1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VCDS codes. Running too rich

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by autolatry, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Had the car scanned tonight - thanks again Amar06fbr
    I have looked on the Ross tech wiki but the codes 17499 and 17573 arnt listed.
    It would be appreciated if someone could elaborate.



    4 Faults Found:
    16486 - Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70)
    P0102 - 002 - Signal too Low - MIL ON
    17499 - Mixture Regulation; Bank 2; Range 1
    P1091 - 002 - Rich Limit Exceeded
    17573 - Long Term Fuel Trim Additive Air; Bank 1; Range 1
    P1165 - 002 - System too Rich
    17550 - Load Calculation Cross Check
    P1142 - 002 - Lower Limit Exceeded - Intermittent
    Readiness: 0000 0000

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    175
    Id probably go for replacing the AMF and rescanning/clearing the others.
     
  4. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.

    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    291
    It suggests that the MAF is reading too high. I would replace this as a matter of course.

    Rick
     
  5. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Thanks for the replys. The maf was replaced in November. Il check the wiring is sound today .
     
  6. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,168
    Likes Received:
    1,431
    Do you run an aftermarket air filter, K&N?
     
  7. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    No it's all standard. The new MAF is Bosch. Checked all the wires and connections (visual and yankin at the wires check) an they all seem ok. I changed the spark plug yesterday and the old ones were very black, which coincides withe the fault code that's it's running rich.
    The revs bounce around a lot at idle (less now plugs are new) and I cant hold a constant rev between 1500 - 2000 rpm.
    I've just been for a drive and as I got home the traction control light has just come back on.
    I did notice some black soot like deposits around the butterfly valve in the throttle body but I'm a bit apprehensive about removing it as no doubt il break something.
     
  8. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    It also showed this fault code. I assume this is logged as there is 4 other faults logged. Or is it a separate issue?


    Address 03: ABS Brakes Labels: 1K0-907-379-MK60-A.lbl
    Part No: 1K0 907 379 E
    Component: ESP ALLRAD MK60 0103
    Coding: 0021128
    Shop #: WSC 06435 000 00000
    VCID: 346C6BBE578A73B8F54

    1 Fault Found:
    01314 - Engine Control Module
    013 - Check DTC Memory
     
  9. @udi A3

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,775
    Likes Received:
    175
    IIRC the MAF fault can cause other modules to read faulty and throw codes. But if the ABS fault was the initial problem it wouldnt throw up an MAF fault.

    Can you go to a local motor parts place and fit an MAF and check the results after DTC are deleted? If it doesnt work you could take it back for a credit note if there a good bunch :D
     
  10. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    I think what I will do next is replace all the vacuum hoses and see if that makes a difference.
    I have noticed some condensation / cream on the oil filler cap.
     
  11. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,168
    Likes Received:
    1,431
    Clean of the mustard & see if it returns quickly & with volume, this would possibly indicate coolant/oil mix which sint neccessarily good, but may just be condensation.
     
  12. amar06fbr

    amar06fbr Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    68
    i think we should scan it again and see why has the traction light come back on and see if any of the 4 faults come back after the dtc were cleared.
     
  13. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Nice one Amar. Il call you this week and pop down when you are free.

    The light went off today but I assume the log will still be there?

    I checked for the gunk on the oil cap today after a 15 mile run and it's not come back thankfully. Il put that one down to condensation.

    Still got erratic idle though. I've got a set of new breather pipes coming so il change them and hope ive just got a vacuum leak.

    Oh also, I have an alluminium pipe I'm by engine bay - does anyone else have this or should it be a proper hose?
    photo.jpg [​IMG]
     
    #12 autolatry, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
  14. neilkaz

    neilkaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Going to follow this post with much interest as i seem to have exactly the same issue, even posted my first post on here today regarding it (see link below).

    Good luck and hope you find the cause soon


    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...-3-2-dsg-quattro-sport-stalling-low-revs.html

    Neil
     
  15. RobinA3

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,795
    Likes Received:
    31
    Check for an air leak.

    As the engine intake system is under vacuum it could be sucking in unmetered air (air which has not been measured by the MAF) - as this air has not passed the MAF the engine will think that the MAF is reading too low even though its getting the correct amount of air to run.
     
  16. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Certain there is an air leak now. The revs started going spastic on the way home. I popped the bonnet when I got home and there is a loud hissing noise. I hope these new hoses turn up soon.

    Can any one comment on the alluminium hose in the above post? Should I replace this with a rubber one?

    Cheers.
     
  17. neilkaz

    neilkaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

    Cheers for PM Steve,

    Yeah it is a very similar issue (well the same fault codes) but my problem goes from completely non-existent to totally undriveable as it constantly cuts out. I then leave it an hour to cool and it is faultless again, i'm wondering if mine is a coil pack breaking down as it gets hot.

    Can't see the pic mate, If you can post a pic of the aluminium hose i'll pop the bonnet on mine and have a look for ya.

    Neil
     
  18. neilkaz

    neilkaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just been and popped the bonnet, i don't have a silvery/aluminium pipe running along the back of the engine bay like you have. Strange???
     
  19. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    Thanks for that Neil. Il shall swap that pipe then.

    I purchased a couple of coils the othe day £24.50 from GSF. It may be worth you buying a couple and swapping them about.
    Have you checked the condition of your spark plugs?
     
  20. neilkaz

    neilkaz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    No haven't checked plugs yet but i would imagine they are ready for replacement, they've been on the car for two years and done about 16,000 miles so may worth well be worth doing. Thanks for the link, shame they don't sell them in 6's !!

    Do you know if VCDS would show a dodgy plug or coil pack as a misfire fault ??
     
  21. autolatry

    autolatry Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    67
    I'm new to VCDS but I'm pretty sure it would show what cylinder was misfiring.
    It seems to do everything. I'm going to get a cable in a couple of weeks off NHN.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,168
    Likes Received:
    1,431
    It will show misfire data usually yes.
     

Share This Page