1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

******VERY URGENT HELP NEEDED PLEASE*****

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Crazymoesizzle, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. Crazymoesizzle
    Offline

    Crazymoesizzle Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    :sos:hello every one i need any help no matter how small i need it i have to put a end to this problem or the cars going simple as lol.

    :sos:ok iv just taken the car to the garage to have it check on the emissions again as it passed by the skin of its teeth for the mot

    :sos:fault code was bank 1 o2 sensor/ lamba sensor

    :sos:iv put a new one of these in and the code is still coming up iv changed the cat and the code is still coming up this is the only code that is showing a problem

    :sos:they put it on the emissions system for me and the hc is in green but the co2 and the lamba is both in the red.

    what could be the problem?
    what could i change?
    what can i do?

    please any help even if you think it might not be needed it will help me try and find a problem to fix it other wise if i cant get it sorted buy feb the cars going :Flush:



    :laugh:PLEASE HELP GUYS & GULS THANKS:laugh:
    #1
  2. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is the exact code? is it detecting an issue with the lamda/02 sensor or an incorrect reading?
    #2
  3. evilscotsman
    Offline

    evilscotsman Space Cowboy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    1
    i had the same fault with an ibiza, changed cat, lambda, cleaned tb, new exhaust anyway, turned out to be a split intake pipe underneath that was letting in unmetered air, causing lean running and low (good) HC (no unburned fuel) but high CO and lambda (according to the mot mechanic) although high CO would point to incomplete combustion.

    I still have a problem getting my head round low HC and high CO at the same time, but it passed after replacing the intake tube on mine.
    #3
  4. Crazymoesizzle
    Offline

    Crazymoesizzle Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    all its coming up saying is bank 1 so i have no idea iv been told to plumb in vag com and see what that brings up i just have to wait for the cable then i will be able to give more info but if you can give me suggestions on either way it could go that would be great thanks
    #4
  5. Crazymoesizzle
    Offline

    Crazymoesizzle Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats really help full but i wouldnt know were to start im very good with car but i just take one look at mine and go right where to start lol but keep the help coming mate every bit of info i get paints a bigger picture of my car
    #5
  6. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have seen a faulty coolant temperature switch give high lambda readings before. For the cost of a temp sender switch, it may be worth changing. You've got nothing to lose but it may fix it. £15 tops I would have said for the switch.
    #6
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    Or instead of randomly throwing parts at it, get vagcom and find out exactly whats going on...
    #7
  8. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    :iagree:
    #8
  9. CHRIS555
    Offline

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. Crazymoesizzle
    Offline

    Crazymoesizzle Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok guys iv got a new obd 2 cable coming so i can put vag com on it but in the mean time iv been to motoserv and have had a new lamba fitted just in case and also had the fault code bank 1 removed then i will be taking the car back to the garage to get it scanned. im hoping by that time my vag com and new cable thanks to ebay may help me find out any problem if there is any im hoping there isnt lol. i will be buying a new coolant sensor just incase soon i might as well considering the cars done 172 thousand miles now. thanks for your help guys keep the ideas coming we could be onto somthing here
    #10

Share This Page