1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VCDS Errors on ABS and Knock Sensor?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by vfr800, May 8, 2013.

  1. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 8, 2013]
    Hi

    I was driving the car the other day and whilst braking on some bumpy tarmac the ABS kicked in for a split second. No problems, arrived at work, when I got in the car and started it to leave work the ESP and ABS warning lights came on and have stayed illuminated on the dash ever since.

    I scanned the car these two errors came up, I know they're unrelated, probably:

    VCDS-Lite Version: Release 1.2
    Friday, 03 May 2013, 15:39:45:5805
    Control Module Part Number: 8N0 907 379 E
    Component and/or Version: ESP 20 CAN V005
    Software Coding: 18448
    Work Shop Code: WSC 01236
    VCID: 3E0FAB56296F
    1 Fault Found:
    00285 - ABS Wheel Speed Sensor; Front Right (G45)
    35-00 - -

    I can't clear this error - I've checked the plug on the sensor and it all seems fine. New sensor needed?
    GSF have pattern sensors for about £17 or should I get a OE one?


    Any ideas on the second, unrelated, error would be appreciated ...

    VCDS-Lite Version: Release 1.2

    Friday, 03 May 2013, 15:39:02:5805
    Control Module Part Number: 8N0 906 018 J
    Component and/or Version: 1.8L R4/5VT G 0004
    Software Coding: 10710
    Work Shop Code: WSC 01236
    VCID: 3803BD4E0B4B
    Additional Info: ****
    1 Fault Found:
    16712 - Knock Sensor 1 (G61): Signal too High
    P0328 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent

    What does this mean? My googling hasn't really enlightened me. As far as I know the knock sensor hasn't been touched ... I don't even know where it is.


    Thanks, Liam





    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. [Dave B]
    Online

    [Dave B] Rrrrrrrr-tech

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    111
    [May 8, 2013]
    I had the first code (same corner) and replaced the sensor with an OE one, problem solved. Didn't consider a GSF one at the time.

    Can't help with the second one.
    #2
  4. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 8, 2013]
    #3
  5. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [May 8, 2013]
    Check for a break in the loom somewhere?
    the knock sensor could have triggered when the esp kicked in , does that code clear and stay cleared?

    location... google says under the front manifold, will be a heavily shielded wire and bolted into the block.
    #4
  6. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 8, 2013]
    @udi A3 - thanks - good point. I did clear the code I'll check it out.

    I might go to GSF and get a cheapo ABS sensor and see how that goes.

    Liam
    #5
  7. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [May 8, 2013]
    #6
  8. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [May 8, 2013]
    if you go to the thread that pic is from theres a lot more photos, including shiney engine porn lol
    #7
  9. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 8, 2013]
    Thanks. mmmm engine pr0n. :)

    Looks simple - I'll check the codes again ... hopefully it will not have come back.
    #8
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [May 8, 2013]
    knock sensor 1 is located under the inlet manifold just to the right of the thermostat housing... I did indeed have this same issue and I re-wired the sensor back to the ECU... 2 core screened cable is required to do this...

    Sensor G61, pins on ECU below...

    [​IMG]

    <tuffty/>
    #9
  11. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 9, 2013]
    Thanks for the info Tuffty.

    I have scanned again and the error has not re-occurred. Maybe it was a one off or as it says, an intermittent fault which will come back.
    #10
  12. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [May 9, 2013]
    Mine was intermittent... it would happen randomly and the rewire made it go away and is still fine today...

    These kind of faults are like that... :(

    <tuffty/>
    #11
  13. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 9, 2013]
    Thanks.

    I have one coil pack that keeps working its way out. Would a coil pack making a bid for freedom cause this?
    #12
  14. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [May 9, 2013]
    Very much doubt it (although stranger things have happened...)

    cut a small section of rubber out from the retaining ribs of the coil pack... reason they list is the air trapped as you push the pack in heats up and any oil etc on the rocker means the rubber bit of the pack can't grip and subsequently the pack rises up from the the expanding air... small slot in the rubber will let the air out (might be worth degreasing the coil pack holes too)

    <tuffty/>
    #13
  15. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 9, 2013]
    That's a good idea to cut a vent in, I have degreased the holes and the coil pack several times, which slowed it down.

    Cheers, Liam
    #14
  16. vfr800
    Offline

    vfr800 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    44
    [May 11, 2013]
    So I picked up a cheapo £17 ABS sensor from GSF. I thought it would be simple to replace.

    I drove the car up on some ramps so I could get underneath and put plenty of penetrating spray on the old sensor.

    Undid the 5mm allen bolt holding it on, it took about 1 min of gentle coaxing with the screw driver and pliers in an attempt to free the old sensor to do this instead.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Oooops! Doh! It snapped off. Now I had to lift the car up put it on axle stands and remove the wheel to get to the remains.

    Used a small chisel to slice off the remains of the old sensor poking out the other side.

    Once the copper coil was remove from the insides there was a cylinder of plastic left in the hub which took a while to hammer and pry out.

    Once it was out and the hole was cleaned it was simple to reassemble and put the new sensor in.

    Cleared all the fault codes and my dash no longer looks like a christmas tree. Happy days!

    I know it's a cheap sensor but it has a 1yr warranty so I'll see how it goes. Thank god it was a cheap fix.

    Liam
    #15
  17. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,144
    Likes Received:
    2,374
    [May 12, 2013]
    Liam, sounds like a bad day. Why do these things always happen at the weekend or when there is nowhere open for you to get help? Its fixed now and your dashboard is back to normal, now you can just drive it again. :) x
    #16

Share This Page