1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

W3STY's Progress Thread

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Westy, May 9, 2011.

?

What colour S3 Avus for the Track?

  1. Porsche Guards Red

    40 vote(s)
    58.0%
  2. Kawasaki Green

    29 vote(s)
    42.0%
  1. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    90 degrees c for 1 hour.

    It doesn't need much more, just a few little touches to clean up the bay. Could do with giving the charge pipe a little touch of paint when I get time.
     
    jitvv likes this.
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Jay A3

    Jay A3 Too slow round corners...
    Team Daytona Audi A3

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    346
    Looks awesome! Freddo the frog strikes again! Good work fella
     
  4. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Nice contrast..., get the yellow moving Jay..!
     
  5. Dan-Jnr

    Dan-Jnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    349
    Nice colour update. Will look smart with the other green touches.
     
  6. Jason.s

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Just need a Green cotton filter instead of a Jetex now lol
     
  7. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    Can I have that in gas mark too please?

    ...and do I have to leave mine in longer as its large port?

    ;P

    <tuffty/>
     
  8. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    To change the subject slightly, I have ordered some Bosch 550cc injectors.

    I have been told by 2 sources that I should be ok to fit these and run them with my current map (temporarily till I get a custom map) as my wideband car should be able to dial out the extra fuel. I thought that this would be a safer option to go back to the 3 bar FPR, 550cc injectors, and have more fuel then to be running my standard injectors to the limit on a 4 bar FPR.

    Any thoughts?
     
  9. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    124
    As said, the ECU should cope up to 25% adaptation. That is the limit of the ECU adaptation. After that it's EML time. 550 @ 3 BAR is still quite a lot of fuel!!

    That said, what you are also doing is future proofing the engine. If you buy them now and have them set up with a custom map at A N Other time, then there is always room for more should it be needed.

    Also, 3 BAR is a better option for fuel pump longevity.

    All points win.
     
  10. Reesy

    Reesy Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,641
    Likes Received:
    147
    I would say it's a good idea mate. As it's wideband it'll adjust, and it's better to be understressing some large injectors then it is to overload the stock ones. I'm sure you'll do some logging anway.
     
  11. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    I need to do some sums to work out if my fuelling with fall into the 25% bracket or not.

    Yeah you know me, I'm a logging mad man.
     
  12. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Ok, a few sums.

    The standard injectors are 380cc @ 3 bar pressure. I am currently running them @ 4 bar of pressure (apparently adding 15%) making them 437cc.

    Now, I assume that the ECU will throw up an EML if the fuel adaption is more then 25% on 380cc injectors @ 3 bar??? I'm not sure if I can work this out by the injector capacity or not but 25% of 380 is 95 and the 550cc injectors are 170cc bigger then standard so I'm guessing that I'm going to trigger a light?

    25% of 550 = 137.5
    550 - 137.5 = 412.5cc which would be less then the current 437cc I'm running

    I'm not sure any of this is even making sense lol.
     
    #2691 Westy, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012
  13. Reesy

    Reesy Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,641
    Likes Received:
    147
    I thought it was 25% either way? Meaning the 550's will scale low enough to make them a great success, and mean you can stop driving like old lady.
     
  14. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    I think the times in my sig prove otherwise ;)
     
  15. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    124
    Here is the Welly solution to this problem.

    Fit them, drive it, log for long term adjustment fuel trims.

    See what happens.

    :thumbsup:
     
  16. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Is it "Lambda Control Bank 1" Block 001?

    If it is, my current percentage is around -20% with the 4 bar FPR.
     
  17. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    124
    Block 32, right hand of the 2 percentages is the long term fuel trim.

    If you're hitting - 20% IIRC thats removing 20% of the fuel you have already with the 4 BAR, which sounds about right. The injectors are flowing more for the same pulse duration than the ECU expects -hence the adaptation.

    However if it's already at -20% then it can't have been that far off on stock injectors.
     
  18. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    I've got a lot of block 001 and 031 but no 032 :think: maybe the fuel adaptation figure isn't as bad as I think it is. Anyway, we shall see once the injectors arrive.
     
  19. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    You using the lite version or full version?

    <tuffty/>
     
  20. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Full bad boy ;)
     
  21. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
  24. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    001 will give live lambda adjustment... block 032 will show long term and short term trims...

    <tuffty/>
     
  25. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Ah yes, that's the figure that resets to 0 every time you clear the engine codes! I am constantly clearing an EML for my removed EVAP can so I will need to run the car a bit before taking that reading.
     
  26. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    It will do that... resetting fault codes resets adaptions to 0...

    Custom map beckons :)

    <tuffty/>
     
  27. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Oh no doubt I'll be getting a custom map in the next 3-4 months but I was just looking at the possibility of running the 550s till that day as a temporary measure to ensure safer fuelling.

    I've already had one bad fuelling experience and I dont want another ;)
     
  28. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    640
    I suspect 550's on a 380cc map is probably going to end up outside the adaption limits.

    Too much fuel can be just as bad as not enough.

    That said, it shouldnt take much at all to adjust your existing map to accommodate the larger injectors, one value in a single table would sort it as a quick fix that'd take about 5 minutes to do.
     
  29. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    If its something that can be done via unisettings just for a month or two then that would be great.
     
  30. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    640
    Not sure about unisettings, i was referring to modifying the actual map.
     
  31. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    124
    Changes made in unisettings will work for this, but you do need to be careful.

    Dropping some fuel out in unisettings should drop injector pulse down, and then adaptation should clear it up from there.
     
    #2709 Welly, Jul 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2012
  32. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    640
    Spot on then, do that!
     
  33. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    I think I'll just log them when I get them and see what's happening. If an EML is coming on then I'll just remove them and get mapped ASAP.

    I get scared messing about with fuelling :sadlike:
     
  34. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    Dialling in KRKTE isn't always as easy as it suggests... there is also TVUB to do and a few other tables to dial in to get fuelling spot on...

    <tuffty/>
     
  35. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    I think I might try to book in a map to coincide with the delivery of said injectors :thumbsup:
     
  36. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    124
    I'd suggest that's probably the most sensible option.
     
  37. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    640
    Ofcourse, but roughly dialling in KRKTE is going to be better than just shoving them in and having the ECU jammed around against its adaption limits!
     
  38. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    Assuming he is doing the mapping himself... but I don't believe Neil is and as he has a Revo 2 then its not possible anyway... new map required in which case roughly dialling in KRKTE becomes irrelevant..

    <tuffty/>
     
  39. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,437
    Likes Received:
    1,069
    Cheers for the input guys. It's always nice to test these kind of things if possible and get info on it.

    On a different note, I've just received an email from my contact at AEM in the US and he's goin to replace my WMI nozzle again :yahoo:
     
  40. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    640
    Why cant the revo map have its KRKTE adjusted? Have they fcked with the code that much that the tables arent in the same places any more?!
     
  41. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,729
    Likes Received:
    3,146
    Revo can only be successfully flashed using their own tools and checksums... making any adjustments in the code would require a recalc of the checksums... plus its a breach of copyright to mess with Revo code anyway...

    <tuffty/>
     
  42. superkarl

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9,054
    Likes Received:
    2,116
    by my maths, the 550's will only need to be adapted 13.6% to be within that 25% limit of the 380 map.
     

Share This Page