1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vcds interface not found?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by bouncer117, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    i have just recieved my vcds and installed it tried to conect to car and test but comes up saying port status: ok, interface: not found! does anyone have any ideas what this means? any addvice would be helpful thanks
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. brasiliangringo

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    8
    Is it genuine or the shareware + ebay lead ?
     
  4. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    shareware + ebay
     
  5. brasiliangringo

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    8
    No idea then could be a variety of issues not least the lead itself.
     
  6. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    is it likely to be a problem with the lead?
     
  7. PAULF

    PAULF Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    66
    The port config will be wrong.

    Check what port the USB device is on, then change the port number to the VCDS port
     
  8. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    sorry for being thick but how do i do that?
     
  9. PAULF

    PAULF Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    66
    You need to go into device manager and hunt for the lead and then look at the settings. One of the settings will have the port number. In the start-up screen for VCDS, the is a test setting of some sort - I forget now - go to the test, and ensure the com port in use is the same as the one in your device manager. Then save the test BEFORE you get excited try and reprogram the toilet flush module.

    I'm assuming your using VCDS lite with the e-bay lead, which does have limited functionality.
    If you are using a pirate copy, this is norty :asskicking: and frowned on here.

    The e-bay leads are a bit of an arse, so you may end up wanting to speak to NHM if it all gets too much, as he will swap you a full CAN lead for the requisite number of beer tokens.

    I think you can still get a KII lead from Ross-Tech in the States, but TBH, the money saved is not really worth it. (I did that though)
     
  10. Todd1983

    Todd1983 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    as above, will be incorrect com port, I had to do this with mine
     
  11. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok ill give it a try thanks muchly
     
  12. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    you were spot on thanks for the help
     
  13. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    it just gets better i have another problem wit it now lol tried scannin for faults it starts then a message comes up saying: a problem caused the program to stop working correctly. windows wil stop the program... any ideas lol?
     
  14. PAULF

    PAULF Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    66
    No idea on that one. It might be worth re-installing the program - or seeing if there is an anti-virus issue.

    I do refer you back to my post

    Some members get a bit excited over non-genuine leads, but to be honest, e-bay leads and the shareware VCDS work ok.
    However, if you find your using it a lot - get a genuine one as soon as, and get more options and less hassle.
     
  15. bouncer117

    bouncer117 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok thanks for all your help
     
  16. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,550
    Likes Received:
    640
    Run it as administrator.

    Also, make sure your using VCDS Lite from the Rosstech page, and not the older shareware 409 version that lots of leads ship with, as 409 doesnt work with 64bit windows.
     

Share This Page