1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the best way to clean Meguiars Polishing G220 Pads?

Discussion in 'Detailing' started by CHRIS555, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. CHRIS555
    Offline

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 15, 2011]
    As above - what is the best way to clean my DA Pads - I have heard you can machine wash them but I just wanted to check this is ok?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. 1210tech
    Offline

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 17, 2011]
    Yep, stick them on a cool wash with just washing powder but no fabric softener, you can stick your microfibres in at the same time. They will also tumble dry if you need to get them done overnight.

    There are cleaning products out there which claim to be designed just for washing pads and cloths but in my experience they are no better than your standard non bio washing powder ;)
    #2
  4. CHRIS555
    Offline

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. John @ PB
    Offline

    John @ PB Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Jan 17, 2011]
    Pretty much as above but don't use washing powder: you can get granules which don't dissolve and get trapped in the pad: when you next come to polish, these granules get moved across the paint and can cause damage.

    A liquid non-bio is far safer.

    The same rules apply for microfibre towels and hand applicator pads.
    #4
  6. 1210tech
    Offline

    1210tech Four Ring Fanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 17, 2011]
    Gotta say I've been washing my pads and cloths with powder for years and never had a problem but I don't overload the machine with cloths or put it on the 'half load' setting
    #5

Share This Page