1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vcds help

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by les-ward, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    in need of some help i get a prob with laptop talking to car it seems can anyone explain to a thick fck vcds prob.jpg
    how to solve the prob or anyone local to southampton able to show me for beer tokens
    thanks les

    i plug blue lead in start up vcds program turn ignition on the click port 3 and test and thats as far as it go,s
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    turn ignition on then start the vcds
    is it a genuine VCDS
     
  4. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    no its the one scott said to download from a usa site the guy that does vcds lite and stuff
     
    #3 les-ward, Apr 23, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2013
  5. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    no idea then
     
  6. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    is the lead actually using port 3?

    Look in device manager...
     
  7. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it is aragon got my computer mate to check he said cars not talking to comp?
     
  8. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    364
    From your screen shot your not using the lite version! 11.11.5 is the full version
     
  9. Bradderz_1988

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,592
    Likes Received:
    165
    Try it on all the com ports it should read - interface : ready !

    id also check that its been installed correctly with the disc that comes with the lead, check your pins on the eobd connector make sure theres not a bent one !!
     
  10. Steve_D

    Steve_D Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    if its a copy lead then remove the current vcds and goto the official site -> downloads and you should see a link for 3rd party leads

    Download the software and try again... that worked for me, but in all honesty all you can do is reset the abs and maybe a few more little things.

    My lead went in the bin its that useless, better to spend some cash on the full tuxedo ;)
     
  11. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    If its a standard ebay Blue lead, you should be using VCDS Lite, VCDS11 is only for genuine cables afaik.

    The cheap cables can take a bit of prodding to get working, but they usually work just fine.

    You NEED to open device manager and see what com port the USB serial bridge is using, and choose the same option from inside VCDS.

    Also, you said "the cars not talking to comp", when infact the error you've got means the computer cant talk to the interface, rather than the car itself.
     
    Steve_D likes this.
  12. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok will get my friend to try all posted ty guys
     
  13. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Don't forget to make sure the ignition is switched on.
     
  14. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    sticking in audi chandlersford tomoz to get sorted as my friend away fishing £90 to plug in and tell me faults is not to hellish
     
  15. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    £90 **** that
    has the car got the light on ?
     
  16. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    turn airbag light off and get print out of fault codes
     
  17. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok sort figured it out can someone tell me what codes mean fault codes.jpg vcds result.jpg still need to figure how to turn airbag light off but im new to this
     
  18. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    to smal copy and paste
     
  19. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]any better?
     
  20. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    best way is to clear all codes
    then rescan see what come back.
    they may be old codes.
     
  21. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    so click clear results and re do it?
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    yes clear them all
    take for a drive and see what comes back
     
  24. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok cleared codes taken for a drive plugged back in same code,s showing as above
    and found why airbag light is on now module needs recoding and both front seatbelt,s are showing high resistance the reels in pillar need changing phoned audi no longer avaible grrr

    looks like time to get rid unless i can find some s/h belts that have no fault but then off a breaker i cant plug in and test
     
    #22 les-ward, Apr 25, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013
  25. les-ward

    les-ward Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    are facelift seatbelts the same??
     
  26. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,274
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Pre-facelift seatbelts never had the sensors or anything in them I don't think.

    I can't only assume all FL belts are the same.
     
  27. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    The belts are different but interchangable.

    I have PFL belts in my FL as mine had been crashed and the pretensioners fired. Got some PFL ones for buttons on ebay.

    The autoscan you've done is a bit messy, i always just open the specific controller and query it directly. Far easier to see whats going on.

    You've also not cleared the DTC's, as that buttons greyed out on your screenshot. All you've done is cleared the results of the scan.

    Forget autoscan, open the engine controller, reset the codes and take for a drive for half an hour and see what comes back.

    Do same with the airbag (though you wont need to take it for a drive, just exit the controller, cycle the igntion, and go back in again)
     

Share This Page