1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vagcom?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Danny Cawsey, May 20, 2010.

  1. Danny Cawsey
    Offline

    Danny Cawsey Cawsey

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    15
    [May 20, 2010]
    does anyone know the best and cheepest place to get vagcom from?
    and what are these cheep ebay jobbies about?
    cheers Danny
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. leshkin
    Online

    leshkin Speeding in reverse gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 20, 2010]
    Cheap cables from ebay will not work with the latest version of full VCDS. You will have to use the lite version, which is limited in features.

    Look for user called NHN, who sells the original cables. I think they currently go for something like 220GBP, but don't quote me on that. Well worth the cost if you're keeping a VAG car for a long time.
    #2
  4. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [May 20, 2010]
    worth it

    I am going to get one
    #3
  5. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    [May 21, 2010]
    Last edited: May 21, 2010
    #4
  6. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [May 21, 2010]
    It'll be the same as the ones on ebay mate. They're pretty generic to be fair, a lot of people make loads of different variants.

    The fault code scanner will probably be good - BUT - one of the most useful features of VAG COM is it's ability to log live data to a CSV file. This is invaluable for finding issues.

    VAG COM 409 will work with those cables, I have a dodgy ebay one and VAG COM 409 and it works fine.
    #5
  7. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    [May 21, 2010]
    cheers welly so its just finding the slightly older version and all is ok? They work on the agu alright then i guess? (since urs is agu)
    #6
  8. S3 Rav
    Offline

    S3 Rav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    26
    [May 21, 2010]
    As said i think nigel is the bloke to talk to about this.
    #7
  9. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [May 21, 2010]
    Mine is an AGU engine physically, but is connected to APY S3 Management. Although the same software used to work on my old A3 AGU - so should be fine.
    #8

Share This Page