1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What car minor niggle - no clock display

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Daveotto, Oct 8, 2013.

  1. Daveotto
    Offline

    Daveotto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    1
    just reading the September 20th entry for the What Car "our car" review and agree with the stated minor niggle that when the MMI is down and the DIS is displaying the digital speedo there is no line of sight clock display.

    Via the thuimbwheel you can scroll and see the date but not the time. As I tend to have the digital speedo displayed 95%+ of the time not having the time displayed as one of thumbwheel options is a bit of a miss for me and would be a lot more useful than the date.

    Is there any way of geting this reconfigured, and what would be the cost, as its a minor niggle i would not want to pay huge amounts to resolve it.
    #1
  2. disco82
    Offline

    disco82 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find this really annoying too. It also gets hidden when the Stop Start warning is being displayed. Most of the time it is when I am stopped that I want to look at the time!

    Also wish you could default the MMI to down!
    #2
  3. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,053
    Likes Received:
    1
    I agree! I usually have the digital speedo up, and the screen down - and this sadly also removes all the clocks. Seems odd that you can scroll through and select the date, but not the time. Maybe Audi will do an update at some point and fix it as I guess it's just a software glitch.
    #3
  4. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    I usually have the screen up - I thought I'd have it down a lot more than I do but it doesn't actually restrict any vision as it doesn't really poke up above the front of the windscreen from my point of view.
    #4
  5. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just read the what car updates as I hadn't seen them in a while, and noticed this for October - Our cars: Audi A3 Sportback - October - What Car?

    Really?! Anyone else noticed this? Will have to check next time I get a call...
    #5
  6. Daveotto
    Offline

    Daveotto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    1
    Odd, why would it vibrate, only value would be if you drive one handed with your other hand permanently on the rotary dial
    #6
    JohnnyM100, Smythy and Buneet like this.
  7. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeh, thought much the same. I'll try and remember to have a look next time i get a call.
    #7
  8. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Another minor niggle I have - the MMI doesn't play MP3s 'gapless' - there is a pause between tracks, which is quite annoying. You would have thought that a modern system would be able to play media without gaps.
    #8
  9. RossR
    Offline

    RossR Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    1
    Don't know if you are aware of this so apologies if I'm teaching you to suck eggs.

    MP3 wasn't designed for gapless playback. The length of an MP3 is always rounded up to a whole number of "frames". There is an extension to the format that works round this, but you need to have your MP3's encoded with some extra information and have support for it in your player. So there is a chance that the MMI supports it and the problem is with the MP3s you're playing, but to be honest I'd be surprised. It's more likely that the MMI doesn't support the extension.
    #9
  10. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nope, the MP3s are fine when played through other sources so pretty sure there isn't a problem with them.
    #10
  11. Buneet
    Offline

    Buneet Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just look at the bottom of the screen in the middle of the car, quote inconvenient but at least it's there.
    Also is it possible to shuffle the songs when using an ipod?
    #11
  12. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think I remember someone else said that was a tech pack only thing.
    #12
  13. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tested this yesterday, it's a load of rubbish as expected
    #13
    Daveotto and Smythy like this.
  14. Fragup
    Offline

    Fragup Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    His phone is probably on vibrate, on a high setting in the armrest up against the side or front of inside of arm rest, the vibration could filter down the centre to the controls ?
    It's not that far to travel as is pretty much next to main dial control 10 - 20 cms ish and is all connected plastic so quite possible,
    but this is a bit obvious so I am sure someone would have checked this before judging ? :think:
    #14
  15. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Not obvious enough for him to have thought that, clearly...
    #15
  16. cemerson
    Online

    cemerson Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Here's something I discovered accidentally yesterday - If you press the big '0.0' button at the bottom of the instrument cluster to show the mileage, it also shows the clock briefly before going back to whatever mode you were on. If you press it twice (or just press it once while the mileage is displayed - ie, as the car is starting) it'll reset your mileage counter though, so watch out for that if you don't intend to :)
    #16

Share This Page