1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Voice Activation disabled in Cabriolet

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by phil1824, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 14, 2014]
    The Voice Activation in the Cabriolet appears to be switched off when delivered. It was switched off on the 2009 A4 Cabriolet MMI and I asked them to switch in on and it took them 5 minutes. I believe they connected in up to VCDS?? and switched it on.
    It is switched off on my new A3 Cabriolet and I will go back to the Dealership and ask them to activate it.
    The Bluetooth phone system works really well, so there must be microphones fitted etc...
    I would find it really useful if the experts in this forum could confirm that this can be done and is a trivial task for those who know what they are doing?
    Many thanks.
    Phil
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    Audi will not enable to Voice Activation. The statement is :"Because of cabriolet-specific noises the voice operation only works with
    restrictions (except for the R8 Spyder because (seat)belt microphone is
    used).Therefore NO voice operation is available in the A3, A4, A5 Cabriolet und TT
    Roadster"
    "A retrospective activation of the voice operation and any resulting repairs
    on the voice operation cannot be claimed under warranty".
    There may be companies that can unlock or re-programme the
    software out there, however, software updates during servicing may reset the
    system to factory settings...
    Is voice activation worth it?
    It sounds really good.
    Would be interested to hear how people use it.
    Am concerned that if I get it activated, it could cause other things which are now working really well, to stop working!!
    Thoughts on that from the VAG experts would be really valued....
    #2
  4. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    805
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    I wouldn't lose sleep over not having voice activation.

    I rarely use it IRL, mainly just for demonstration purposes. I use the MMI touch pad by default. But that's just me.
    #3
  5. bobinder
    Offline

    bobinder Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    I prefer the voice activation to select the route guidance especially if I'm driving. I find the MMI knob to take my hand away from the gear stick so I don't feel as confident doing this in motion - fine to use when stationary.
    #4
  6. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    That's a shame. My Audi TT is the same except the SDS High (speech dictation system) voice activation is not enabled on either coupes or roadsters. But I went to the experts in this - VW & Audi Retrofit Parts – Vehicle Electrics – Fault Diagnostics | HappyDayz and they enabled it. I can't speak for the A3 but it makes a huge difference to the ability of the RNS-E in the TT, with navigation, phone etc. The odd thing is that in other markets SDS High is enabled by Audi. Go figure!

    But it may be worth talking to HazzyDayz to see what they say. Gareth Hawkridge is the key guy there.
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014
    #5
  7. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    Many thanks for your reply.
    Touch pad is great and I agree for phone the DIS display and MMI are great.
    I was thinking for input in the Nav and Audi connect systems?
    Is it also possible if activated to reply to TEXTS?

    #6
  8. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,432
    Likes Received:
    703
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    The voice commands system is pretty comprehensive, wouldn't surprise me if you could navigate around most of the MMI using it.
    #7
    phil1824 likes this.
  9. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    257
    [Jun 19, 2014]
    I use it for two things only - calling people and entering navigation postcodes. It's very quick and convenient being able to just say "call John Smith" or whoever and I also find dictating postcodes to it to be the fastest way of entering a destination.
    #8
  10. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    805
    [Jun 20, 2014]
    Do you find that you can't enter a post code AND house number?
    #9
  11. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    257
    [Jun 20, 2014]
    Yes but that's hardly a problem as the postcode alone gets you fairly darn close :)
    #10
  12. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    805
    [Jun 20, 2014]
    It's a problem when it's dark, and you can't read the sodding house numbers, at least with the Nav house numbers it gets you relatively close !
    #11
  13. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 21, 2014]
    #12
  14. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jun 21, 2014]
    Sorry never heard of them (even on the TT Forum) but even though HazzyDayz are quite a trip from Cheshire they do onsite fixes and they really do know all about SDS High. They've done hundreds if not thousands of TTs !!
    #13
    phil1824 likes this.
  15. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    Have just emailed Audi UK to suggest Audi should enable it, at least with the Hood Up on the Cabriolet. Will let you know the reply.


    #14
  16. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    I'm with you with similar problem (SDS disabled on my A3 Sportback)
    #15
  17. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    AFAIK there is no reason why your SDS should be disabled on the SB. It's only by design on the cabriolet.
    #16
  18. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    Spent 30 mins with Rick Hanley of RGH near Knutsford. Rick is an Audi master technician who has set up his own business. Appears an excellent set up and I will go there in the future for servicing. RGH Audi Specialist Rick had a look in the diagnostics and nothing obvious re what to change the settings of. Did it free of charge.. Impressed!! Anybody have any suggestions, delighted to hear them.

    #17
  19. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    My A3 Sportback is born without steering wheel command and voice command too.
    So I bought retrofit kit to have them, but I was no able to activate SDS (I've been able, but coding is lost turning of the car)
    So, I'm waiting that someone is able to activate SDS like cabrio version
    #18
  20. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    Sorry I'm a little confused. I'm assuming he did not manage to fix it? If so why not give HazzyDayz a call? They are the experts!
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2014
    #19
  21. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    If you put your location in your profile it would help as I am guessing that you're not in the UK so this feature may not be fitted at all in your country. All A3 AFAIK have the "Voice control system – for key telephone and radio functions"as standard. But it may only be an option in your country?
    #20
  22. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    mee too.
    if He has been able to activate the SDS, please, could You ask him, how he has done it?
    #21
  23. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    Sorry for not making this clear. Impressed that he spent a lot of time without charging me to have a look. Impressed with his set up and approach. Issue not sorted and voice activation still de-activated. Delighted he did not "have a go" and cause problems where there currently are not any...
    #22
  24. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    Sorry for not making this clear. Impressed that he spent a lot of time without charging me to have a look. Impressed with his set up and approach. Issue not sorted and voice activation still de-activated. Delighted he did not "have a go" and cause problems where there currently are not any...
    #23
  25. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    So give HazzyDayz a call - they will be able to tell you definitively whether it is possible or not.
    #24
  26. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    done by me, but no fixing until now.
    #25
  27. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    So did you call them? What did they say? If it is the same as on my TT they have to do some work on the electronics to make it work so it can't be done remotely.
    #26
  28. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 24, 2014]
    After explained my problem (no SDS) the said that, as I'm Italian, they will contact local delaer to get it touch with me... still waiting
    #27
  29. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    I have politely raised a request for Audi Ingolstadt to accept that some customers will wish to have voice activation available in the Cabriolet and Audi UK have been very helpful and responsive in corresponding with me by email and phone and inserting the request into the SYSTEM. I do not believe that anything will happen unless others also make this request, if it is something that you would wish to have available. I will keep the forum up to date with developments.


    #28
  30. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
  31. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 2, 2014]
    No news... Have also Tweeted about it to AudiUK
    Do you have a Cabriolet and the same concerns? The more people that raise this as an issue, the more chance of them changing their mind??

    #30
  32. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 2, 2014]
    My A3 Sportback is born without steering wheel command and voice command too.
    So I bought retrofit kit to have them, but I was no able to activate SDS (I've been able, but coding is lost turning of the car)
    So, I'm waiting that someone is able to activate SDS like cabrio version
    #31
  33. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Jul 19, 2014]
    Audi Customer service in the UK have been very helpful in relaying my query up the line as to why Voice Activation is disabled by Audi in the A3 and A5 Cabriolet, even when the hood is up.
    Audi Germany have responded that that is the way it is designed (and basically, that is the end of the discussion)
    Very annoying. Not sure what to do next.
    Appears not to be an issue to other owners?


    #32
  34. jcd1984
    Offline

    jcd1984 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 13, 2014]
    I bought a new a3 cabriolet in France, I search a solution for reactivated this function.


    #33
  35. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 13, 2014]
    Good luck.
    Audi appear to have made the decision to switch it off and will not change their mind!!

    #34
  36. lukappaseidue
    Offline

    lukappaseidue New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 13, 2014]
    I wrote you a PM some days ago-
    Why you donìt reply me. I hope the we could find a solution, togheter
    #35
  37. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 13, 2014]
    Hi, Apologies, I thank you for your PM. I have been on holiday and busy. I am not looking for a solution which is not supported by Audi. I have paid a lot of money for a very complicated car and am not willing to jeopardise the warranty


    #36
  38. Snibo
    Offline

    Snibo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 13, 2014]
    Hi Phil,

    I'm picking up a Cabriolet at the start of September.
    On the test drive, the Sales Guy said that the Voice Control certainly works on the Cabriolet and he had used it on the Test Car.

    I'll let you know next month !!
    #37
  39. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 13, 2014]
    I look forward to hearing. Which country?
    Phil
    #38
  40. Snibo
    Offline

    Snibo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 13, 2014]
    Oh sorry.

    UK.

    I'll try and find the location thing in the status and update it.
    #39
  41. phil1824
    Offline

    phil1824 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Aug 14, 2014]
    The Bluetooth phone system works, but if you press the Voice menu on the steering wheel it says this is deactivated and if you look in the Handbook it says it is deactivated on Cabriolet and I have had many phone conversations with Audi Customer Service who have spoken to the Bosses in Ingolstadt who confirm it is switched off and will remain so, so the Salesman has special powers!!

    #40

Share This Page