1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

volume radio probs in A3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by paul_brad, Apr 13, 2004.

  1. paul_brad

    paul_brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,
    I posted here at the weekend about CD changers. Through annoying fluke, my audi concert head unit has started to behave a bit funny... Basically the volume switch when turned can be a bit random: usually trying to turn it down a bit will result in it turning down alot, and vice versa. Sometimes you try and fiddle, and it will launch to really loud. Turning it off then back on again and it will be fine! I've seen something similar in another A3 i looked at before the one i have now, so is it perhaps a common problem? Is the radio actually bust, or is it a case of some dust in there? If so, will a bit of DIY help things out at all? Just when I was looking at getting the boot cd changer too... Is it worth getting a new head unit from audi? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif I could upgrade to a single cd unit then, and I wouldnt need the bootchanger /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    45
    It's a common fault with the rotary controller over time. I don't think there is a DIY fix as it isn't an analogue pot. You can claim it on warranty, alternatively get a decent HU, Alpine CDA-9812rr is only £250, has more power will play mp3 Cd's and, more importantly, is designed properly.
     
  4. paul_brad

    paul_brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see... thanks for the prompt response. Getting a new headunit is obviously the cheapest option, as I can get a Sony/whatever for £150, and that solves the idea of getting a bootchanger. Its just I didnt want to ruin the lines of the dashboard with an ugly shaped flashy headunit. I guess I need to get the right plastic trim to go around it too (only from Audi?)

    Also, my last car got broken in to, as it had a removable faceplate stylee radio (I'd taken off the front too) I was glad of not having to take the thing off all the time!

    How much would a new Audi single CD unit cost, to fit into my W reg A3 (Is it concert2?) Can you get these anywhere other than Audi (guess not!)
     
  5. TimG

    TimG Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    942
    Likes Received:
    45
    You can fix the problem by taking the unit apart, coz it happened to mine. If its the same problem that I had you'll find that the volume knob becomes detached from the inner part of the unit causing random volume increases. It was fairly straight foward to fix, but very fiddley, mine was fine after Id done it. It was ages ago so i cant remember the exact procedure, sorry, you may aswell take it apart anyway youve got nothing to lose.
     
  6. paul_brad

    paul_brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    How easy is it to actually remove the radio? I don't have any keys for it to stick down the sides or anything. Obviously eager not to take bites out of the plastic with a screwdriver!
     
  7. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    45
    you can get the keys from big Halfords stores (£3.99). I wouldn't recommend trying it without them as you can knacker the springs, and then it's really difficult to get the unit out.
     
  8. james_suckling

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul,

    If you do end up getting a new head unit, you can get facia adaptors from Audi. I've just bought a new Kenwood Minidisc and CD changer from Bass Junkies.com for just over £260 all in.

    It really suits the dash of the car as it's black, and the illumination red. If you want me to post a pic, let me know.

    Cheers

     
  9. paul_brad

    paul_brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you could mate! its a bit expensive, I don't actually need minidisc...is there one similar thats just CD? How much was your facia adapter?

    I've wired a radio into a car before using ISO leads. Is there an ISO adapter already on the end of the wires in the A3? So its just plug n play? As there are 4 speakers in the front rather than 2, is there extra bits to plug in?

    Questions questions... I might pay a local audio specialist to wire it in if it involves anything minorly complex
     
  10. paul_brad

    paul_brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the radio keys specific to manufacturers, or are they general ones? I've got some keys for a sony cd player, and they fit into specific notches on that particular radio to pull it out...
     
  11. james_suckling

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paul,

    The facia adaptor cost £10.64 + VAT last year, and the part no is 8L0051459B5PR. This is a close up of one of them...

     
  12. james_suckling

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    And here's one of the new unit. My only digital camera is on my phone so the pic doesn't really do it justice!

    Bass Junkies do other units too, and they seem to be very cheap. As for wiring it in, all I did was get a new lead from Halfords. This connects the front two speakers directly, and the rears via the Pre-outs on the back of the stereo.

    If you need anything else, give me a shout.

    Cheers

    James

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     

Share This Page