1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Warning Lights on Dash

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by GarryX, Dec 21, 2005.

  1. GarryX
    Offline

    GarryX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 21, 2005]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2005]
    does it not say in your manual??? or ring the dealers
    #2
  4. GarryX
    Offline

    GarryX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2005]
    Yeah,checked the manual and the coil symbol is for Glow Plugs.According to the manual these have something to do with the engine temperature.I was quite worried when i read this because at the end it says to take the car to a dealership asap.
    I dont deal with dealerships now so i took it to my local friendly audi expert.He has told me that the problem is due to a sensor/switch for the brakes.At the moment i have no brake lights but he said that this is causing the 2 warning lights to come on.Thought this was strange but im getting it done tomorrow so ill soon find out if it works.
    #3
  5. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,709
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    [Dec 22, 2005]
    The coil symbol is for the glowplugs during start up, if it stays on after the engine has started, then it's an ECU problem.
    #4
  6. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2005]
    if the lights are not working do you not get a bulb symbol like you do on the newer A3 ???
    #5
  7. GarryX
    Offline

    GarryX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2005]
    Its not the bulbs that are away on it though mate.Its the sensor for when i press the brakes the lights should come on.This is causing the traction control light to come on due to it being linking to the ABS.Now this is what i was told today so thats why i said i thought it sounded weird.
    If i get the sensor fixed and it sorts the problem then great,if not then i can see it costing mucho ££££££.
    It was checked on VAGCOM and that was the only fault that came up which is why the guy thinks both lights coming on are linked to each other.
    #6
  8. chrisb
    Offline

    chrisb Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]

    I dont deal with dealerships now so i took it to my local friendly audi expert.He has told me that the problem is due to a sensor/switch for the brakes.At the moment i have no brake lights but he said that this is causing the 2 warning lights to come on.Thought this was strange but im getting it done tomorrow so ill soon find out if it works.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    He's right. A fault with the brake light circuit can trigger the glowplug light- the ECU uses it as a fault light on a TDi.

    There are 2 brake pedal switches- one triggers the ECU so that you can't rev the engine above 1200 with the brakes on (try it sometime while stationary- left-foot brake and push the throttle pedal down), the other works the lights. I thing the ECU monitors both. If it sees one work, and not the other, you get an error.
    #7
  9. GarryX
    Offline

    GarryX Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2005]
    Nice one mate.Feel a bit more satisfied about what the guy said now.
    He has said it will be about £50 for the sensor (fitted).That sound about right?
    #8
  10. peteA3tdi
    Offline

    peteA3tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 23, 2005]
    if its the same switch as the golfs they cost around £15/20 and take around 10/15min to fit and with a code rear and clear £50 is about right
    #9
  11. chrisb
    Offline

    chrisb Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 25, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    if its the same switch as the golfs

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I'll bet that it is, and yes £50 fitted sounds good. They need a bit of setting up IIRC.
    #10

Share This Page