1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What Audi OE radios will fit A3 other than a Concert?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by VAGMAN1, Mar 13, 2006.

  1. VAGMAN1

    VAGMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    the volume control is playing up and doing my head in! I want something of equal standard to a Concert - is it my only choice?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yes pretty much, no other HU's could equal the standard of the Concert (they're all better!)
    And make sure the replacement is from an A3/S3 as the fascia can be slightly different on Concerts from TT's
     
  4. VAGMAN1

    VAGMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    so what other radios do Audi produce that will fit an A3 and do not suffer with the volume knob problems?
     
  5. C_Audiboy

    C_Audiboy Vroom Vroom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    the volume control is playing up and doing my head in! I want something of equal standard to a Concert - is it my only choice?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I take it you are talking about the Concert Mk1 radio cassette???

    Why not replace it with the Concert single DIN CD player - you can pick one up on Ebay for a decent price.......
     
  6. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [ QUOTE ]
    so what other radios do Audi produce that will fit an A3 and do not suffer with the volume knob problems?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    in the post with the full explanation of the problem, it seemed to hint that the later model OEM headunits didn't suffer from the volume problem.... can't say for certain though...
     
  7. VAGMAN1

    VAGMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read that it was the Concert 2 which has the volume knob/bad chip sorted, but does this only fit the new A3?
     
  8. yarmon1

    yarmon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    It can be fixed but it is expensive...
     
  9. yarmon1

    yarmon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Concert 2 will fit but need to check sizes the following is some details I have found on ebay.
    Standard Concert with cassete is 220mm x 58 mm
    8e 0035 86 d 8E0035186J 235mm x 65mm silver strip

    8Z 0057 186GX



    8B0 035 186 Q 220mm across the top and 58mm bose system
     
  10. yarmon1

    yarmon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    The following website describes the Concert Volume problem it can be fixed but will cost you £80 from OE Electronics in Swindon.
    http://www.erta.ru/review/chorus-problem_eng.shtml
    Be careful some Concert 2 models have different size front panels.
    The following site is a good source of data.
    http://www.ibiblio.org/tkan/audi/radios/
    I believe the Concert 2 radios have the problem fixed.
    If you buy from ebay check the size and if it is Bose or not.
    Hope this helps

    :blackrs4:
     
  11. paul_brad

    paul_brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought the Concert 2 CD players have different wiring, if they are to fitted into older S3s? I may be wrong of course, but when I was researching this a couple of years ago, I just plumped for a nice Sony CD headunit instead.
     

Share This Page