1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vag-com questions

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by VAGMAN1, Apr 3, 2006.

  1. VAGMAN1
    Offline

    VAGMAN1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 3, 2006]
    I want to invest in vag-com but have some questions:

    which cable do I want for my A3 (2000)?

    If I want to run it from my PC, can I but a USB lead, and then get some kind of USB extension cable?

    I just want to do basic fault code scanning - will the basic download from the ross-tech site do this?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Apr 4, 2006]
    Yes you should be able to use a USB extension lead.

    The basic download version allows you to scan for fault codes and reset them.

    I got my cable from Alpha-Bid off ebay, I would definately recommend these, the cable is very good quality(alot better than some ive seen) and delivery from the states was about 4 days.

    Hope this helps.
    #2
  4. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 6, 2006]
    Can you data log with the basic free version of VAG-COM? I'd be interested in logging MAF readings / boost etc.
    #3
  5. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Apr 8, 2006]
    you can if donwload 3.11 version and crack it! lots of cracks for that version
    #4
  6. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,788
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    I have this version,

    [​IMG]

    I got it free.

    I have never seen what VAG.com looks like so is this the full version??

    It is release 311.2N.
    #5
  7. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 12, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Can you data log with the basic free version of VAG-COM? I'd be interested in logging MAF readings / boost etc.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    You may be able to log MAF flow readings because it can be logged on block 003.

    However, you won't be able to log boost because that is block 110 or 115.

    You can only log the first 10 measuring block with the free version.
    #6
  8. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 12, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    you can if donwload 3.11 version and crack it! lots of cracks for that version

    [/ QUOTE ]
    There is no way I would trust cracked software accessing the ECU of my car!
    #7
  9. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 12, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    I have this version,

    [​IMG]

    I got it free.

    I have never seen what VAG.com looks like so is this the full version??

    It is release 311.2N.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    The VAG-COM USB cable validates the freely available software into the full package.

    Using cheap imitation cables from Ebay may worth with your car, but may not give you the full version of VAG-COM, only the demo/trial version.
    #8
  10. moschino
    Offline

    moschino Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 23, 2006]
    I purchased a cable off of Alpha-Bid and I am very happy with it.
    I use VAG-COM Version 311.2
    There are several cracks available for this version that can be found on google if required.
    The cable from RossTech automatically validates the software, however their cable is a lot more expensive than Alpha-Bid.
    With the Alpha-Bid cable it uses the serial number of your ECU to create a code that RossTech use to create an unlock code to sell to you. The cracks just create an unlock code generated from the serial number of your ECU. I cannot believe that this can in any way damage your ECU.
    This was some time ago I looked into this, things might have changed since then.
    #9
  11. dik
    Offline

    dik Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 24, 2006]
    I`ve got a usb vag cable which I used with vagcom 3.11 and it works fine.. it came from alpha bid.

    Reading maf values, setting central locking and fault logging

    Since I`ve upgraded to an a3 (with a can bus) I cant use it anymore, If you want to offer me postage and something for my troubles its yours. PM me if your interested..
    #10
  12. reise
    Offline

    reise New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2006]
    I also bought a cable from alpha-bid but I can't read anything from my car. The strange thing is that the test is ok!
    The software tries several times to read values and then gives controller not found. Does anyone know how to fix this?

    Car is A3 2001, vag-com 409.1, Windows xp.

    Thanks,
    #11
  13. AndyHolmes
    Offline

    AndyHolmes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2006]
    I have a similar problem to reise. Everything hooks up ok, interface found, etc, but it cannot read any values. When I click on OBD-II to test compatability, it tells me that my car is not ISO/OBD-II compatible. The car is a 1998 (R) 1.8 T-Sport and is listed on the Ross-Tech website as being OBD II compatible, what am I doing wrong?
    #12
  14. AndyHolmes
    Offline

    AndyHolmes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2006]
    A-Haa. The default baud rate was set to 9600, I reduced this to 4800 (in device manager) and voila, values found and I was able to set my car up the way I wanted, no problem. Hope this helps reise and/or others.
    #13

Share This Page