1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ventilation System Has A Mind Of Its Own

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by mystic.bertie, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. mystic.bertie
    Offline

    mystic.bertie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 29, 2011]
    2001 2.5tdi, my ventilation system does what it wants, i am not using auto and i have the econ button on, but if i set the temp and the fan speed the next thing i know the fan speed is way up and making lots of noise, is this a common fault?
    #1
  2. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    403
    [Nov 29, 2011]
    Mine does this too. Auto mode off and it still seems to try decide what speed for the fan I need.

    Id also like to know other peoples ideas as to cause/ fixes.
    #2
  3. Mike B
    Online

    Mike B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Nov 29, 2011]
    Are you saying that you cant control the fan speed at all?Are all the buttons working freely ?
    #3
  4. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,868
    Likes Received:
    403
    [Nov 29, 2011]
    On mine the buttons work 99% of the time. However, when changing from 18c to xxC for example the unit then decides to up the fan speed to max usually. Even when auto is turned off. I can then manually turn fan speed down but I wish it stayed on 3 as I usually have it. Does that make any sense?
    #4
  5. mystic.bertie
    Offline

    mystic.bertie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 30, 2011]
    YEAH mine too all the buttons work fine, i can adjust the speed of the fan too but the next thing i know the speed is getting higher and higher,i turn it down it gets higher and higher, also its in manual mode not auto.
    #5

Share This Page