1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What is the best obd2 cable for vag

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by xxxxSMITHYxxxx, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. xxxxSMITHYxxxx
    Offline

    xxxxSMITHYxxxx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 28, 2013]
    Hi all I have got a version vag software and also a USB obd2 cable labeled elm327
    But when I plug it in and try and connect to the car is seems to just cycle through all the connection numbers and not do anything is it because of this cable or not or am I just doing something wrong, I mean I have worked in it for 10 years and this just not seem to make any seance the car is a W plate 1.8 Quattro
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,421
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    [Sep 28, 2013]
    VCDS is the best but if you look in the FAQ thread in the stickies I have linked to an eBay cable that can be used with VCDS lite in the 'please read before posting' thread

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. xxxxSMITHYxxxx
    Offline

    xxxxSMITHYxxxx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 28, 2013]
    Hi I do have vcds and an obd2 cable it's an elm327 but I can get it to work any reasion for this at all
    #3
  5. jimmcgee
    Offline

    jimmcgee Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Sep 28, 2013]
    need to find out what port the cable is on , and change this in vcd , when you plug the cable in did it ask to load a driver ?
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,421
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    [Sep 28, 2013]
    you using 64bit version of windows? could be a driver issue... you can force VCDS to install as 32bit IIRC... not tried it as not had an issue with drivers on a genuine cable..

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. xxxxSMITHYxxxx
    Offline

    xxxxSMITHYxxxx Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 28, 2013]
    It finds the device on port 3 fine but then after that I can't get it do anything just says no connection the does have to be with the ignition on yea and nothing happens
    #6
  8. p1tse
    Offline

    p1tse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Sep 28, 2013]
    I was very impressed with a friends Bluetooth dongle and android phone for dashboard and error code reading

    Does vagcom do apple compatible products
    #7

Share This Page