1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the difference between these RNS-Es?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Johnny Bravo, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. Johnny Bravo
    Offline

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Mar 4, 2012]
    [h=1]8P0 035 192 L[/h][h=1][/h][h=1][/h]8P0 035 192 S
    [h=1]8E0 035 192 T[/h]and

    8P0 035 193 G
    ???

    I'm watching a few on e-bay and I don't know which one to buy.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. roxorsky
    Offline

    roxorsky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2012]

    Buna,

    A bit late but I might be of help.

    I have a 2008 Audi A3 and i'm also looking for a GPS unit.
    These are the different models out there :

    8P0 035 192 Audi A3 Europe, MY 2004
    8P0 035 192 A Audi A3 Europe, MY 2005
    8P0 035 192 B Audi A3 North America, MY 2006
    8P0 035 192 C Audi A3 North America, MY 2006
    8P0 035 192 D Audi A3 BNS 5.0
    8P0 035 192 E Audi A3 Japan (does not work anywhere else)
    8P0 035 192 F Audi A3 Europe, MY 2006, SDS
    8P0 035 192 G Audi A3 North America, MY 2006,
    8P0 035 192 H Audi A3 Europe, MY 2007
    8P0 035 192 J Audi A3 Europe, MY 2007, SDS
    8P0 035 192 K Audi A3 North America, MY 2007
    8P0 035 192 L Audi A3 Europe, MY 2007.5
    8P0 035 192 M Audi A3 Europe, MY 2008, SDS
    8P0 035 192 P Audi A3 Europe, BNS 5.0, MY 2008
    8P0 035 192 Q Audi A3 Europe, MY 2008.5
    8P0 035 192 R Audi A3 Europe, MY 2008.5, SDS
    8P0 035 192 S Audi A3 Cabrio Europe, MY 2008.5
    8P0 035 192 T Audi A3 Europe, MY 2009, SDS
    8P0 035 193 Audi A3 North America, MY 2009
    8P0 035 193 A Audi A3 North America, MY 2009.5
    8P0 035 193 B Audi A3 Europe, MY 2010
    8P0 035 193 C Audi A3 Europe, MY 2010, SDS
    8P0 035 193 D Audi A3 North America, MY 2010
    8P0 035 193 F Audi A3 North America, MY 2011
    8P0 035 193 G Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011
    8P0 035 193 H Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011, SDS

    Now, you are going to want one of these 2:
    8P0 035 193 G Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011
    8P0 035 193 H Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011, SDS

    They are the latest built and have the latest hardware and firmware, with a nicer GPS.
    The difference between the 2 is that SDS has voice-control.

    That being said, PLEASE BE ADVISED that you might not have a built-in microphone (I don't) and therefor you should not buy the optional bluetooth module, nor the SDS version. (unless you want to have the mic built-in, but it's not going to be nice so I don't bother (also, mine is a leasing car)).

    So, if you have or want a microphone, get the 8P0 035 193 H version, if you don't have or want a microphone, get the 8P0 035 193 G version.
    Don't forget the bluetooth module if you want to call. You could also get the multimedia module on which you can hook up a tv receptor or other AV sources (even a playstation or whatnot).

    Personally, i'm getting the 8P0 035 193 G because I don't want a microphone and we only have 2 over the air tv channels here. Also, I can get the unit on its own for 500€.. the modules cost 300each on ebay.

    However, I have a question for the community

    Considering that I only need the GPS unit and nothing else, could I buy the 8P0 035 192 L version use the latest 2011 Navigation Plus DVD ?
    I assume that will only give me the latest maps and not the latest GPS software.


    So, basically, is it possible to upgrade the entire firmware to 8P0 035 193 G ?

    Thx !
    #2
  4. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,164
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    I have a Mk2 for sale.
    #3
  5. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    How much? Is this the latest/newest model that can be retro-fitted to an 8L S3 (with double DIN)?

    Liam
    #4
  6. roxorsky
    Offline

    roxorsky New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    #5
  7. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    309
    [Mar 21, 2012]
    Nate's one, like all those listed above, is for an 8P (2004-now). There is a way of retrofitting the equivalent A4 unit into an 8L dash though (requires a custom surround, iirc).
    #6
  8. runnernorth
    Offline

    runnernorth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Hi, can you explain to me, what is the difference between the H06 /SW210 versions and other versions in the ..193G model....?
    -what does the H and SW stands for, hardware and software? -what differences....?
    Kindly
    Jan
    #7
  9. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    You cannot fit the new RNS-E units into the older cars such as the A3 8L or B5 RS4 as they cannot be coded to work as an A6 and if you code them to A4 you need to generate GALA over canbus and you need a cangate module to do that. So bear that in mind if trying to fit the MK2 units into older cars.

    I have one running in an A2, coded as A4 with a cangate module to generate GALA.
    #8
  10. runnernorth
    Offline

    runnernorth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Thx s8craig, but my car is an A3 8PA my 2007, and I think I've read that it's possible to swap the new RNS-E with my current BNS5.0 in my car, am I right you think??
    Kindly
    Jan
    #9
  11. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    I was answering MartyMacfly's post regarding the 8L, not yours.
    #10
  12. runnernorth
    Offline

    runnernorth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Sorry:(
    #11
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    Jan, sorry for delay, will reply to your pm now :)
    #12
  14. runnernorth
    Offline

    runnernorth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    Thx Nigel, I'm looking forward to read it :)
    #13
  15. charlito83
    Offline

    charlito83 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    I would like to know what features you can find in 8P0-035-192, and what features in 8P0-035-193. Someone knows the difference?

    I'm writing from Argentina, and I have an Audi A3 SPORTBACK 2.0 TDI, from 2007. I'm living in Argentina, and I have my car here with me. I'm sure that my car was made for Argentina, but I'm not sure if it's like a eurpean model or a american model.

    Right now, I have a Smyphony Radio, with the possibility to enter up to 6 cds inside just from the front of the radio. And I don't have any controls on my steering wheel. Becouse that, I'm looking for some Navigation Plus that fits in my car.

    The problem is that here in Argentina Audi could not approve the Navigation Plus, and they can't import this unit. Becouse this I want to buy it in Europe or in USA, and import it for myself. But righ now I'm looking for some help to identify wich is the best version that will fits in my car. I looking for the latest version that have more features. And about what I'm read, may I have to options: 8P0-035-192 o 8P0-035-193, but I would like to know wich features have one and other.

    Someone can help me?

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    Charlito83
    #14
  16. kite
    Offline

    kite Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    Would you even be able to get maps for the system.
    No point fitting a nav if it won't work.
    #15
  17. charlito83
    Offline

    charlito83 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2013]
    Thanks Kite.

    I will be able to gets the maps. This not the problem.

    Do you know the difference between 192 and 193?

    Thanks
    #16
  18. Johnny Bravo
    Offline

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    193 has a faster procesor and a better, LED screen.
    #17
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Mar 12, 2013]
    Along with sdhc upto 32gb in each slot & AMI & OPS compatibility
    #18
  20. SaEire
    Offline

    SaEire New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2014]
    Just wondering guys what the difference is with 8P0 035 193 E and the rest . its the only one that's not one the list and I have seen them around for sale
    #19
  21. akingcool
    Offline

    akingcool New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2014]
    i know this is thread is a little old, looking to get one of these and i think i can handle the installation as i have done many headunit swaps in the past. Is it true I will need to code this using vagcom to get it working?
    #20
  22. efrant
    Offline

    efrant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 5, 2014]
    I have a VAG-COM, but I didn't need to use it when I swapped out my Symphony II for an RNS-E. Not sure if the guy who I bought it from had already coded it though...
    #21
  23. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,078
    Likes Received:
    558
    [Nov 5, 2014]
    should need a bot of coding to get it fully working
    #22
  24. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Nov 6, 2014]
    So you never bothered coding your instrument cluster to get directions on the DIS? Also if you have bluetooth, you need to enabled comfort so you enable full function of the BT module. You should always use vcds to check for correct coding on the navigation & coding of the other modules in the car that communicate to the RNS-E.
    #23
  25. efrant
    Offline

    efrant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2014]
    I did verify with my VAG-COM, and everything was already coded correctly. My instrument cluster was already coded properly for some reason -- not sure why. I get direction on the DIS, and I did not have to code anything. I haven't had a chance to install my BT module yet. (I'm still trying to find out exactly where the module goes -- I think it is under the left side seat carpet, but I haven't pulled out the seat yet to verify.)
    #24
  26. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Nov 6, 2014]
    The only thing I can think of is the previous owner must have retrofitted nav, as the DIS would never be coded from factory. I've retrofited a fair amount of RNS-E's over the years and have never seen a dis that was already coded.

    If your retfitting BT then just stick the module behind the glove box, there is plenty of room behind there, and it' were most people put it. The OEM location is under the carpet of the car which involves removing uper and lower B pillar trim , the seat and trying to lift the carpet up, it's a pain & gives you no benefit, also if you want to sell the unit on or it goes faulty then again it's easy to remove behind the glove box.
    #25
    efrant likes this.
  27. efrant
    Offline

    efrant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 6, 2014]
    I'm sure you're right. I found it weird that I didn't have to change anything.
    I tried finding a spot behind the glovebox and even behind the RNS-E, but the OEM module wouldn't fit. I did end up taking out the passenger seat, trim and carpet, but there was no spot for it. Then I realized that the instructions I was reading were from the UK, and the passenger seat meant the left hand side of the car, not the right side. (I live in Canada!) So my next project is to take out the driver seat, trim and carpet. :)
    #26
  28. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    290
    [Nov 6, 2014]
    #27
    efrant likes this.
  29. Buxx1
    Offline

    Buxx1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2014]
    Any one know if the 193 version will fit without hassle into my 2007 audi a3? Or will I need the 192L? Thank you
    #28
  30. Buxx1
    Offline

    Buxx1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2014]
    Suggest any other versions which will fit?
    #29
  31. efrant
    Offline

    efrant New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 17, 2014]
    The 193 version will fit. I have a 2007 A3, and I installed this: 8P0 035 193 G Audi A3 Europe, MY 2011
    #30

Share This Page