1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vag-Com problem on a new laptop with vista

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Badgeronimous, Dec 14, 2007.

  1. Badgeronimous
    Offline

    Badgeronimous New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anytime I try to run vag com, I set it up then start running the auto check/scan facility (I can't seem to switch my traction control on so want to find out why), it starts the test then within 10 secs of it starting I get ''program has stopped working''

    I'm using version 409, with a third party cable (that does work as the guy I've borrowed it off uses it regularly), running Vista home edition on a brand new laptop. The car is an '01 S3.
    #1
  2. Badgeronimous
    Offline

    Badgeronimous New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    double post sorry
    #2
  3. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem so I bought a real setup. I would borrow your friends laptop as there seems to be some USB driver problems with Vista.
    #3
  4. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would try it on an xp laptop, vista is the work of the devil lol
    #4
  5. mavala
    Offline

    mavala Oops!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only Vag Com 704.1 works with Vista.
    You will also need to replace the KKL cable with an HEX CAN USB cable
    #5
  6. j4jon
    Offline

    j4jon Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a laptop running Vista using version 311 and a 3rd party cable seems to work fine
    #6

Share This Page