1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What does mean? (Sony Vaio RAM)

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by Matt, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 16, 2008]
    I'm looking at buying a Sony Vaio VGN-FW11ZU.

    Only thing I dont understand is what it means in the description about the ram:

    4 GB DDR2-800 SDRAM (2*2048 MB), maximum 4 GB DDR2-800 SDRAM - a portion of the system memory over 3 GB might not be available to the operating system

    What does that last bit mean exactly?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 16, 2008]
    In a 32-bit Windows OS, it uses up a gigabyte for memory addressing space, 3GB would have been a more better choice.

    Basically your not getting 4GB of RAM to use but I wouldn't worry. Your getting 4GB - about 1GB for addressing, which is whats not available to the OS in that description.

    Make sense?
    #2
  4. gradwells
    Offline

    gradwells Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 17, 2008]
    Your new PC will be MS vista , I thought that vista could use all of the 4gb ?
    I upgraded a vista PC from 2gb to 4gb and there was a huge improvement .
    Regards
    Ian
    #3
  5. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 17, 2008]
    yeah, Vista can actually... running 64bit but its dependant on your mobo chipset. It needs to support remapping. It can still be a 32bit edition of Vista

    I guess with the spec saying what it did, that the GB is already used.. so running in 32bit
    #4
  6. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 17, 2008]
    Yeah I dont really understand any of what you are talking about lol
    #5
  7. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,997
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 18, 2008]
    AHAHAHAH, well the important thing then is... you'll be fine! ;)
    #6
  8. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    131
    [Sep 18, 2008]
    Mr Kontraband has it pretty much spot on. You've 'maxxed-out' your RAM capacity, and while you might not necessarily get all of it now, you'll not miss much - and having 2x2GB in symmetry will give better performance in terms of dual-channel operation than having 1x2GB and 1x1GB - you might've saved a couple of quid, but when pushing the machine hard it might cost you a bit of performance, even though you'd not actually have any less usable RAM.

    There's a bit more about 32-bit, 64-bit, memory addressing and memory remapping in this thread - I put a bit in post number 15 which expands a little.

    Regards,

    Rob.
    #7
  9. AlexStanley
    Offline

    AlexStanley Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 5, 2008]
    They're all talking Geek, Matt :)

    Quite simply, the machine comes with 4Gb RAM but with Windows XP and 32-bit versions of Windows Vista your applications can only use 3Gb. So in theory, you could have a machine with tons and tons of memory (16Gb, for example), but only be able to use the first 3Gb regardless.

    To make use of the extra bit of memory you'll need to use a 64-bit version of Windows Vista.

    In real terms though, unless you're used to using things like Photoshop, it's not going to make an awful difference to be fair!

    Hope that helps :)
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,503
    Likes Received:
    1,272
    [Oct 5, 2008]
    Shall we confuse him even more & talk about memory speeds, nah we'll leave it at that
    #9
  11. Matt
    Offline

    Matt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 15, 2008]
    I didn't go for the Vaio in the end. Spec'd up a Dell Studio 15 for less.

    Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 2.26GHz Processor
    4GB Ram
    320GB Hard Drive
    Blu-Ray Drive
    Intel Wireless Card
    Bluetooth
    2 Year In Home warranty & Norton Anti-virus pack
    Bunch O Surfers artwork
    [​IMG]

    Dont think it will be here till the start of November though.
    #10

Share This Page