1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VSS wire on 06 A3?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by bluetybo, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. bluetybo
    Offline

    bluetybo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 28, 2006]
    Is there a VSS wire? Im trying to install a pioneer Avic - n1. I've read a couple places that the can bus doesn't use a VSS wire? Please Help. :unsure:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. thonczarenko
    Offline

    thonczarenko New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 15, 2007]
    I have the same question. I have the Pioneer AVIC Z2, and it requires the VSS (Vehical Speed Signal) hookup.

    Thanks!
    #2
  4. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 15, 2007]
    No it's correct, it doesn't have the VSS wire. This is done over canbus.

    You could get a canbus decoder and take the speed pulse off that.

    It may be possible to find the VSS from the cluster, I will see if I can find any references to it.
    #3
  5. thonczarenko
    Offline

    thonczarenko New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 15, 2007]
    Awesome! I will wait to see what you find out, plus I'll google the canbus adapter, and see if that is something I can do. However, it is getting very crowded behind my radio. ;o)

    Also, do you know which wire is for the dimming function, if the Audi harness has that?

    Thanks!!!
    #4
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 15, 2007]
    The cluster does not have VSS so it seems, also the dimmer function is on canbus. So I would get a canbus decoder, not emulator to provide ignition, lights and speed signal.
    #5
  7. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Oct 15, 2007]
    Ok, there is a speed pulse wire on the ABS system.

    A blue/white stripe wire from pin 17 of the ABS control module.

    This wire in in place for vehicles with Navigation System low only, but I guess the signal is on the pin if you don't have the NS low. You woild need to add a pin at position 17 on the connector.

    Craig
    #6
  8. thonczarenko
    Offline

    thonczarenko New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 15, 2007]
    I see that you have a site for retrofitting parts on the Audi. Is there any chance you might be able to sell me or point me in the right direction to get the canbus decoder? And or, it setup as well, if possible?

    Thanks so much for your help!!!
    #7
  9. andyccr
    Offline

    andyccr 2003 1.8T Sport Ebony Black A4 Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 20, 2007]
    Canbus decoders can be found from quite a few dealers on the net. The adaptor wil allow you to decode the can signal and get the following dependant on interface:

    Ignition sense,
    Reverse,
    Dimmer / illumination,
    Speed pulse
    Steering wheel controls

    There are some basic canbus convertors that will just give you speed pulse.

    As far as I am aware, most ABS systems are still analogue, so as Craig says goto the ABS pump or control module.

    You will find the AVIC units will run without the speed pulse wire not connected, the nav is just sometimes a little jerky as its trying to just use GPS and gyro



    Andy
    #8

Share This Page