1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VagCom Issue

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by gaz71, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. gaz71
    Offline

    gaz71 1.8T Quattro Sport AJL

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2010]
    Hi,

    When trying to run VagCom 409.1 on my netbook I keep getting the error message 'No Response From Controller'.
    This message only occurs when trying to run this on my netbook (XP), if I use my other laptop (Win7)it works fine.

    I would rather use the netbook as the laptop is a huge f-ing thing and only just fits on the seat (17" widescreen)

    Any ideas????
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,873
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Jul 24, 2010]
    I would imagine you need to select the correct com port.

    When you attach the USB dongle, windows allocates a com port to it. If you open the device manager you should be able to see which com port its allocated, and ensure it matches the setting in vagcom. Vagcom can only access com 1-4, so if windows has given it a higher number you'll need to change it.
    #2
  4. gaz71
    Offline

    gaz71 1.8T Quattro Sport AJL

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 1, 2010]
    Checked and tried all comports from 1 to 4. Still no joy :(

    Looks like I'm going to have to keep lugging the huge laptop until I can figure this out.
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,873
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Aug 1, 2010]
    What com port is the interface using in the device manager?

    Mine sometimes allocates it a stupid port, like Com9 or something, and you need to go into the device settings and change it to a number between 1 and 4.
    #4
  6. gaz71
    Offline

    gaz71 1.8T Quattro Sport AJL

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 1, 2010]
    Depending on which USB port I plug it in to it's either 3 or 4 so it's allocating o.k just being a pain in the backside.
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,873
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Aug 1, 2010]
    If its running Vista or 7 then make sure you start vagcom as administrator?
    #6
  8. gaz71
    Offline

    gaz71 1.8T Quattro Sport AJL

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 2, 2010]
    As mentioned previously, it is running XP hence my head hurting trying to figure out what's wrong
    #7
  9. gaz71
    Offline

    gaz71 1.8T Quattro Sport AJL

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2009
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 21, 2010]
    I think I may have worked out what is wrong - after testing the Com Port OK I am clicking on SAVE but I do not think that it is saving the configuration.

    Now all I have to do is figure out how to sort this out :banghead:

    Any ideas :confused:
    #8

Share This Page