1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Website Icon

Discussion in 'Site Support & Announcements' started by iyrix, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. iyrix
    Offline

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 20, 2010]
    Hey guys,

    You have done a great job on the site. Would it be possible to add a site icon? just a final touch to the site.

    Just an idea.

    Cheers
    G.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,356
    Likes Received:
    1,319
    [Aug 21, 2010]
    I already have one in my address bar.
    #2
  4. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    107
    [Aug 21, 2010]
    I have one too,
    #3
  5. Administrators
    Offline

    Administrators Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,731
    Likes Received:
    340
    [Aug 21, 2010]
    Hi I have fixed it I hope the Favicon link had been removed by the new skin. You should start seeing it in the address bar.

    Some people may have it due to it being stored on thier machines

    Many thanks

    A
    #4
  6. iyrix
    Offline

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    strange, after reseting browser etc i still get the standard IE icon.

    Have you guys manually created one?
    #5
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,619
    Likes Received:
    107
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    I've found the solution. The source code shows:

    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/js/splashpage.js">
    <link href="http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/favicon.ico" rel="shortcut icon" type="image/x-icon" />

    Favicon Link is fine, but the previous script wasn't closed, which is why its not working. I'll PM the admin.
    #6
  8. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    That'll be a fine example of our highly expensive code validation system "BeReet 2.0" in full effect ;)

    I'll get my hammer...

    Rob.
    #7
  9. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Right, it should be OK now.

    If it doesn't show, or you get a "V" logo; you'll need to either...

    a) Ctrl+F5 to force a full refresh of the page.
    2) Close and re-start your browser.
    iii) Both of the above (according to browser).

    Cheese,

    Rob.
    #8
  10. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    581
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    I had the icon yesterday, but since the fix.... I don't.
    #9
  11. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Well you're just bloody awkward.

    Seriously though... Which browser are you using fella? It seems I'm going to have to add a few more lines of code which essentially do exactly the same thing, just so all the browsers like it. I wonder how much bandwidth would be saved globally if people kept to standards.

    Will let you know when I've added a bit of bloat, and I'd be grateful if you could let me know if it solves the issue for ya...

    Cheers,

    Rob.
    #10
  12. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    OK... Any better now?

    //R
    #11
  13. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    i just Ctrl F5 d and it still works for me
    #12
  14. iyrix
    Offline

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Works for me now! :D
    #13
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,515
    Likes Received:
    1,276
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Rob, get your temperature checked mate :p

    & yes just noticed it, so works for me too.
    #14
  16. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Cheers for feedback folks :beerchug:

    Probably a good idea. It never ends well when I start treating the infernal machines as organic intelligence (or lack thereof) -and this wouldn't be the first time it's happened

    Thanks again folks...

    //R
    #15
  17. a3_dan
    Offline

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 24, 2010]
    Didn't work yesterday, but all good now, I use Safari by the way.

    Thanks!!
    Dan
    #16
  18. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    581

Share This Page