1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Voice control and Bluetooth problems...

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by welshwoody, May 25, 2011.

  1. welshwoody
    Offline

    welshwoody Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    1
    I recently installed Bluetooth in my 2008 A3 as I had it in the previous one and found it useful. The problem I have now is this, everything was installed properly and today I had it coded. I was told that everything is working fine and coded properly but I cant pair with it at all. I have an iPhone 4 and it just searches and searches but wont find anything. The RNS-E just shows the usual your phone may not be connected properly screen and goes no further than that.
    Tried with my girlfriends phone and that too cant find it.
    The guy at the garage said he set it so it was always discoverable, not just for x amount of minutes.

    The other thing was that in my 07 plate A3 I used to be able to press the button on the steering wheel and say "Select Name" or whatever I wanted to do. Now I thought by installing bluetooth I could do this again but I cant. Do I need a seperate unit to enable voice commands or should that work with the bluetooth unit installed?

    Sorry about only really being able to ask questions and not being able to answer many you guys put up...
    Thanks
    #1
  2. BlueSpark
    Offline

    BlueSpark 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is it a OEM bluetooth kit? if so then the voice commands should be ok as i have them on mine. With the bluetooth issue to have check that it is in fact set to discoverable and also check the bluetooth antena is properly plug in on the box.
    #2
  3. moag
    Offline

    moag she's no d-turbo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Sorry to hijack the topic...
    I have the kufatec fiscon installed in my a3 but cant get connected to it with my iphone 4. I've tried a few 3g iphones and some nokias aswell and none can connect. The bluetooth is discoverable but no phones can pair with it successfully.

    Any ideas?
    #3
  4. welshwoody
    Offline

    welshwoody Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes its all genuine Audi parts, brand new not second hand. Its a pain in the butt, I just want this car to function like my previous A3. When I press the button on the wheel it doesnt do anything not even the beep like my previous car.
    #4
  5. welshwoody
    Offline

    welshwoody Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not sure if this helps but heres the unit itself, the connector on the cable is locked firmly into place as is the antenna or ariel thing whatever it is.
    [​IMG]
    #5
  6. BlueSpark
    Offline

    BlueSpark 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi Moag, try clearing your recent call history list on ur phone and connecting. My HTC wouldnt make calls or display phonebook until i did this.
    #6
  7. Ash187
    Online

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    I am pretty sure that the bluetooth module is separate from the voice command module. The bluetooth will simply enable bluetooth calling, and you would need the voice module to have voice activation. Nigel (NHN) should be along soon enough to confirm... or just PM him.
    #7
  8. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    279
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/new-a3-s3-sportback-8p-chassis/119817-bluetooth-help.html

    Sounds like they are actually two different "modules" (bluetooth and voice activation) and NHN can get you both.
    #8
  9. moag
    Offline

    moag she's no d-turbo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Gave that a go, but still no luck! Where do they fit the BT modules, I've heard its under passenger seat?! Cant connect to it with my laptop either to update software. Not sure where to go from here
    #9
  10. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    Looks like everything should be ok. Do you have access to VCDS to check if you can communicate with the module? Just done the same install in our A4 - bluetooth, RNS-E and steering wheel all need a little bit of coding. I think I had to do an adaption on the cluster too for the DIS so i wonder if your guy hasn't coded everything needed? That said, it should still show up on the bluetooth when you search with your phone as long as it has power.
    #10
  11. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    #11

Share This Page