1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VCDS query

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Bigandbald, Oct 27, 2013.

  1. Bigandbald
    Offline

    Bigandbald Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Oct 27, 2013]
    i have the cheapie blue ebay vagcom interface cable, my question is what do i need to do/ how much is it to get the right software so that i can clear faults and do logging etc??

    i have vcds lite but as far as i can see it is useless in every way
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,926
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    [Oct 27, 2013]
    Register it...

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. Bigandbald
    Offline

    Bigandbald Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Oct 27, 2013]
    so I register it and pay the £99 is that then the full version?
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,926
    Likes Received:
    1,339
    [Oct 27, 2013]
    $99 but yes... full version... however... the caveat is its tied to the computer you registered it on... with a genuine lead you can install VCDS on anything and use the lead with it... the genuine lead acts as a 'dongle' to allow the full version of VCDS to work...

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  6. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,420
    Likes Received:
    128
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    Possibly depending on the quality of your 'cheapie' cable, you may find that you get a lot of communication errors when using it.
    I tried the eBay one and also ended up with one of the more expensive 'copies' and had nothing but problems with them.

    I invested in the full genuine version from one of the authorised retailers and have not had a single problem since.

    If your planning on using it a lot, my advise would be to save your cash and buy genuine.
    #5
    <tuffty/> likes this.
  7. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    It's not the "full" version.

    For your 99US$ you get a registered/working version of "VCDS Lite" which is locked to that computer, it's very useful but you can't reset service indicators / intervals + a few other things ... see here-> Ross-Tech: VCDS: Function Table

    If you buy it and decide you want full VCDS in the future they'll discount the 99US$ off the price of a full cable.

    Some of the eBay cables don't work very well.

    I run mine in a Windows XP virtual machine on my MacBookPro and it does everything I need it to.

    Liam
    #6
    AlexCW and Sandra like this.
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,578
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    Ofcourse you can reset service indicators. You just dont have a big spastic-mode button on the front page to do it for you.

    You just open the correct adaption channels and reset the values. It all used to be extremely well documented on their website, but i've noticed recently they're making the info harder to find as they introduce these automatic features in the newer versions.

    I've used ebay cables for years, and NEVER had a problem. Sometimes the drivers set a silly latency which can cause connection issues but this is fixed easily with a few mouse clicks.

    For older cars like the 8L and B5 A4's VCDS Lite is pretty much all you need.
    #7
  9. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    Ah! Thanks, I stand corrected. It would be useful to know the adaption channels and values etc. if you have them to hand? before I go searching. Although it's a lot safer to have a big fluffy button to press. :)
    #8
  10. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,578
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    #9
    vfr800 likes this.
  11. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Oct 28, 2013]
    Sorry don't think I answered your question properly the first time. A registered VCDS Lite is your cheapest option, it can be used to log and clear faults.


    Thanks!!!

    Liam
    #10

Share This Page