1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Voice imput values for vcds.

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by johnmandy, Mar 25, 2012.

  1. johnmandy

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just wonder if someone can give us an helping hand,
    My mates just about finished installing a aftermarket satnav in his 2007 a4 170bhp tdi, we have got as far as fitting everything correctly, no wires unconnected........ the only problem is everything works fine apart from the steering wheel controls which are not working.
    I was hoping someone may know the values for that feature when using vcds, and on what controller, i have the full version, so was hoping to check that parameter hasn't been changed by inserting this new unit.
    I have checked ross wikki's site, but get more confused when researching.
    Anyway if you can help... Many thanks.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. johnmandy

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    I,ve had another look at ross wikki's website, can someone tell me if my thinkings right.

    Below i have cut and pasted a section i think is relative to what i,m looking for....

    Coding
    • 0?xxx: Steering Wheel
      • 0 = Standard (without Multifunction)
      • 1 = 3-Spoke Steering Wheel (Sport Steering Wheel)
      • 2 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio Control
      • 3 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Telephone Control
      • 4 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Telephone/Voice Control
      • 5 = Multifunction Steering Wheel with Radio/Voice Control.
    Is it case of checking what value is currently showing where the question mark is in this bit of info...... 0?xxx: Steering Wheel, and then substituting it for a different value if needed,.... for example the value of the question mark should read between 1 and 5.
    I,m really sorry for being a pain.... a just wish i knew a bit more about my vcds.
     
  4. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    645
    depends what unit you are useing ?
    info would be a help
    did it say it would work with the MFSW ?
     
  5. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    645
    but thats for the audi headunit info on what you have link to new head
     
  6. johnmandy

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks bez 101, you've helped me in the past,
    As it happens its one of them chinese jobs, i think from synter.
    We've managed to get everything working with the exception of the steering wheel controls, although the company he purchased from told him there is no reason it shouldn,t work.
    I thought it may be as simple as telling the relavent controller that the head unit as been changed from the factory fitted unit to another.
    Like i said earlier, initially he had a concert radio (no satnav), but had active working steering wheel control.... but now nothing... hope this helps.
     
  7. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    645
    if you could get a link to the unit that would help
    i know theres some that work with the mfsw and alot claim they work but they dont
     
  8. johnmandy

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, thanks bez101, i'll get the link and post tomorrow.
     
  9. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,060
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Unless its a CAN connected unit that intercepts the CAN signals & utilises, then it wont work, some units have specific add on modules to talk to the car for the mfsw controls, if its the unit I think, that was made to resemble the audi version, then good luck as by all reports they're awful & buggy.
     
  10. johnmandy

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi bez101,
    Ithink this is the link to the said item;

    Audi A4 DVD Navigation System | eBay

    NHN,
    i can't really comment on the quality of these units, i still prefer my factory fitted rnse, 5 digit postcode aside.
    Beleive it or not, halfords fitted the unit after many trials by us....simply by removing the battery for 30 mins and then powering back-up, all the systems work on the unit, including freeview, dvd, sd card etc, all except the steering wheel controls, wheather they will carry on working remains to be seen.
     
  11. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    645
    i think you will have to forget about the mfsw with that unit
    unless you can get an add on to make it work
    as NHN mentioned above
     
  12. johnmandy

    johnmandy Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks mate, no problems.
    I did try and persuade him to purchase a rnse unit, but he went for that unit instead, hopefully it will buck the trend and last a little longer than some comments would suggest.
     
  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,060
    Likes Received:
    1,621
    Thats the unit I know of, hey its obvious it can have fw updates, so I suspect if it works now, maybe they've updated it to fix bugs, only time will tell.
     

Share This Page