1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Else Do I Need to Retrofit OEM Xenon???

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by StagsyA4, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys!

    As the title says really.

    I am in the process of buying some OEM Xenons for my car. They are complete headlights with the bulbs and ballasts.

    What else do I need to get these to work?

    Cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Yellowtrophy

    Yellowtrophy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard this is a big job. Certainly not just plug-n-play.

    You will need the washers and the sensors for the self-levelling in order to make them work properly (and for them to be strictly legal).

    I'd guess that you'll need some additional wiring as the dipped and main beam are the same bulb on the xenons, but seperate on the halogens.

    Also the xenons have DRLs and the halogens don't.

    They will certainly need re-coding with vag-com too.

    Good luck, let us know how you get on.
     
  4. jwhat

    jwhat Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've finally got my xenons! Just need to fit them now!

    I've got the headlights, ignitor packs, bulbs etc. I've also got the Xenon/HID Curve light - Adapter leads.

    Is there anything else I need? I've been looking on the Kufatec site and it looks like I could do with the Auto-Leveling Headlights Harness too.

    Could someone please confirm this? Also, if I do need this, when ordering would I select Bi-Xenon or Curve Light as I am sure my headlights are not Bi-Xenon, they just have the one projector etc.

    Cheers guys
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Depends on your headlights you've bought what you have to install cause there's number of things to consider, whats the part numbers then can check etka & answer accordingly, I have answered load of info on the 8P section which is very similar to the B7 bixenon given I did the bixenon adaptive upgrade.
     
    iucle likes this.
  7. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK NHN i'll get the part numbers tonight and let you know! Cheers for your help mate!
     
  8. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK there are various numbers on the lights.

    There is: PL 00 DCR 00 RL (this is on both headlights)
    There is: 8E0 941 004 AN (on the right headlight)
    and: 8E0 941 003 AN (on the left headlight)

    Does this make any sense?

    cheers
     
  9. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Yeah 8E0 part would be the one I need to check in etka, get back to you asap fella.
     
  10. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers mate! thanks for your help on this!
     
  11. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Been superseded by 8E0941030 AT & 029 AT, but yours will be fine as they're bixenons, they arent adaptives/curved

    Bixenons use a motorised lense adjuster/flap to give you the dipped/main beam, its not 2 lights fella.

    If you want the auto leveling system you'd need the looms for sensors, sensors themselves which are usually 2 of, 1 on each axle & the leveling control module, although it shows in etka the control module in 2 places, maybe it uses 1 for the rear sensor & 1 for the front sensor which is strange as the 8P & others use same systems for auto levelling & use only one module for both sensors, a check in elsawin would confirm this anyway

    Do you have the headlight washing system already & do you have the manual motorised beam height adjustment?
     
    iucle likes this.
  12. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the headlight washer system (i know it's not legal without this but...) and yeah I currently have the manual motorised beam height adjustment.
     
  13. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would I still require the Auto-Levelling Harness from Kufatec or will it work with the manual motorised height adjustment?
     
  14. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,051
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Nah best bet is to completely disable/disconnect the manual adjustment & use completely new looms for the install, so need to no doubt unplug from headlight switch & trace through where wires are on other ends, so no electrical issues later on, requirement for elsawin mate.
     
  15. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry pal you've lost me .

    So should I get the new loom from Kufatec then? What is elsawin?

    Is this do-able by myself or is it best to get someone who knows what they are doing?

    Plus, will I need VAG com once all is installed?

    Cheers
     
  16. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. sidewinder306

    sidewinder306 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    Did you manage to get them fitted and if so do you have a write up?

    Thanks.
     
    #16 sidewinder306, Feb 7, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2010
  18. StagsyA4

    StagsyA4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi mate, long story but yeah, got them fitted (by a third party garage), only to find that they kept flickering and then going out after about 30 seconds of being on!

    I think the ballasts could be on their way out, or the bulbs! Not had chance to get round to it yet.

    Pretty gutted tbh. I do plan to get on the case very soon, just been very busy these past few months (move abroad etc).

    Will post up (hopefully) when all is done!

    Cheers
     
  19. hedleyb7

    hedleyb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm just about to start this world of pain also! I have a 2007 B7, I have a mint pair or Bi-Xenons complete, but a also have a pair of active bi-xenons with curve unfortunately one is missing a ballast. after much contemplation I'm deciding to give the standard Bi-xenons a try for 2 reasons mostly, 1 the headlights are in as new condition & th ecurve lights have a couple of marks and secondly it's one less thing to try and get working!

    I'll let you know how I get on, I'm jut waiting for the Kufatec harnes to arrive

    Thanks

    Hedley
     
  20. unikarl

    unikarl Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    2
    So will you be selling the curve lights? Having two sets is just greedy!!! :)
     
  21. hedleyb7

    hedleyb7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's been a while!

    So far I have installed the Xenon headlamps, installed the Kufatec adapter harness and run the 2 control wires for the high beam into the plugs under the footwell, and re-coded the electronics with VAG-COM. Apart from auto levelling (and manual) everything else works, indicators, DRL, Xenons high & low. I have purchased a new front bumper with headlamp wash and this is being sprayed as we speak, the next jop is to swap out the parking sensors with the new bumper, with the washers and caps, install the new lower half of the washer bottle and connect to the washer jets, I think I have also found the cable path and locations forthe headlamp washer jets, there is a 12V outlet that the ECU puts current to every 4th headlamp wash for a second. Once I have all that completed, I'm then going to try and retrofit the front & rear axle sensors for the Xenon auto levelling!
    I would say this is not for the faint hearted but it's not impossible either, if you try it allocate a whole day! It took me the best part of 5 hours to do what I have done so far, there was a lot of double checking etc and was generally pretty slow as I went along and I had a friend with me to help take the bumper off etc without scratching it etc
    Unfortunately I did not take pics, but when everything comes apart again for the bumper, sensor & washer bottle retrofit I'll try to take some then.


    Yes I could quite possibly have active Bi-Xenons for sale but one is missing a ballast

    Cheers
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. jwhat

    jwhat Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sounds good, I really want Xenon's so I'll have to start trawling through ebay for a while!

    Put up some pics of the finished article when you done.
     
  24. jsosic

    jsosic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2011
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys. Sorry for bumping thread but I'm in the same harness as you... I've bought bi-xenon with LED DRLs. Currently I have standard halogen lights with manual leveling (knob in cockpit). Can I connect them just with Kufatec's adapter? I know you guys hate that, but I will install the autoleveling harness later...
     
  25. s-car-go

    s-car-go New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Im currently doing the same retrofit. where exactly in the footwell would you plug in the control wires for the high beam.

    Thanks
     
  26. daviddignona3

    daviddignona3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi could someone please help me with where the 2 wires should go that run off the conversion adapter. I know they go into the control module but not sure where. Headlights installed, only work on side lights but are very dim. I know they'll need coded but if someone could help with the whereabouts of these 2 wires for my audi a3 2010 1.6 tdi sline please. david-dignon@hotmail.co.uk if yous could help. Thanks
     

Share This Page