1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

well, I got another audi...

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by evilscotsman, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    a tdi 1.9 red i, lovin it as i been driving a jap bomber for weeks and you know your back in an audi when you close that door! Subaru doors are tinfoil. Love the B5s again. Gonna pull what bits I can use off the B6 as its officially dead, and then break the rest of the B6 on fleabay or here etc........

    anyway, the tdi, although it drives mint, its got codes..... 00527 intake manifold temp sensor G72, 00553 maf G70, 01265 egr N18, 01262 solenoid boost pressure valve N75, 01269 commencement of injection valve N168. Sheesh!

    Tried clearing with the VAG405 but they come straight back a few seconds later, all sporadic it says, huh! No boost whatsoever, its like the wastegate is open all the time, gets going but no whistle no boost, feels like an na diesel.

    Im thinking its a wiring fault rather than several dud sensors, but anyone know of a common link for these? Or have wiring diagrams I can get in pdf or pics etc?

    Also meant to say, the dieselling sound is very harsh and sharp if you know what i mean, especially in low rev, low gear maneuvering....clatters sharply like a bitch. Cant check the fuel pressure yet but I think its in limp mode anyway so need to sort that out first im sure, any help is much appreciated :thumbs:

    cheers :)
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
    #1
  2. jonnyf
    Offline

    jonnyf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    erm i got that solenoid boost fault and i found it to be a dodgy connection on the cable going to the turbo? one of the legs had come out, once i fixed this the boost was back and the car felt like it was alive again! hope this helps
    #2
  3. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    Cheers mate, I think the power fuse is blown that is common to these items but can only find the drivers dash end fusebox, where are the others? cant see any in the engine bay, took the ecu out to check it, the vac connection was full of oil. Think i've cleaned it out by sucking thru a straw and blowing the pipe out, may run it for a minute with the hose off the ecu to pull any **** out of it.

    I think fuse 3 is connected to the sensors mentioned above (from a post elsewhere) but cannot find any other fuse box....grrrrr.
    #3
  4. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Theres only one fusebox on a B5.

    One of the 1.8T guys had a similar fault with a whole pile of sensors having dropped out, and it was a wire having chafed thru and shorted out the feed to them.
    #4
  5. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    mmmm sounds likely, think they did it when they put a replacement engine in, will have to have a good look around the engine bay, may try patching a feed into the maf wiring and see if they return, dont suppose you would know where it likely rubs or is that a stupid question lol?
    #5
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    never worked on a tdi, so i dont really know wheres most likely, just need to follow all the loom and look for damage.
    #6
  7. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    had a test round after work, none of the mentioned sensors have any supply voltage at all, well maybe 0.09v and resistance to earth starts at 120R then rises as the meter scale is increased, which points to an internal fault in the ecu, I think thats where the power comes from.

    Gonna patch a 12v feed into the wire via a 21w bulb, so if its shorting inside the current will be limited by the lamp, if nothing bad happens, may leave a feed onto it to get it to work right until I get to the bottom of it, the bloody engine sounds like a transit Di, sharp and clattery lol its doin me head in, guessing pre-injection is normally used and isnt working now....start of injection valve 108? same circuit I reckon...

    doh!
    #7
  8. jonnyf
    Offline

    jonnyf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you not put a inline fuel filter along the vac pipe? that should stop the backflow, if im not mistaken theres a couple of big fuses inside the ECU box...i think..
    #8
  9. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    I may be interested in a couple of bits from the b6. Im in perth too so could collect.
    #9
  10. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    hey Ian, no problem. Have to tow it back from the garage and im gonna use anything that will fit the b5 but what ya after?


    jonnyf, dunno mate about fuel filter, not bad idea might stop oil going into the map right enough but I reckon this ones had it. your right there are 2 big ass 40A fuses in there but this cant be a high current job, the wires to the sensors are too small.
    #10
  11. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    SOLVED!

    was a small 15A fuse down in the bowels of the ecu compartment, engine control supply S102, nearest you on the rhs when you lift the ecu out. Never saw it before cos I slid the ecu out the end, didnt remove the lid completely as the rear bolt is a pig but decided to get at it properly today to have a good butcher's.

    This fuse caused no boost and 6 sensor fails, cant wait to drive it with BOOOOOOOST!!!

    running sweet as a nut, only one real code, IAT sensor (sporadic), but thats for another day :)

    Yee Haaaaaaa!
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
    #11
  12. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    glad you got it sorted got any pics on the B5?
    #12
  13. jonnyf
    Offline

    jonnyf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah i seem to remember there being a few small current ones in there aswell! glad you fixed it! yeah nightmare to get that last bolt out innit, i actually lost one and never found it to this day....haha
    #13
  14. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    Here is the only one I have just yet, will get it washed and put better ones up. First thing on it will be the 17's off the B6 Sport I have, and the steering wheel lol....jonnyf was the first one to suggest the ecu box, but like me only noticed the big fuses, little ones are hidden unless you take the top right off and the ecu out.

    Wonder if the B6 suspension would fit on the B5? Probly not, anyone know what will fit between them?


    [​IMG]

    Also have this mad-arsed maniac - 301bhp, 2.0 16v Quad-Cam Twin Turbo (ballbearing IHI VF's) - getting MOT'd at the mo..too dear to run to work every day but jeesus H christ it is crazy quick. 3" stainless Hayward & Scott exhaust from the turbos back, 2nd turbo is decatted. Running 1.2 bar of boost at present. (standard boost)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This is my B6, I'm breaking it now (engine fooked - sludge) - 1.8T Sport 163.

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
    #14
  15. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    the b6 looks nice i remember this while back, IIRC the b6 has bigger discs
    what year is the b5? hope you got a good deal
    #15
  16. jonnyf
    Offline

    jonnyf Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    those ones on the b6 are the ones that are on mine! one of the best ones imo!
    #16
  17. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    like your sig jonny
    #17
  18. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    yep, i still like the sport wheels best myself, ta jonny :)

    Ras, yeah the Sport has even bigger discs than the standard B6 ones, but I would like to find out what exactly does fit a B5, off the B6 cos I will use whatever I can and sell the rest on here or fleabay. Body, interior and gearbox are mint on the silver one, same with tinted glass, electric heated mirrors (silver lol) and all lights and ancillaries. It also has the lower stiffer red suspension. If it was easier, I would transplant the engine and box into the B6 but not a straightforward job and the tractor is my daily now.

    The Legacy GT is enough fun for anyone, the look on the wee chavs faces when they roar up to your bumper at 70, revving the nuts of the corsa/106/sao/etc...you sink the pedal in 5th, both turbos hit full boost, the boxer emits a demonic growl, in 3 seconds you will touching 120, and 3 seconds later hitting 160....the chavs are no longer visible, you're too far away. It clears 100 in 3rd at 5k, redline is 7k. :lol:

    The bass from the 3" stainless H&S exhaust & WRX decat pipe vibrates windows in our street and sets other car's alarms off.. :rock:

    Here is a sound clip of an identical one on another scooby forum members car: (I havent got round to vidding my bigzorst noise :eyebrows: but mines exactly the same) - Turn The Bass Up!!!!! You can hear the turbos spinning down....mmmm

    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
    #18
  19. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    The B5 is a 1995, cost me sweetie money, honestly. Cos of the faults and the CEL, no boost etc, the guy sold it just above scrap price so I did rather well, but then im not afraid of an electrical fault as its what I do for a living, others werent keen on buying it because of the obvious I suspect. Its still got 6 months tax and the lad was very honest about the car, a thoroughly nice bloke. (cheers Mike :thumbsup: )
    #19
  20. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    how does it compare to the b6 i would have thought the b6 would be a lot newer and tighter feel?
    dont think the b6 steering wheel will fit your b5
    #20
  21. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    B6....The Sport suspension is too hard, the steering vague and the brakes wooden, its a barge lol. Kinda fast, but over-stressed wi the 1.8T motor I think. Needs 200 bhp plus to be really sparkling, with 163 bhp and being such a lard-arse its not that great really. Looks nice, interior very very good but then so is the B5's interior. I think the B5 drives better honestly, I've had 2 and both were the same. The B6 is too heavy to be fun but nice to look at on the driveway. Still has crappy rubber coating on all the buttons that still peels off.....they need to shoot the twat that came up with that idea lol.
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2010
    #21
  22. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Quite a lot of the front end of the b6 will fit teh B5. The alloy uprights, and all the arms etc will fit, as will the suspension itself, although the spring rates might be funny.

    Rear end is totally different though.
    #22
  23. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    bugger! ah well, guess i will have to sell the Sport suspension then lol

    Anyone for bits? 52 plate B6 Sport, Silver, charcoal nappa interior (50k car, like new no wear!) everything there except the top end of the engine or the turbo....

    The tractor needs slammed, its like a 4x4 jeep :unsure:
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2010
    #23
  24. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    pics of the interior and dibs if it is nice!!
    #24
  25. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    will do mate, its lying at a garage just now but got to get it brought home for stripping down soon.

    Its a dark charcoal silky nappa that looks like leather kinda from outside, till you feel it and realise its cloth, but it is like new, my kids are adults and the car only did 50k before the engine went from sludge. sickner but what can you do, they want both kidneys for the right code replacement engine so feck it lol. Its sat for a year so the interior will need valeted no doubt, I'll see what I can do.

    It is the standard Sport interior so if you like it, thats no prob, its yours provis etc etc. Just chuck me a pm to remind me you said first lol.

    The trims are polished charcoal, as it was fishscale aluminium but I swapped with a lad on here for the charcoal when the car died. Its nice tho, looks better I think.
    #25
  26. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    Why bother trying to find the right engine? Just get any 1.8T and nail it in?
    #26
  27. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    ^^ thats what i would do,lol

    Use the sensors/IM / ex mani and sump pan from the 163 and put an AEB or similar in it. The turbo is the same.

    What engine code was it? I wonder if its 06a or 058 style engine...

    Oh and if you do break her, let me know how much you want for the wiper linkage, siezed or not
    #27
  28. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wher in fife are you?
    #28
  29. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    it'll be an 06a, but that shouldnt really matter i dont think? Unless the mounts are different?

    If it does, just make sure the replacement is an 06a block
    #29
  30. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    yeah i think the mounts are different
    #30
  31. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    d;oh

    Wonder if the 06x block from the A3/Golf will fit?
    #31
  32. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    just pull the mounts of your existing 06a and bang em on the 058 block you replace it with.
    there is no difference externally to the mounting holes AFAIK
    #32
  33. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    I am near Cupar in Fife.

    The engine centre told me and the garage that the gearbox in mine was only used 01< so only 2 engine codes will fit, (BFB & AJL) - mines a BFB if I remember right, been a year and a half since it broke. Its also one of only 2 longitudinal engines which means a lot of things are different from the transverse units and they are not easily interchangeable im told. (quantum performance engineering)
    #33
  34. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    The gearboxes are all the same afaik. Yes the particular code might only be used on early cars, but they didnt change the bellhousing or anything. Any 1.8T (and infact any V6/V8 too) will bolt up to your gearbox.

    AJL is a pre-B6 engine, fitted to 180hp B5 TQS's

    ALL B5/B6/B7's are longitudinal, so basically the garage are talking *****. Sounds to me like they're not actually mechanics, more like one of the many modern part fitters that seem to call themselves mechanics. If the part numbers dont match up then they have a brain fart and run away crying for mum.

    The main differences with the transverse engines are the manifolds, and the flywheel, both of which are easily transferred from your current engine, but given there are millions of longitudinal engines out there anyway it should be hard to find one that will slot streight in.
    #34
  35. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    10
    ah ok cheers mate, being a sparky myself I sometimes take it as read when a mechanic says stuff, will have to stop that lol cos I know what you mean, theres a difference between an automotive engineer and a fitter (no disrespect to fitters) :)

    Most local garages I took it to when it broke were afraid to even take it on at the time, thats why I gave up, wasnt going to get humped by an audi dealer but it was looking likely.
    #35

Share This Page