1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vag-COM question

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Effect, Dec 29, 2007.

  1. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 29, 2007]
    just aquired myself a vag-com usb lead of ebay and downloaded the relevent software off ross-techs website.

    so i navigate myself to the engine department and clear the two fault codes on there from ages ago.

    Then i start having a play about and seeing what i can do.
    a button named "readiness" catches my eye so i click on it and it has a list of loads of things to do with EGR and the O2 sensor, everything read ok except for the 3 relating to the O2 sensor.

    Is this normal or does this mean that my O2 sensor needs replacing, neither of my 2 fault codes related to the O2 sensor btw.


    Thanks
    James
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Dave B
    Offline

    Dave B REALITY?.... WHERE AM I AGAIN?.... WHO AM I AGAIN?

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 29, 2007]
    Which cable did you buy? having issues with mine from the bay?

    Sorry to jack you
    #2
  4. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Dec 29, 2007]
    i'll second that....mine connects, does the test but comes up with nothing that is apparent and gives me no options to do anything what so ever..... sorry to jack:eek:)
    #3
  5. Longman
    Offline

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 30, 2007]
    I think the 02 sensors will only give readyness value of ok when the engine has been running. This is because they read their values based on exhaust gasses.

    Not sure though, its worth a try.
    #4
  6. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 30, 2007]
    the problem is that you have cleared the fault codes. By doing so, you also clear the readiness too.

    The car now needs to be driven so it'll pass the checks again, and they should all pass again. It usually takes 200 miles(ish)

    EDIT: Make sure the car has passed the readiness checks before you take it in for an MOT at a dealers too, sometimes they can be funny if the CAT check has failed..
    #5
  7. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    well i have had a slight problem with the car spluttering and occasionally dying on cold starts on cold mornings and wondered if this could be related ?
    #6
  8. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Dec 31, 2007]
    James, as MADVW already said, when you clear fault codes, you reset the readiness monitors. So, you'll need to drive the car a while before they will all set.

    If your O2 sensors are going, then your fuel trim may be the clue that you are having a problem with an O2 sensor. I suggest you take a look at the Ross-Tech Fuel Trim page to get a better idea how the O2 sensor could bother the fuel trim and lead to sputtering or even stalling of the engine.

    Beyond that, to have further help, you should post the particulars of your car and if possible an auto-scan so we can see the modules in that car.
    #7
  9. Effect
    Offline

    Effect Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 2, 2008]
    Now I have driven it a bit they have reset and everything shows as passed, except for the catalytic converter.

    Should this cause me concern ?
    No more fault codes have been logged since i cleared the ecu either.
    #8

Share This Page