1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Website Icon

Discussion in 'Site Support & Announcements' started by iyrix, Aug 20, 2010.

  1. iyrix

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    You have done a great job on the site. Would it be possible to add a site icon? just a final touch to the site.

    Just an idea.

    Cheers
    G.
     
  2. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,604
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    I already have one in my address bar.
     
  3. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    I have one too,
     
  4. Administrators

    Administrators Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator Audi A2

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,816
    Likes Received:
    410
    Hi I have fixed it I hope the Favicon link had been removed by the new skin. You should start seeing it in the address bar.

    Some people may have it due to it being stored on thier machines

    Many thanks

    A
     
  5. iyrix

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    strange, after reseting browser etc i still get the standard IE icon.

    Have you guys manually created one?
     
  6. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    I've found the solution. The source code shows:

    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/js/splashpage.js">
    <link href="http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/favicon.ico" rel="shortcut icon" type="image/x-icon" />

    Favicon Link is fine, but the previous script wasn't closed, which is why its not working. I'll PM the admin.
     
  7. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    154
    That'll be a fine example of our highly expensive code validation system "BeReet 2.0" in full effect ;)

    I'll get my hammer...

    Rob.
     
  8. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    154
    Right, it should be OK now.

    If it doesn't show, or you get a "V" logo; you'll need to either...

    a) Ctrl+F5 to force a full refresh of the page.
    2) Close and re-start your browser.
    iii) Both of the above (according to browser).

    Cheese,

    Rob.
     
  9. Ads

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    581
    I had the icon yesterday, but since the fix.... I don't.
     
  10. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    154
    Well you're just bloody awkward.

    Seriously though... Which browser are you using fella? It seems I'm going to have to add a few more lines of code which essentially do exactly the same thing, just so all the browsers like it. I wonder how much bandwidth would be saved globally if people kept to standards.

    Will let you know when I've added a bit of bloat, and I'd be grateful if you could let me know if it solves the issue for ya...

    Cheers,

    Rob.
     
  11. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    154
    OK... Any better now?

    //R
     
  12. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    i just Ctrl F5 d and it still works for me
     
  13. iyrix

    iyrix Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works for me now! :D
     
  14. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,991
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Rob, get your temperature checked mate :p

    & yes just noticed it, so works for me too.
     
  15. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    154
    Cheers for feedback folks :beerchug:

    Probably a good idea. It never ends well when I start treating the infernal machines as organic intelligence (or lack thereof) -and this wouldn't be the first time it's happened

    Thanks again folks...

    //R
     
  16. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    Didn't work yesterday, but all good now, I use Safari by the way.

    Thanks!!
    Dan
     
  17. Ads

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    581

Share This Page