1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Want to get VAG-com, what do i need?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by tom792, Aug 23, 2011.

  1. tom792
    Offline

    tom792 Boost Addict :)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wanna get vag-com for my laptop, just handy to check fault codes, reset keys ect

    Just a few questions,

    Where can i get it from, and how much?

    Is it easy to use?

    Obviously you need a cable to connect to the car, where can i get this from?

    Thanks for any help :)
    #1
  2. danger S3
    Offline

    danger S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    12
  3. tom792
    Offline

    tom792 Boost Addict :)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    just downloaded it, even better it's free!
    #3
  4. danger S3
    Offline

    danger S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    12
    yeah cable isnt exactly free though hehe, well worth it though
    #4
  5. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    Nige (NHN)

    With a practice and careful trial and error any idiot can use it (he says looking at his own reflection!). Rule of thumb is make a note of any long coding changes before you make them so you can revert back. Doing logs of runs is harder than I thought, but I'm sure Nige can explain.
    #5
  6. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,217
    Likes Received:
    389
    Send NHN a message on here, he is a supplier of the genuine software and cable.

    He can discuss prices etc with you directly.

    You can download the software its free anyway, however, you will need a cable, even if you get a cheapo one of the net, you can use them, but they are limited in use and can also be very intermittent.
    #6
  7. Pearcyy
    Offline

    Pearcyy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    How good are the cheapo ones? Where can you buy them from?
    #7
  8. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    cheap far eastern rubbish from the bay. I've read of so many problems with them failing / intermittent / not working. VCDS cables are expensive as so much effort goes into supporting product / updates etc. its not all about the cable itself.
    #8

Share This Page