1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vented Arch Liner....How?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by tonya4, Oct 29, 2010.

  1. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    Anyone got any pics/guides to venting the arch liner,to allow better airflow for the smic?
    thanks
    tony
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    Fit an S4 part, or just drill some holes?
    #2
  4. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    or better still go to B&Q and fit a louvered vent cover to whatever hole you create, otherwise you will fill the back of your intercooler with ****
    #3
  5. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    the s4 part is only £20 ish quid
    #4
  6. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    anyone got a pic of the s4 part?
    tony
    #5
  7. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    [​IMG]
    #6
  8. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    ideal,thanks mate.

    tony
    #7
  9. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    the only one i can find is on ebay for £40.

    tony
    #8
  10. ian52
    Offline

    ian52 2000 a4 1.8tqs-yellow

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    Go to the dealers.
    #9
  11. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 29, 2010]
    i would,but there isn't one near me!

    tony
    #10
  12. gaz71
    Offline

    gaz71 1.8T Quattro Sport AJL

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2010]
    Why are you not using the fmic off the tdi you're breaking?
    Has anyone got the part number of the S4 part?
    #11
  13. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 30, 2010]
    the fmic is off my new car,not the tdi i'm breaking.I have got the pics just gotta get them sent mate.

    tony
    #12
  14. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    [Oct 30, 2010]
    8D0821171G - £22.60 inc vat
    #13
  15. gaz71
    Offline

    gaz71 1.8T Quattro Sport AJL

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2010]
    Ah, what's the new car you've got?
    Still interested in your fmic, just thought I'd ask.
    #14
  16. tonya4
    Offline

    tonya4 TDi Powerrrr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Oct 30, 2010]
    my new car is another a4.to cut a long story short i bought a a4 tdi avant in july and it turned out to be a dog,has got a serious engine fault so I have decided to break it.I bought another a4 last week which has the fmic already on it,but it's not my cup of tea.OEM+ for me.

    tony
    #15

Share This Page