1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VOLUME ADVICE

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by archiemac281, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. archiemac281

    archiemac281 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone advise me on how I adjust the volume on my radio/satnav system, when I turn the key it comes on to loud, I cant find the hand book on my satnav and have tried all sorts to sort it, any ideads chaps. Cheers (2007 S-Line Model RNS-e)
     
  2. Sam W

    Sam W Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Turn the nob with the power symbol on it mate.
     
  3. shawshankuk

    shawshankuk Glu Kru

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think he means the loudness setting lol.

    I was reading a bit in my manual a while back that you can have the system come on at a certain loudness everytime you switch the ignition on.

    You can adjust this but I cant find my manual just now. Maybe someone else can help.
     
  4. mikeyw

    mikeyw Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is a setting on my Audi Concert. I can't remember what it's called though. Something like 'On-Volume'.
     
  5. rowdyboy

    rowdyboy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    18
    My RNS-E comes on at the volume it was set at when the cars turned off. Try looking/posting in the SatNav/I.C.E. section of the forum.
     
  6. archiemac281

    archiemac281 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the sensible advice thus far, still cant find what I need but it would be nice to have the volume come back on at the same level it was turned off at. Still looking for inspiration as to be honest it is a little bit of a pain as it comes on loud but like the wise man said "try turning the power button" the depth of intellect on this forum is nothing less than astounding. Thanks so far chaps.
     
  7. rowdyboy

    rowdyboy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    18
    Do you have a Multifunction steering wheel?
     
  8. archiemac281

    archiemac281 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I do mate, why ?
     
  9. rowdyboy

    rowdyboy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    18
    Just a suggestion and I don't know if it'll make any difference to your problem but I always leave the unit volume button at halfway and always control the volume by the steering wheel controls. Maybe even try turning the unit button to minimum, see if it helps.
     
  10. benr

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    1
    You sure there's not a "on-volume" setting on the rns-e? there is on the Symphony 2+
     
  11. thomas_lad

    thomas_lad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    on mine (concert) you press the menu button then hold it, and then scroll to 'volume on' or 'on volume' and change it there, not sure if it would be the same but thought it was worth while atleast letting you know
     
  12. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    There isn't - but for some people (me included) this works.

    Go into Engineering Mode and select the screen that shows the volume, set that to the turn-on volume you want and turn the RNS-E off and back on.
     
  13. Sam W

    Sam W Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Archie I was only trying to help, don't be bitchy about it, otherwise next time I won't even bother.

    As with Dave mine is set to come on at the level the unit was turned off at, but is also linked to the key, so that should the spare key be used to start the car a different set of settings are used for the rns-e, the seats and the heating. I'll go through the menu later but I'm pretty certain that the units are set to do that by default and don't remember seeing a way to change them.

    Sam.....the wise man....
     
  14. archiemac281

    archiemac281 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the advice, will keep on trying, was not being bitchy but in all fainess your answer(Sam W) lacked any help or direction i.e "turn it down" and I was not the only one who thought so however, sorry did not mean to offend. Thanks
     

Share This Page