1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Well.....this was bound to happen eventually

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Squirrelofdoom, Oct 12, 2013.

  1. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 12, 2013]
    IMAG1421.jpg IMAG1423.jpg

    Well, as you see - fuel pump finally went...at least they brought the right tow truck!

    Anyway, so gonna get a new fuel pump. Alright if I get a used one, or should I shell out for new? Also, the part number I see is 8L9919051; but what letter to I want at the end of the number? 8L9919051B? 8L9919051G? does it matter?

    Also, thought I may as well change the fuel filter at the same time. Just wanted to confirm the part number for this too (my car is year 1999/2000 APY 210hp S3): is it one of these? 8E0201511K - 1J0201511A - 8E0201511H? Also, I remember reading someone who changed their filter recently and the fitting on the fuel lines snapped off? Worth me buying some spare fittings too?

    As far as the repair job itself - I'm a little wary on working with fuel items myself, so will probably hand this over to the garage. But if I were to attempt this myself; I should syphon out all the fuel from the system first?

    Cheers guys,
    Aran
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. Gops
    Offline

    Gops 6th gear @7000rpm

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,644
    Likes Received:
    286
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    #2
  4. phil miller
    Offline

    phil miller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    It was my fuel pipe that broke, hbut that was because the last garage to change it had GLUED it to the filter, the pipe was a non return item, a ****er to change (4wd) but only cost £15 iirc
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,988
    Likes Received:
    1,369
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    Get a new one... second hand ones are a ticking time bomb IMO... they are just as worn out as yours...

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  6. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    351
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    You can get them cheaper without the level sensor. A bit of hassle with the lines but worth the saving. I've got a VDO/Siemens one to fit when I can be arsed.
    #5
  7. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 13, 2013]
    thanks guys...I'll have a look around for a new one!
    #6
  8. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 14, 2013]
    Hi guys,

    Just a quick question on this. I've been researching the pumps - VDO is the original manufacturer yes?

    As such, can I buy this one? AUDI A3 (8L1) Fuel Pump - VDO 993-745-117Z | eBay. The VDO part number seems to match the ones used for mk1 TT's so figured it's the same as my car (Siemens VDO Electric Fuel Pump Audi TT Quattro 1999 TO 2002 | eBay)


    Or do I need the one with the sender / level attached and all that gubbins like this? AUDI A3 (8L1) Fuel Pump - PIERBURG 7.02550.25.0 | eBay

    Thanks guys!!
    #7
  9. sean_s3
    Offline

    sean_s3 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 14, 2013]
    Depends how involved you want the job to be as your old sender can be swapped over to the new pump which will work out cheaper.

    I paid £180 for a new S3 pump from EPC without the sender so the one for £110 looks too good a price to be right , although it does say 4 bar so who knows. I'll check the box mine came in and get the part number for you.
    #8
  10. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 14, 2013]
    Hi Sean, thanks for the help! Appreciate you getting the part number for me mate, legend :)
    #9
  11. kwistof
    Offline

    kwistof South East Events Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    471
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    Yes VDO is the original manufacturer fella....that was the make of the fuel pump I got when I purchased the full unit from TPS last month.

    Here's the full details...part number and price inc the VAT from TPS I paid last month and Gops is indeed correct...it's 'G' for gangsta :)

    Attached Files:

    #10
  12. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    #11
  13. kwistof
    Offline

    kwistof South East Events Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,313
    Likes Received:
    471
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    Sorry mate, just checked a picture of the box I took and it doesn't have the sepecific VDO part number on there....must be on the pump or maybe something on the bag it came in that got thrown away as everything got covered in V power when it was being changed! lol

    Very sad times seeing litres of sweet nectar being wasted :(

    Attached Files:

    #12
  14. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    thanks kwistof, no worries - I believe the number is on the part :S

    Sean, any luck on VDO number?
    #13
  15. sean_s3
    Offline

    sean_s3 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    Yes mate the part number on the box is 993-745-117Z , which matches the first eBay item you linked to. At £110 that's a good price.
    #14
  16. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Oct 15, 2013]
    boomtown, sorted. Thanks for all the help guys!!
    #15
  17. russwuss
    Online

    russwuss Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    71
    [Jan 5, 2014]
    Hi Squirrelofdoom (sorry don't know your actual name.. )

    Did the pump from eBay fit OK? The £110 one? I'm in the same boat as you was... if you could confirm it fits and works well I'm happy :)

    Thanks!
    #16
  18. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    Hi mate,

    Yeah, it worked and fitted no problem. I must admit that since fitting, I have had a problem where the car can refuse to start on the first try...but it ALWAYS fires on the second try. This could be a myriad of other things though, so I think the pump is A OK!
    #17
    russwuss likes this.
  19. Lavis89
    Offline

    Lavis89 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    I have the same problem with the not starting on the first try. I solved this by not being so quick with the key, turn the ignition on, wait a few seconds then fire her up, gives pumps a few seconds to prime and let's the immobiliser be disabled (I think the immobiliser was catching when I was trying to start the car and stop it from firing first time)
    #18
  20. sean_s3
    Offline

    sean_s3 Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    Had this myself recently with the cold weather , changed the coolant temp sensor and it's been ok since.
    #19
  21. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    hmm, how odd. I have changed the CTS recently, and even if I put the key on first position for a while it can refuse to start still or struggle to start - but it ALWAYS starts second time...bit random really, no fault codes...maybe a vacuum leak somewhere
    #20
  22. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    If you continued to turn it over on the 1st turn does it not start? but does on the 2nd regardless of time ? If so might be a dodgy cam and crank sensor
    #21
  23. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    Hi Dan,

    Yeah, continuing to crank on first turn "can" sometimes not fire the engine. But 2nd is always, regardless of time. I thought it could be dodgy cam / crank sensor too, but no fault codes came up when I scanned...
    #22
  24. russwuss
    Online

    russwuss Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    71
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    Thank you for confirming :) hope you get the issue with your car sorted, ordered my new pump today! Thanks again!
    #23
  25. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,646
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    [Jan 6, 2014]
    I've always had to pause for no more than a second with mine, kind of annoying at first but its just while the pump primes for a split second.
    always thought it was a trait of these cars/engines.
    #24
  26. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 7, 2014]
    not sure really now for mine....no fault codes or anything. I did replace the fuel filter recently too, but no idea how that could affect anything
    #25
  27. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,833
    Likes Received:
    351
    [Jan 7, 2014]
    Yeah same. It's like an old skool diesel.
    #26

Share This Page