1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VAGCOM

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ALPINE, May 18, 2008.

  1. ALPINE

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok paydays lerking, time to bite the bullet i think,

    cheapest place for vagcom please people. also what lead do i need as ihave just looked on ebay and there is quite a few of them.

    many thanks
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,171
    Likes Received:
    452
    alpha bid for a cheap cable and DL the demo version of VAG-Com from ross-tech
     
  4. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,618
    Likes Received:
    648
    the demo version doesnt do everything and the cheap cables dont work with the latest software, however i wasnt paying £200+ for something i could achieve for £10 on ebay and some surfing of the web so i went that route too

    a few careful google searches later and its spot on.
     
  5. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    10
    cheap ebay usb cable, and you can download vag-com 409.1 from ross tech while you wait for it to arrive, but the odd genuine dongle cable comes up on ebay, i got one for £85, still not used its full potential though
     
  6. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    10
    forgot, vag-com software is free to download just search ross-tech
     
  7. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist
    Team V6 Audi A4 saloon

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    110
    just got mine yesterday from alpha bid now for the install which one?:sadlike:

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/download/archives.html

    i notcied this one "For the Ross-Tech TWIN-USB Interface:
    (NOT for any 3rd party interfaces!)"
    or
    The most recent version for Interfaces based on Opto-Couplers is:
    Release 311.2
    Posted 16. November 2003

    For ISO-COM and most Third-Party interfaces

    mine is a USB one
     
  8. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    10
    pretty sure i was using the 409.1 version with my ebay usb cable
     
  9. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,171
    Likes Received:
    452
    409 is what you want, its the latest version that will work with the"dumb" interfaces. I also "found" the software, but cannot condone that :no:
     
  10. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,618
    Likes Received:
    648
    you dont want the USB version for the ebay leads. The ebay lead has a USB interface which emulates a serial port, Vagcom talks to it with normal serial protocols so you want the serial version.
     
  11. audivro

    audivro Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,i have the usb version,cost £10 from ebay.i can email you drivers for the usb cable and you need to set the usb cable up on comm port 2.This will alleviate the dumb port issue aragorn was mentioning.

    Comm port 3, which is the only port vagcom will recognise, is the dumb port so it needs to be changed in task manager,with the usb cable plugged in click on ports comm and lpt,then it will reveal usb serial port comm3,right click and properties,advanced,and put it from port 3 to 2 and save.set vag com to port 2 and hey presto!!

    hope this helps
     
  12. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,618
    Likes Received:
    648
    i was more meaning that the USB versions of vagcom have a native USB option instead of the com port which doesnt work with the ebay devices.
     
  13. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,171
    Likes Received:
    452
    not many laptops have serial ports any more, thats certainly why i had to ditch my serial cable
     
  14. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,171
    Likes Received:
    452
    yeah but the later versions require a ross tech device to activate all features??
     
  15. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,618
    Likes Received:
    648
    lol people are getting confused. The cheap ebay leads use the serial vagcom design with a standard serial to USB convertor IC. Windows handles the serial to usb part and presents a normal serial port to vagcom to use. If you were to use the USB version of vagcom 409 thinking that it would work because you had a USB cable (from ebay) it wouldnt. As the cheap cables do not talk the RossTech USB protocol, they just talk serial over USB.
     
  16. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    10
    so which one should he download cos im really confused now!
     
  17. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist
    Team V6 Audi A4 saloon

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,278
    Likes Received:
    110
    me too is it the serial one?:tocktock:

    For MODERN SERIAL Interfaces
    (no optos):



    Self-Installing EXE file ~1.1 MB
    Works with Windows 95, 98, ME, NT4,
    2000, and XP but does NOT support <<<<----------
    USB Interfaces or interfaces based <<<<----------
    on Opto-Couplers such as the old
    ISO-COM or most third-party interfaces
     
  18. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,618
    Likes Received:
    648
    yes, the cheap cables require the serial version.
     
  19. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    10
    but does serial one have drivers so computer knows what the usb device is for
     
  20. audivro

    audivro Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have both the serial and the usb,as aragorn mentioned it talks serial over usb so even though the vag com has a usb function it wont work.if you configure as above you will have no issues.
     
  21. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User quattro Audi A4

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,171
    Likes Received:
    452
    I have 311.2 and 409 working on my cheapo USB cable, just need to make sure the comm ports are 1 2 3 or 4 as it will not see anything higher
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,618
    Likes Received:
    648
    old_skool: The drivers are built into windows XP afaik, if not all the disk you get with the lead installs the USB to serial driver. Then you just point vagcom at the serial port(com port) that the driver has created.
     
  24. olds_kool

    olds_kool Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    10
    ive got rosstech usb dongle, and just upgraded laptop after accident (laptops dont like fruit juice) so ive recently downloaded latest versions and drivers, i think thats why i was confused
     

Share This Page