1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VCDS-Discussions

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Silky-S3, Jan 9, 2014.

  1. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jan 9, 2014]
    Just added (well Sandra has) coding for DRLs off when the light switch is in the off position. Can finally turn off the lights!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jan 9, 2014]
    Also, don't you guys have Auto lights? The switch works as it should now, i.e. off is off and Auto is whatever the car thinks (i.e. DRL, Dipped beam etc)
    #2
  4. boy1308
    Offline

    boy1308 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Come on guys..... You can always ask about it at the dealer.....

    Now on topic:

    Is it possible to have a "beep" sound when you open/close your S3?
    #3
  5. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    #4
  6. Schizophonic
    Offline

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    I doubt they would work because checking that thread codes and some of the 8v codes they won't match. If someone is able to test and it works then post away!
    #5
  7. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    166
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Lots of posts on warranty and "can my dealer tell who did this." Let's get back to basics on how VCDS works.

    Any entries and changes are flagged with a WorkShop Code like WSC 12345 to reference who last wrote that particular setting into the car; the idea being that a dealer can see who made a specific change.

    VCDS can read these (as I am sure the dealer can too).

    This code is programmable in VCDS so it can write back the WSC that was already there (to appear invisible), or a WSC code you enter manually in the options.
    #6
    STERLING VOID and Silky-S3 like this.
  8. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Jan 10, 2014]

    try them and tell us. ok ?

    this would be a useful post
    #7
  9. Schizophonic
    Offline

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    I don't have access to Vcds dude.
    #8
  10. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,454
    Likes Received:
    705
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    They have records of who did what. They also have records of your car having been booked in, and for what purpose, so of course they dealers will have proof that they did something.

    They don't use VCDS at the dealers, they use a different system. They tell Audi what they want to change, and Audi send back a code to enter. When they program the car, it writes the data to the car AND to Audi's central computer at the same time so that Audi always know what state your car is in, and can reset it back to that state if required.

    This is what the master tech at Nottingham Audi told me about it anyway.
    #9
  11. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    yes this is how VAS works

    let's move on
    #10
    h5djr likes this.
  12. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,520
    Likes Received:
    574
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    I agree. This thread can give members details of things they can do with VCDS but like all things it is their car and they choose if they want to do them. If they are don't understand about any warranty issues then I don't think we are here to be nurse maids. Members are intelligent adults who have paid a lot of money to purchase an Audi. If not, and it is a company car, I'm sure there would be braking their company rules messing about with the car in the first place.

    Perhaps just a single warning as a 'sticky' saying that changing codes using VCDS could affect the warranty would be a good idea. Would it be possible for a particular warning post to be always at the top of this thread - perhaps the moderators can advise.

    As another issue, both of the Audi Master Technicians at my dealers have told me they sometimes use a copy of VCDS to change codes on customers cars that their own VAS system does not have the functionality to do. Rare but sometimes happens.
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2014
    #11
    Sandra and snowfree52 like this.
  13. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Dave, if you wish to write a post as suggested above, please do so and pm me and i will make it a sticky to sit at the top of the section. :) x
    #12
    Mani_S_Bhogal likes this.
  14. Schizophonic
    Offline

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Right, I had a friend at work use VCDS V11.11 and did the following changes and confirm they all work on an 8V 1.4TFSI Sportback

    1. Visual screen of reserve parking (not rear camera)
    2. Oil temperture is DIS
    3. Lap timer in DIS

    I made the changes for dipping rear parking but can someone let me know what are the correct procedure to set this? I know you have to set the angle but how to you set it and test it? Someone able to post a step by step?
    #13
  15. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Tried these but they don't work on the 8V :(
    #14
  16. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,454
    Likes Received:
    705
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Your mirror switch must be in the passenger position, and be in reverse - that's it. You then can move it around as you want and it'll save it for the next time it dips.
    #15
  17. Schizophonic
    Offline

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    I coded in Vcds. Saved it and switched off my engine and switched it back on.

    Out my car in reserve, released handbrake and toggled the driver side mirror switch. Set the angle and then what? What should I do next? I'm sure it's something really easy but it's just not happening with me.
    #16
  18. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,454
    Likes Received:
    705
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Did it not dip when you had selected reverse and selected the passenger mirror side with the switch? If not, then I don't know I'm afraid. I would have thought that should do it.
    #17
  19. Schizophonic
    Offline

    Schizophonic Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    52
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Well wouldn't it make more sense if you would be able to set the angle first? Not everyone sit at the same position.
    #18
  20. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    358
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    It does once you set the angle as the next time reverse is selected it should drop to the same angle you set it too...
    #19
  21. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,454
    Likes Received:
    705
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Yes, mine dipped down a lot the first time I tried it but it wasn't right, so I adjusted it to give me a nice view of the back wheel and kerb, and it goes back there every time now. I don't use it all that often to be honest because of the reverse camera, and I never have the mirror switch in the right place anyway, but I tried it again on the way home today and still worked perfectly.
    #20
  22. S3 TRS
    Offline

    S3 TRS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Jan 10, 2014]
    Had you changed the setting in vcds or does it automatically do it. Do you have folding mirrors?
    #21
  23. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,520
    Likes Received:
    574
    [Jan 16, 2014]
    This is a new thread that I have created to allow discussions about the rights and wrongs of carrying out various code changes using VCDS. The VCDS-Mods thread should now only be used for details of actual code changes rather than for general discussion about carrying out any code changes. I have asked a Moderator to move some existing posts from the VCDS Mods thread to the VCDS Mods - DISCUSSIONS thread. If anyone feels their post has been wrongly moved please send me a PM.

    Please also make sure you read the WARNINGS in the VCDS-Mods - WARNING (currently VCDS-Mods - PLEASE NOTE but soon to be changed) about making any code changes.

    Please make sure you post in the appropriate VCDS thread or your post will get moved or deleted by the moderators.

    I have also asked the moderators to make this thread a Sticky so that it stays at the top of the screen.

    Thanks for your help.
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2014
    #22
    cuke2u likes this.
  24. Ryanytchan
    Offline

    Ryanytchan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    can someone kindly direct me to a post which outlines how to access vcds? Did a forum search but didn't really come up with anything. I'm collecting soon and was just wondering if I could turn off start stop on my own with a laptop and cable (if that's how it works)
    Cheers
    #23
  25. gtiller
    Offline

    gtiller Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    VCDS (previously known as VAG-COM) is made by a company called Ross Tech.
    Check them out here: Ross-Tech: Home

    Whilst the software is free, you must use it with a genuine cable, available from many resellers and distributors across the world.
    There are details on the Ross Tech site of where you can get the cable from.

    DO NOT buy a cheap cable from eBay, they don't work properly, can screw things up in your car, and will mean you are not entitled to access to Ross Tech's brilliant support.
    #24
    Ryanytchan likes this.
  26. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,520
    Likes Received:
    574
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    As far as we know at the moment VCDS cannot be used to turn of the Start/Stop system. The only way at the moment seems to be the purchase of a module from Kufatec. Here is a link to the module on their website:
    Coding interface disable start / stop MQB-40019
    #25
    Ryanytchan likes this.
  27. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    VCDS can be used to turn off start/stop. Done it on my S3.
    #26
  28. Ryanytchan
    Offline

    Ryanytchan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    Genuine cable is pretty pricy, I might just get the dongle
    #27
  29. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    Come on, that is not true. They work the same, they would screw things up in your car if you do stupip things but that would be the same with the original cable. Only drawback is that you will not be able to update it and you have no support.

    But if you just want to activate needle sweep and laptimer, frankly the original cable will not do it better.

    and to be clear, I have the original cable but also used a lot of cheap cables.
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2014
    #28
    Silky-S3 likes this.
  30. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,520
    Likes Received:
    574
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    Can you give us a link to the code so that the OP can see how it is done.
    I suggested the Kufatec option as it costs a lot less than a VCDS cable and the OP seems to be a new comer to VCDS. Better to spend £30 on the module that just plugs into the OBD port than start playing with VCDS if you're not sure what you're doing.
    #29
  31. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    I could but I'm not allowed to post the coding in this thread or the forum police will be after me! Also disabling start/stop might make the car fail the MOT, or upset the local plod or a passing hedgehog.
    #30
    veeeight likes this.
  32. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,520
    Likes Received:
    574
    [Jan 22, 2014]
    You don't have to post the code in this particular thread. If I remember correctly you posted something about it in the 8V VCDS Mods thread and I managed to find the password in the GTI forum. All I was suggesting is a link to your original thread giving the coding rather than posting the actual code. That's better staying in the Mods thread. What I was trying to do was separate the chat about VCDS Mods from the actual Mods themselves. If anyone wants to claim any of the Mods are illegal or dangerous then they should do it in this thread rather than clutter up the actual Mods thread. Hope you agree this is the better way to proceed.
    #31
  33. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Jan 22, 2014]

    Problem is you have no idea what reverse engineering of the VCDS software to remove the dongle code has done to the software, you could be writing any old cr@p back to the cars modules. Some of the MMI modules can be in 4 figures in value and it's not worth the risk for the price of a genuine cable and on the second hand market it holds its value very well.
    #32
  34. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Jan 23, 2014]
    well I've used cheap cables for 8 years now on more than 10 cars and never had an issue whatsoever. I am on another Audi forum since 2006 and never read anyone having issue.

    But then again, you're preaching to the choir, I have an original cable. :detective2:
    #33
    Silky-S3 likes this.
  35. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Jan 23, 2014]
    Silky, I've started to send my logs to Ross tech, did you do it too ?

    For the moment modules : 05, 5F, 09, 13, 14, 19, A5
    #34
  36. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    305
    [Jan 23, 2014]
    Yes mate I have. No response though!
    #35
  37. vimy
    Offline

    vimy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Feb 17, 2014]
    I'm looking to do the dipping passenger side mirror and MIS parking display VCDS mods on my A3, my first service will be coming up in a few months though.. do you think Audi will say anything about these mods or worse say its been void?
    #36
  38. squiretolley
    Online

    squiretolley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    110
    [Mar 5, 2014]
    #37
  39. 81llyh
    Offline

    81llyh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 5, 2014]
    #38
  40. squiretolley
    Online

    squiretolley Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    110
    [Mar 5, 2014]
    So there's no difference in terms of functionality?
    #39
  41. 81llyh
    Offline

    81llyh Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Mar 6, 2014]
    No there's no difference in functionality
    #40

Share This Page