1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vcds

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by tinka, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. tinka
    Offline

    tinka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excuse my ignorance but how easy is the above to use for home use, and how does it work, I've been scared off of it before as I assume it's complicated, I'm whats called, PC thick. I have a Sealy scan tool for my wife and sons cars but thats my limit for diagnostics.
    #1
  2. FiftyPence
    Offline

    FiftyPence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have a laptop or PC cabable of reaching the vehicle? You will need to connect one end of the VCDS cable into the car and the other end into the laptop/PC which must be max 5ft away due to the length of the cable.

    If you just want to check your VAG vehicles for faults then a beginner might be best advised to stick to the auto scan function which is explained in the following link with a youtube video which you may find interesting.

    Ross-Tech: VCDS Tour: Auto-Scan

    If that looks easy to you then your next step would be to purchase the cable from a reputable retailer and get going.

    As you get more advanced, then you could explore the various controllers yourself using the select control module function.
    #2
  3. tinka
    Offline

    tinka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I'll start looking into it I think, a no brainer really, although I have a warranty at the moment, I'll not have one forever and even with the extended warranty Audi will still charge for a diagnostic check.
    #3
    Soot1e likes this.
  4. SLineMK
    Offline

    SLineMK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyone on here that can get my DVD player to run all the time. I'm guessing I need to override it some how and not really willing to give it a try myself.
    #4
  5. FiftyPence
    Offline

    FiftyPence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    #5
  6. Gizmo68
    Offline

    Gizmo68 VCDS owner in Kent

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    tinka, personally if you really are self confessed ‘PC thick’ then I would not entertain VCDS.

    It is not a difficult piece of software to use, BUT it can easily turn your car into an expensive drive ornament if you do not know what you are doing.

    It is also not cheap (£260) for just a few scans, they do come into their own if you intend to make several adaptation changes to the car, but are you really happy with your capabilities in doing that?
    #6
  7. SLineMK
    Offline

    SLineMK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I know which version I have 2G or 3G? Also is this adaptable using the menu alone or do I need to connect into it via a cable? Thanks for the info so far
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2012
    #7
  8. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    7
    What year is your car

    If you're talking about DVD movies then you have 3g
    #8
  9. SLineMK
    Offline

    SLineMK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a 59 plate with the DVD built in. Any more info on my modified post above. I'm completely new to this sorry
    #9
  10. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok you have 3G - do you have the extra insert on your MMI control knob?

    You need vcds to do this.
    #10
  11. FiftyPence
    Offline

    FiftyPence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. SLineMK
    Offline

    SLineMK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    A6CR yes it has that little black toggle insert. Where would acquire one of these VCD's and cable from and what software do I need to run it? I'm perhaps thinking to get someone to do this for me lol

    Fifty that link is no good?
    #12
  13. FiftyPence
    Offline

    FiftyPence New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look on YouTube for the video 'how to tell if you have 3G mmi'
    #13
  14. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok you have the hdd version -

    You need http://www.gendan.co.uk/product_VCHU.html for this and it's a must have for any audi owner. The software you download from Ross tech themselves but you need the genuine cable with the activation key.
    #14
  15. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    1
    Most people have someone local do it for them. I could be your next door neighbour and could do it for you but without any clues in your profile as to your whereabouts it's hard to volunteer to help.

    nudge nudge ;)
    #15
  16. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    7
    Looking at previous posts he is in Milton Keynes.
    #16
  17. SLineMK
    Offline

    SLineMK Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes that's right I'm in Milton Keynes. I only use this on Tapatalk & for some strange reason will not let me edit the profile? Any help will be much appreciated :)
    #17
  18. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    7
    Go onto your computer - press your username in the top right corner of Audi-sport and down the left hand side there will be options to edit different things.
    #18
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    You could purchase the genuine kit of me as I'm a genuine vcds seller & an advertiser of this forum, PM me if you are interested in purchasing the kit.
    #19
  20. tinka
    Offline

    tinka Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    The thought of it does scare me a bit, but it sounds like it's very handy to have, and taking labour rates into account will pay for itself fairly quickly, I understand what your saying though, so I'll do my research first and learn as much as I can, the car has a warranty at the moment so no major rush to get one.
    #20

Share This Page