1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VCDS

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Beoman, Jan 19, 2013.

  1. Beoman
    Offline

    Beoman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone connected VCDS to a 8v?

    i am thinking og retrofitting a cruise control but still need to get the VCDS.
    #1
  2. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    VCDS will connect to an 8V, Nigel ,username NHN on here will probably be able to help you with CC retrofit.
    #2
  3. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,961
    Likes Received:
    2,308
    User NHN can retrofit cc and he is also supplier of vcds. Drop him a pm. :)x
    #3
  4. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    I can supply vcds mate no worries, also could fit cruise if interested, drop me a PM if you like :)
    #4
  5. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    Is there any/much info on exactly what settings you can tweak on the 8V using VCDS? I sold my old cable but might contemplate getting another if I can fiddle with things :)
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    I can ask RT, but there will be some yes & the more users who can provide dumps of the car & send to them, the quicker they can provide module label file updates :) so in that light I'd say its worthwhile, as they're usually fairly quick on updates tbh.
    #6
  7. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    I still haven't worked out how the coming home lights work. They stay on for a far shorter period than they did on my 8P, which is annoying in itself, but quite often they don't seem to work at all, especially if I don't get out of the car immediately after turning the ignition off. These are the kinds of things I'd like to fiddle with but the cost of a VCDS cable is a bit steep just for "fiddling" really.
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    Yeah but fiddling at audi would cost the earth & be nowhere near as convenient :p

    CH/LH timers could be adjusted on most modern audi's via dis or vcds, strange you dont have this option in mmi?
    #8
  9. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    Very strange and I'm somewhat annoyed it's not there tbh.
    #9
  10. hittchy
    Offline

    hittchy Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    73
    I'm a little amazed by this. On the A4 you can control lots of features via the MMI. Leaving home, coming home delay, how dark until the auto headlights activate, pitch of the parking sensors, the level of audio mute when reversing, switching on/off DRLs, auto locking, one click opening etc. Even as far as checking the oil level! One of my favourites is switching off that useless gear change suggestion in the DIS.

    If these features aren't on the A3 it seems a bit of a backward step. After all, the A4 B8 is a 5 year old car now.
    #10
  11. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,482
    Likes Received:
    564
    Perhaps Audi regard the A3 as one of their 'cheaper' models and don't include access so many options on the MMI system. If like Skoda, Audi made the Owner's Manual available to anyone online it would be possible to check up on this sort of thing before buying the car rather than finding out afterwards. I must admit I generally download the manual for almost everthing I buy before I go ahead mainly to find out exactly what it can do and what it cannot, especially for technology items. I have recently purchased a new Kindle Paperwhite and a Nexus 7 tablet and in both cases I could download the manual before hand and they are 'cheap' items when compared with a car.
    #11
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    TBH I find allot of technical hardware manuals online are far from complete & wrong in numerous different sectors, it pisses me of a bit as you buy based on the info you read, then find its incorrect.
    #12
  13. Beoman
    Offline

    Beoman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the offer but I live in denmark so it's not that easy to drop by.
    Maybe you could help me with a short DIY on the coding?
    I'm also retrofitting DSG paddles. A little help with the coding for that would also be a big help.
    #13
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    If you confirm you are using a genuine interface, then if I get some free time/have any info, then I would be happy to help.
    #14
  15. Beoman
    Offline

    Beoman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am. Got it from Netech.dk. The danish Ross-Tech dealer.
    Thanks.
    #15
  16. number3
    Offline

    number3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    27
    ive found most of what you mentioned above on my A3's MMI bar being able to adjust the CH/LH lights other than off or on:(

    .
    #16
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    I have an A3 8V to play with tomorrow :)
    #17
    Spurrellian likes this.
  18. viperfire
    Offline

    viperfire Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    38
    Can you do needle swoosh etc on the new a3?
    #18
  19. hittchy
    Offline

    hittchy Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    73
    Great. I'm a bit more comfortable with that. Strange to leave out the CH/LH delay though.

    I'm assuming the A3 has a standard dipstick. I actually prefer the old fashioned way than checking oil through the MMI. :thumbsup:
    #19
  20. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    I did some scans for RT then had to give the car back to the dealer, but I will get more access soon anyway :)
    #20
  21. number3
    Offline

    number3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    27
    few other questions had been asked about VCDS in another thread , but as they had been asked here originally thought I pop this one to the top again !!

    NHN was you able to find out what could be changed in the 8v ?

    mark.
    #21
  22. Mikejefferson
    Offline

    Mikejefferson New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers mark for finding this :)
    #22
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    Not had access again atm, as been stacked up working on other cars, so I havnt got anything to report I'm afraid.
    #23
  24. zippster
    Offline

    zippster Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    i can confirm currently we don't have access to the long coder helper (thingy) which means no needle sweep and also i cannot enable VIM as it says the security code is wrong :( (after using the generator!)

    :(
    #24
  25. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    I've tried staging on my 1.4 tfsi Sline, no go I'm afraid :-(
    #25
  26. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Also tried vim but no go as we'll, had a good few hours playing with mine now doesn't seem to be much I can do
    #26
  27. stevey_cam
    Offline

    stevey_cam Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    2
    #27
  28. zippster
    Offline

    zippster Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    The problem is when you click long coder helper thingy it says ' current ecu not supported' ;(

    ill hook mine up tomorrow and send an autoscan to Ross tech.

    ill keep you posted.
    #28
  29. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Had a quick play today got my needle sweep working, looks great, also,activated lap timer and oil temp but ere is no data for oil temp :-( just shows --- and no button on mf wheel to start / stop lap timer so shows 0:00:00 all the time lol,

    Got a nice needle sweep video but for some reason can't upload to YouTube from iPad? Keeps saying failed!
    #29
  30. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Lap timer and oil temp

    Attached Files:

    #30
  31. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    And again
    #31
  32. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    ..

    Attached Files:

    #32
  33. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    And enabled background lighting, just need to run wires from inboard power supply ecu to led fitted in foot wells now

    Attached Files:

    #33
  34. zippster
    Offline

    zippster Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Steve how did you do the needle sweep please?

    care to share with fellow A3 8V owners :)
    #34
  35. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    No I'm gunna charge £50 a punt and do it for you all lol

    No course I will give me 10 minutes

    Ps anybody know of a video server app like YouTube, can't upload to YouTube for some reason
    #35
  36. selar
    Offline

    selar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hmm... Vimeo?

    Shoulda gone Android ;)
    #36
  37. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Using VCDS as follows

    17 - dash
    07 - coding

    Byte 1
    Enable bit 0

    Do it

    You now have needle sweep :)
    #37
  38. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    ANDROID, Don't swear at me lol
    #38
  39. Audi Steve
    Offline

    Audi Steve Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    7
    Any other coding request?
    #39
  40. selar
    Offline

    selar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    21
    Auto-dipping kerbside mirror!
    #40

Share This Page