1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Want to fit and aftermarket headunit but keep amplified speakers.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by pandoo1, Dec 6, 2011.

  1. pandoo1
    Offline

    pandoo1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    As above guys, what iso lead will I need to get? and I will also be fitting a sub and amp.
    Its for an 2004 8p1.

    Cheers
    #1
  2. pandoo1
    Offline

    pandoo1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone got a clue?
    #2
  3. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    do you have bose?
    #3
  4. pandoo1
    Offline

    pandoo1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not sure tbh, ive just got a concert single din headunit.
    #4
  5. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    when you switch on the car does it say BOSE on the radio display? do you have BOSE on the front speaker grills?
    #5
  6. pandoo1
    Offline

    pandoo1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    No no, none of that. But I have got a standard sub, well it sounds like one in my boot!?
    #6
  7. Digzz
    Offline

    Digzz "Started From The Bottom"

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    66
  8. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    #8
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    All single DIN HU's are ISO (not quadlock), so you'll need the ISO kit:
    Autoleads PC9-404 Audi Harness Adaptor (RCA, non-BOSE) £7.99 including VAT. PC9404. Buy discounted car audio online at In-Car Express

    But as you're fitting a proper sub you'll need to run an RCA & power cable so you'd be far better off rewiring the rear speakers to the HU and bypassing the Audi wiring altogether. Otherwise you'll have 2 x 50w+ going to the fronts and still have the feeble 2 x 20w going to the rears from the Audi rear amp. You can pick up the feeds for the rears from the connector on the Audi sub, so no need to dismantle half the car.
    #9
  10. pandoo1
    Offline

    pandoo1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh thanks guys, do I definitely need to get that iso lead Andy mentioned?
    #10
  11. Naj
    Offline

    Naj Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    Im a novice with ICE. I recently changed over my HU and only get sound to the front speakers. Can you elaborate on this abit more. Non-Bose also.
    #11
  12. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    Bose systems are all amplified off of one Bose amp.
    non Bose units have the fronts amplified from the HU and the rears off a small crappy amp like thing with the crappy plastic sub.
    if you change over the HU you would need to make sure you have the correct wiring adapters to be able to listen to the sounds properly from all speakers.

    Andy was saying as the OP is going to put in a proper sub and do away with the crappy plastic thing he may as well wire in the rear speakers to the HU directly and then run the new Sub via RCAs to the HU as per normal
    #12
  13. Naj
    Offline

    Naj Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    Can I not just pick the rear speaker feeds from the Audi adapters behind the HU? Just don't wanna be pulling out interior panels to run new wiring from rear speakers to HU.
    #13
  14. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    in your case as you are just using a new HU and not playing with anything else i would guess that you are using the wrong harness adapter as it should have just worked. have a browse through the ICE section of the forum for similar issues as i vaguely remember seeing an issue like yours a while back.
    #14
  15. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    There are no rear speaker feeds at the HU, that's the problem. You either buy an adapter that feeds the rear pre-outs (RCA's) into the Auid rear/sub amp loom or rewire the rears directly to the new HU. As already said you don't have to pull all the panels off as you can pick up the feeds to the speakers from the connector going to the sub
    #15
  16. moag
    Offline

    moag she's no d-turbo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Andy do you have a link for an amplifier adaptor that could be used with quad lock (07)? Is it possible to get one which incorporates steering wheel controls? I've had a look at auto leads and connect 2 but not sure which one i need.

    Planning on changing my rns for an alpine one unit in the next week or so

    Cheers

    non-bose btw :music:
    #16
  17. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    i think this is what you need

    CTSAD002 CAN-Bus steering control adaptor


    with the alpine bit

    Connects2 Alpine Stalk Adaptor
    #17
  18. Naj
    Offline

    Naj Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you know of the correct harness adapter to use for a 2004 non-Bose single din HU?
    #18
  19. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes the one I posted above PC9-404
    #19
  20. pandoo1
    Offline

    pandoo1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Theres one thing I dont get, why is there RCA's on it? I will be fitting an Alpine headunit.
    #20
  21. Naj
    Offline

    Naj Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks, for £8 no harm in trying it.
    #21

Share This Page