1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VCDS and Mileage records

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Hodge, Jun 19, 2014.

  1. Hodge

    Hodge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    As above, I know VCDS can be used to set up the mileage on a new cluster, but can it be used to check the mileage stored on the ECU of the car to check if has been altered at anytime.

    Cheers
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. adamss24

    adamss24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    4,287
    Likes Received:
    343
    Yes, on some EDC15 and 16 it will read the memory of the instrument cluster and ECU and they should be similar...
     
  4. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,494
    Likes Received:
    645
    unless the clocker has done the job propley then theres no way to tell
     
  5. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    128
    you cant set the milage using vcds its vag tacho
     
  6. Hodge

    Hodge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanking you, it's just the trustworthiness of the ECU I was thinking of, but as you say everything is fixable, I just wondered if it recorded changes to mileage on the ECU, my car had a mileage discrepancy in the first 3 months of its life 10 yrs ago as a demo car at the Audi dealer, they appear to have inadvertently added a zero to the mileage at 6 months this became apparent at its first dealer service. But once it's on the VMR it's on, I am just looking for proof it was not clocked,

    Cheers
     
    #5 Hodge, Jun 19, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2014

Share This Page