1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

W3STY's Progress Thread

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Westy, May 9, 2011.

?

What colour S3 Avus for the Track?

  1. Porsche Guards Red

    41 vote(s)
    58.6%
  2. Kawasaki Green

    29 vote(s)
    41.4%
  1. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    3,172
    So many jokes, so little time :)

    <tuffty/>
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya Audi S8 saloon TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,265
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    Westy does love a good messy reach around.
     
  4. Jason.s

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Who doesnt to be fair lol
     
  5. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Some pics of the S3 backbox I got last night:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Going to get some 3" pipe and an axle grinder and mock up the "Westek" version 1 ;)
     
  6. superkarl

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9,091
    Likes Received:
    2,143
    Westek VS Karltek


    coming to a show near you soon....
     
  7. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Administrator Moderator TeamMisano TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter quattro Audi S3 s tronic

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23,523
    Likes Received:
    6,610
    Looking good Westy. Looks like you got a good buy.
     
  8. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    I tested my WMI on the way home today. I turned the full pump wheel to max (39psi I think) so it was out of the range of what my car can produce. Half pump was currently set at 10psi so I left it there. It was quite happy on half pump over and over again.

    I pulled over and adjusted full pump into my boost range, about 19psi and set off again. As soon as full pump kicks in the controller errors.

    I have a post up on AEMs site but no response yet.
     
  9. superkarl

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9,091
    Likes Received:
    2,143
    thought we dont talk about wmi anymore??
     
  10. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Seriously though mate I am getting close to listing this kit on eBay :banghead:
     
  11. superkarl

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    9,091
    Likes Received:
    2,143
    dont blame you.
    alot of ball ache for little gain?

    but then wellys, tufftys, danes were trouble free werent they.

    hang in there
     
  12. Prawn

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    11,109
    Likes Received:
    2,732
    Don't think anyone has had a trouble free WMI install yet! Welly had issues with the pumP and its covered in glue, plus he's on his 3rd throttle body now isnt he? Don't think tufty has his working at the moment, and. It sure abouts Dane, perhaps his worked!

    Either way, I'm not bothering with it for now. Seems like just something else to complicate things
     
  13. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    I need to do some logging and see if the WMI on half pump is actually good enough for the power I'm running. It might be fine just to leave it coming in at half at 12 psi? Id like it to run 100% properly but it may be adequate at half.
     
  14. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    8,981
    Likes Received:
    1,666

    I have run wmi for years.. no issues
    snow performance kit on badgerwagen currently which replaced the aquamist on there before

    wmi definately works
    on badgerwagen when first fitted i could add 12 degrees more advance and it remained cold intake after full race durations.


    i have run wmi for yeARS
     
  15. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    I'm sure it works an absolute dream when it's working. I need to go over all my wiring and double check everything.

    Once I've got this thing working it might be the final piece in the puzzle to achieving 300bhp.
     
  16. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Reply from the AEM forum. Quite interesting.

    Check the integrity of your ground and power connections to the pump. Doesn't really make sense that the controller would be detecting a short at higher duty cycles because the current draw actually decreases as duty increases. The current inrush is much higher when you run the pump at "partial throttle".
     
  17. sportstractor

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    34
    Ey? Are they saying that the pump uses more power when pumping at the lower speed/duty. That defys the laws of physics surely?

    I wouldn't ditch the wmi, it's having teething problems but will be great when it's sorted
     
  18. sportstractor

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    34
    Oh I think what they mean is that the surge is greater if on lower speed. Is there just one live going to the pump?
     
  19. Rosso TT

    Rosso TT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Could it be that you need bigger gauge wiring between controller and pump because they're so far apart and the controller senses the resistance in the wire as overload?
     
  20. S3 Paul

    S3 Paul Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,814
    Likes Received:
    95
    What is the massive issue with a 4 Bar reg?
    Ive run one for a long time... injectors dont max out. Its an 11 year old car and is only on its second fuel pump.
    Yes there are more expensive ways around it... There is more than one way to skin a cat in the same way as there is more than one route to the 300 mark
     
  21. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    3,172
    No real issue except there is no real need to use one... everyone seems to think there is but there isn't... its fine if the map has been scaled to take this into account but they do put strain on OEM fuel pumps when there is no need to fit them...

    If you have been running one for a while then fine but its really not necessary to fit one

    <tuffty/>
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    That is one thing I'm thinking. I'm using 15amp wire as I was advised that 15 or 20amp should do the trick. I may get a few metres of 20 and see if that's any better.
     
  24. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Been posting up on the AEM forum and it looks like 15amp wire is fine:

    Does anyone know what the recommended gauge/ampage wire should be used for the pump live feed?

    I'm using 15amp cable as I was advised that 15 or 20 amp should be fine. I might try some 20amp cable instead.

    Reply:

    Not sure what gauge "20 amp" wire would be but 14 awg wire is generally recommended.

    14 gauge pure copper wire. Rated at 15 Amps, 125v, 60hz.

    So wire should be fine but I'm going to go over all my wiring next week and double check my earth and live feeds.
     
  25. StaceyS3

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    410
    You could run a temporary live feed from the battery through passenger window to the pump just to try it out shouldn't take long to knock up that way ;)
     
  26. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Very good idea that mate. If the pump works then I know it's the live feed and I can leave the earth well alone ;)
     
  27. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    You have not pulled a few of the copper strands out of the wire for your stash westy?...:)
     
  28. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    There's definitely money in nicking cable Dave! 10 metres of this stuff was over £20 :faint:
     
  29. StaceyS3

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    410
    Me and a friend tidied up some scrap cable and got just over £300 for 40m ;)
     
  30. StaceyS3

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    410
    If you used some cable of that size definately doubt you'll see any volt drop but might weigh you down a bit ;)
     
  31. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    My old man's a sparky so he's got some heavy duty stuff in the garage but not sure I have any crimps big enough for it.
     
  32. StaceyS3

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,438
    Likes Received:
    410
    Was only joking about that size mate ;)
    The stuff I stripped out and scrapped was about 20mm diameter
     
  33. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Ok I tried this tonight. At first it looked like it worked but after a few more runs and a fanny about with the live under the dash I realised i didn't have the full pump setting low enough that it was in my boost range :(

    I did some logging and saw lows of 9 degrees AITs with ambient being 4 degrees so I can see the effect that just using water is having! I am however noticing a fair bit of water in the boost hoses:

    [​IMG]

    So, the live feed doesn't seem to be the problem unless the wire i'm using isn't up to the job. It's rated at 15amps so I doubt that.

    Next port of call is the earth.
     
  34. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Can anyone think of a way I could get at least 10PSI into the AEM controller boost line without a compressor? I was thinking that using something onto my spare tyre would work but not sure where to get the parts to make one. I also thought about one of those garden sprayers where you can pump it up to the required pressure then fire the air into the boost line.

    Any ideas?
     
  35. Jason.s

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    Could probably do it at work with the little airgun thing they put on the airlines on saturday morning and you could collect the parts and hopefully bring the seat too lol. But depends if you wanted to come into bedford and also wait that long to test it.

    How big is the diameter of the line?
     
  36. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Thanks for the offer mate but ideally I need to be able to do this in my garage with the lower dash removed so I can mess about withthe wiring.
     
  37. Reesy

    Reesy Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,641
    Likes Received:
    147
    Hope you can get this sorted mate, any more news from AEM via the forum?

    Also, ompressor and air line finally needed? :eyebrows:
     
  38. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    AEM's website appears to be useless unless you have a faulty check valve!

    I will invest in a compressor at some point but at the moment I've got bigger fish to fry ;)
     
  39. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,747
    Likes Received:
    3,172
  40. Lewis583

    Lewis583 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    91
    #1758 Lewis583, Jan 24, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2012
  41. Welly

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,696
    Likes Received:
    124
  42. Westy

    Westy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,445
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    I'm going to look at the earthing wiring tonight on my AEM kit. At the moment its attached to the main in car earth under the dash by the steering column. Is there any alternative earthing point I can use for testing?
     

Share This Page