1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is your music set up?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    I'm curious to see what other B5 Avant owners has done with their standard sub set and how they fitted any after market stuff.

    Post your pics and specs.


    Mine is 100% standard apart from the head unit.

    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. tdia4
    Offline

    tdia4 TDIPOWARRR

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    Mine was, Sony headunit, standard speakers, 12inch jbl sub and 400watt jbl amp.

    But now all standard with just a connects2 mp3 output on standard stereo.
    #2
  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    417
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    I dont have any pics of my front end, as i've still not bothered to buy a properly fitting set of the fascia adaptors, so theres a huge gaping hole around the head unit.

    Head unit is a Pioneer DEH-P3630MP:

    [​IMG]

    This provides two line outs which run to a pair of amps mounted to the rear of the back seats:

    [​IMG]

    The JBL GTO 4000 runs the four door speakers (4x50w RMS), and the Sony XM-2100GTX drives the sub (250w RMS)

    The sub itself is a Pioneer TS-W305C, in a custom moulded fibreglass and MDF enclosure:

    [​IMG]


    Its neat and tidy, doesnt take up much room, but sounds great.

    Amps are wired up with a length of 25mm^2 welding cable, small distribution block and 8AWG wiring to each amp. Each amp has a 40A fuse, and theres a 80A fuse at the battery.
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011
    #3
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    Thats a nice set up Aragorn.
    I like that.
    #4
  5. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,786
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    I have a JVC AVX2 dvd headunit, currently purchasing some Hertz 130 comps for front to replace standard, have an Alpine 12" sub for boot and will be run off an Alpine MRV F407 amp.

    Currently installing so will have pics later.
    #5
  6. phoenixv6quattro
    Offline

    phoenixv6quattro staylowmovefast

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    Alpine CDR ipod ready head unit, Pioneer co-axial door speakers, uprated upper front door tweeters, rear door speakers removed, Alpine Active 12'' sub in boot. Sounds ok, but ideally would have better door speakers (components, maybe rainbows) and have a seperate amp running them. Not a massive ice nut though so cant be bothered.
    #6
  7. fARQUARE
    Offline

    fARQUARE Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    I have a £45 head unit out of aldi. it plays everything off my phone via bluetooth, the most functional and subtle looking head unit ive ever owned. only drawback is the lighting is a bit bright, I need to remember to play about with resistirs to dull it a bit
    #7
  8. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    256
    [Feb 25, 2011]
    Im my old Avant I had a Kenwood PS1070R and 6 disc changer running a pair of cheap XS Liberator amps, Kenwood components in the front doors and a custom box in the boot with Infinity 6x9's anda Kicker 12" sub

    [​IMG]

    For a cheap and cheerful system it sounded ok and was thrown together with kit I had lying around
    #8
  9. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    Nice set ups lads.

    Any one or know of any one who done a stealth install using the space where the standard sub is?
    #9
  10. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    417
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    Some A3 guys have done it, i think theres a thread in the Ice forum.

    You may struggle to get enough volume for a decent sized sub though, and you'd have to be careful to ensure you left enough access for the bulbs.
    #10
  11. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    Thats the main problem.
    JL 6W3 might be an idea.
    #11
  12. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    #12
  13. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    I'll drop him a PM. see what he says.
    Thanks.
    #13
  14. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    417
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    I doubt theres much point in a diddy little 6" sub.

    You can probably fit a 10" in there if you try!
    #14
  15. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    may be, I dont need any of the space used for the changer any more.
    So can expand it all out to that.
    I can move my 12v and 240v supply.

    When I get my new boot pannels i'll strip it all out and attempt a build.
    #15
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,311
    Likes Received:
    417
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    yeh, i think with the speaker mounted more or less at the hatch opening, and the box following the original lines of the OEM sub enclosure, and adding in the cd changer area you should be fine.

    You could even use the original box as a starting point. Block off the bass port, and the original sub hole, and cut the side out and expand it using fibreglass into the area the original cdchanger used up.
    #16
  17. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,261
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    [Feb 28, 2011]
    Thats what i'm thinking.
    Could then try and mould the fiber glass so I still got access to the bulbs.

    I just need some new planels, fiber glass and time. :)
    #17

Share This Page