple_A, Jan 31, 2006.

  1. Triple_A
    Offline

    Triple_A Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    Im thinkin to get that k04 eliminator that ATP has now released for S3. That is supposed to be bolt-on for original manifold but as we all know how crappy that is then i need to replace it.

    http://www.atpturbo.com/Merchant2/mercha...gory_Code=VVWTK


    Has anybody seen any good manifolds with k04 flange that replace original one and still keeps turbo in original position?

    Here is one that i spotted on dn-performance web site. What do you think about that?

    [​IMG]

    http://www.dnperformance.com/audivw.html

    It looks that turbo is in same position that with this original manifold.

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 1, 2014]

  3. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    Hello,

    I don't think there are many people (perhaps none) who have performed the GT28RS big turbo upgrade on an S3 or TT yet.

    The last time I visited the ATP turbo site, their transverse manifold for the S3/TT was not ready yet. Delayed by about 6 weeks or so.

    So I think there is a lack of experienced people to give you advice. You may have to push the boundries and be the first.

    If you do decide to go for it, there are a lot of people on here who would be interested in your progress.

    AL
    #2
  4. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    They are now ready... shipping today i believe.

    This will make a turbo upgrade, rather cheap indeed! All in, mapped .etc for £3k i reckon with fmic and exhaust.

    Rich
    #3
  5. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    Well well, the ATP site says they are OK to order. But I think thats just for the turbo kit.

    AL
    #4
  6. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    Turbo kit and manifold. Then build yourself a FMIC which is inexpensive, sports cats, cat back and then get MRC to remap it @ £550...All done for a little under £3k i reckon. Christ...thats bloody good really isnt it!
    #5
  7. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    You make it sound so simple Rich. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    But which manifold?

    I guess its just a matter of time before ATP finish development of the S3/TT manifold.

    AL
    #6
  8. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    Ah thats a point...theyve only got the K03 mani at the moment...Unless theyve made the K04 eliminators to use the same flange so they only needed to make 1 manifold.

    RIch
    #7
  9. imported_bubstar
    Offline

    imported_bubstar Guest

    [Jan 31, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Turbo kit and manifold. Then build yourself a FMIC which is inexpensive, sports cats, cat back and then get MRC to remap it @ £550...All done for a little under £3k i reckon. Christ...thats bloody good really isnt it!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yes it's very good indeed . ATP seem to have done all the hard work for you. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bravo.gif

    Well as I said in my post in the tuning section - I will get one but it wont for at least a year or so yet!!!

    Good luck to anyone who's going to give it a go /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif

    BUB
    #8
  10. mazzy
    Offline

    mazzy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2004
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    i'm gonna get my upgrade done soon, as for remapping whats REVO do for the gt28? i read a little on their site about it. Any info guys?
    #9
  11. elucidate
    Offline

    elucidate Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    This ATP stuff is making me more and more interested in just biting the bullet and doing my car. The GT2X looks the better option for fWD cars though, 260ish Bhp should be plenty!!

    And only £700

    Plus injectors and fuel pump,, Another £200 from the USA.

    So, thats a FMIC, £900, £500 for the remap and a few days out of your life as you fit them. Mmmm interesting...
    #10
  12. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    I for one, wouldnt even consider using the K03 manifold...it WILL break in 5 minutes, that you cxan guarantee on! If your going to do it...Do it properly.

    RIch
    #11
  13. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    Why would it break? You talking about cracking due to heat or weight?
    #12
  14. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Why would it break? You talking about cracking due to heat or weight?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Heat! It cant flow the amount of air it needs to either...They are really **** manifolds!!
    #13
  15. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2006]
    I see. This must be why the yanks are a little concerned about ATP's claims at the mo then.

    I think its a good kit, but I need to see the results in the real world before I would think about taking the plunge.
    #14
  16. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 1, 2006]
    Spotted these for A3s

    ATP
    [​IMG]

    Kinetic Motorsport
    [​IMG]
    #15
  17. Triple_A
    Offline

    Triple_A Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 1, 2006]
    I contacted to ATP and asked about that S3/TT manifold. They answered like this...

    ----------------------
    Thanks for your request.

    We currently only have the eliminator kit for your S3 utilizing the
    stock
    manifold. A high flow version of your stock manifold will be made
    available
    sometime down the road at which point you can easily swap.

    If you're in finland, you can also contact www.turbotec.com and speak
    to
    Mika about stock and availability because we ship to them regularly.

    --------------------------

    So there is not much to do than wait for that manifold. I asked from few people that does custom-made manifolds if they could do tube manifold for me that keeps turbo in original position. They said that it´s not possible to do that because it is so narrow place between turbo and car body. I also asked how much hp i could achieve with original manifold and with that eliminator and they said that not much more than I have now (270hp dynoted).
    #16
  18. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 1, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Spotted these for A3s

    ATP
    [​IMG]

    Kinetic Motorsport
    [​IMG]

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yep thats the onei was thinking for use with the eliminators.
    #17
  19. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 1, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Spotted these for A3s

    ATP
    [​IMG]

    Kinetic Motorsport
    [​IMG]

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yep thats the onei was thinking for use with the eliminators. (The ATP one)

    [/ QUOTE ]
    #18
  20. imported_Feel
    Offline

    imported_Feel Guest

    [Feb 1, 2006]
    If you were wanting to swap the manifold, would there be any benefit in switching to the ATP K03 replacement and running a K03 Eliminator rather than a K04 eliminator.

    RobDon has apparently changed to an ATP manifold and seen +19 with a flatter torque curve with no maping changes. This is on a K03/K04 hybrid. So that kind of proves the theory that the stock k03 manifold is a weak link.
    #19
  21. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 1, 2006]
    K04/K03 eliminators wont be much different... just the bolt flange and the downpipe location is all..

    Rich
    #20
  22. Triple_A
    Offline

    Triple_A Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 1, 2006]
    Then i couldn´t use my original S3 downpipe and intake pipe. And keeping those original is only reason why im going to get that eliminator turbo, because then that big turbo upgrade is not going to cost a fortune.
    #21
  23. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 1, 2006]
    S3 downpipe is also something i would change.... Its too narrow to be pushing high BHP and you may risk damaging the turbo from too much back pressure.

    Rich
    #22
  24. imported_VaulterTim
    Offline

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Feb 1, 2006]
    This S3 engine is running a normal ATP 1.8T Big Turbo manifold. It has had a custom link pipe made along with downpipe... not very noticeable in those pics as it's around the back but I know it's there, I've seen it! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif You can just make out the top of it if you look closely... all fits quite neatly when it's in the bay.
    #23
  25. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 2, 2006]
    #24
  26. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 2, 2006]
    The problem with that Al, is you would need a custom downpipe as the alignment will be out.

    The beauty of the eliminators, is that everything is bolt on, and customisable... Makes the whole thing much cheaper, and much quicker to do.

    RIch
    #25
  27. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 2, 2006]
    #26
  28. AL_B
    Offline

    AL_B Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 2, 2006]
    Yeah realise that Rich, but...it could be possible for these companies to manufacture something. They may do it quicker than ATP, they may not.
    #27
  29. andybish
    Offline

    andybish New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    had the gt2871r fitted last year but
    due to a impossibly /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif rebuild ..had it re-done with a few little extras..ha ha
    420bhp 380+ torque as per dynocell run with omex ecu
    #28
  30. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 4, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    had the gt2871r fitted last year but
    due to a impossibly /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif rebuild ..had it re-done with a few little extras..ha ha
    420bhp 380+ torque as per dynocell run with omex ecu

    [/ QUOTE ]

    F/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gifIng hell man, I think we need to know some more info about your car, I'm sure I'm not the only one on here that would like to know as much as you can be bothered to write / show.

    you must have the fastest S3 in the UK, or has somone spent the silly money on the full 460BHP sportec kit?
    #29
  31. imported_VaulterTim
    Offline

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Feb 4, 2006]
    Take a look at the 2.0l Stroker Kit thread in the A4(B5) section /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #30
  32. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 5, 2006]
    hi bish ,good figures out of a gt2871r always thought they where rated at 400bhp max.Didn't think omex could run a dbw throttle or did you convert to cable driven?When do you hit 1 bar boost and max boost in rpm?
    #31
  33. ChriS3
    Offline

    ChriS3 hud at ye bam

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,234
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Feb 5, 2006]
    If you're looking to replace the manifol too, ATP and Star Performace have been working on these:

    [​IMG]

    Should work with the new K04 Eliminators
    #32
  34. andybish
    Offline

    andybish New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 5, 2006]
    yeah thats my car lol andy c and the guys at greydevil are sorting it out..
    #33
  35. andybish
    Offline

    andybish New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 5, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    hi bish ,good figures out of a gt2871r always thought they where rated at 400bhp max.Didn't think omex could run a dbw throttle or did you convert to cable driven?When do you hit 1 bar boost and max boost in rpm?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    the gt2871r went bang on the dyno..lol turned uot i was supplied a 28rs not the 71r..
    see andy.c's threads on the a4 forum on stroker kits ...
    its my engine displayed in the pics
    still waiting to find out if the omex is going to run with the flybywire but they have a cable system ready incase its needed
    #34
  36. imported_VaulterTim
    Offline

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Feb 5, 2006]
    Yes... *poof* was how it went... I saw it /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif Took some pics of it in pieces afterwards back at the workshop if you wanna see 'em...?

    I would be having words with those that supplied the turbo if I were you... it wasn't as spec'd, installed badly and the rest is now history /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Andy has done a fantastic job so far and the turbo that is fitted now is a monster!!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif

    Can't wait to see it on the road bud... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    Cheers

    T
    #35
  37. andybish
    Offline

    andybish New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 5, 2006]
    the whole previous build has been a nightmare..we just kept finding even more and more inexperienced balls ups...not going to name the company but they done an <font color="red"> </font> bad job...and my car has not been the only balls up..
    one lesson to be learnt when having a bulid done get everything documented..
    but yeah andy and the guys...my hat off to them its been a very long build but should be good ..

    cheers t
    bish
    #36
  38. Triple_A
    Offline

    Triple_A Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    If you're looking to replace the manifol too, ATP and Star Performace have been working on these

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That looks like FWD manifold.
    S3 manifold is like this.

    [​IMG]
    #37
  39. Ryanc
    Offline

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2006]
    bish sounds a interesting build,are you having any head/inlet work done?
    #38
  40. andybish
    Offline

    andybish New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2006]
    Ryan..
    yeah been full polished and ported..wicked job..and using a dalback inlet manifold matched to head..
    trying to think of a part that is standard now lol
    #39
  41. Triple_A
    Offline

    Triple_A Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 6, 2006]
    Bish:
    Is there much hp gain with that dahlback inlet manifold?
    #40

Share This Page