1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vag-Com Help!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by S3 Big Andy, Sep 4, 2008.

  1. S3 Big Andy
    Offline

    S3 Big Andy Stealth Beast Baby Yay

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Hi, I have just got a new Vag-com lead and software, I plugged it in and all seems ok, but I get an error on the lead saying my after market radio is not working, but I dont have one!!

    Help!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    25
  4. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Which lead do you have? What version of VAG-COM are you using?
    #3
  5. S3 Big Andy
    Offline

    S3 Big Andy Stealth Beast Baby Yay

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Micro- can and the new software it downloaded..

    I could but I dont want to plug it in again in case the lights go again, oh I missed that off last time it mucked up my lights!
    #4
  6. DeckedS3
    Offline

    DeckedS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    570
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Should it say it's working? My last one had an aftermarket stereo and it always said there was a fault... Simply because it couldn't see it (as it expected with the standard one).
    #5
  7. kaz219
    Offline

    kaz219 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,806
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    Mine has this fault as i have an aftermarket one in it:

    Address 19: CAN Gateway
    Part No SW: 1K0 907 530 D HW: 1K0 907 951
    Component: Gateway H08 0100
    Coding: 3F0F0B42070101
    Shop #: WSC 06314
    1 Fault Found:
    01304 - Radio
    004 - No Signal/Communication
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 01100100
    Fault Priority: 2
    Fault Frequency: 254
    Reset counter: 76
    Mileage: km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2008.08.21
    Time: 01:51:55

    That because there's no signal from the stereo? If yours is the same, it could mean the a loose wire or the bit that sends signal to the main comp to say its working is bust..
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 4, 2008]
    what radio you got in your car Andy?
    #7
  9. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 5, 2008]
    I have an after market install and I simply re-coded the gateway to tell it that it doesn't have an Audi stereo.

    Best bet is to paste the result of an auto-scan so that we can advise you.

    An auto-scan is non destructive and won't make any changes.

    Paul
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,320
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 5, 2008]
    Paul I'm sure we've been down this road before but with so many posts I've forgotten, lol, but the FSD's & Eibach's, overall thoughts on this combination, how low is the ride cause I'm not into lowering at all, are they the well known 30mm springs mate & would you say these are worth the money or did J put on the car b4 you bought it from him.

    Sorry if repeated conversation from before, just Damian@DPM says the Bilstein B6 are 10 times better than FSD's but guessing the price is also as much times, lol.
    #9
  11. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Sep 5, 2008]
    Hi mate, there is a pic about mid way done on this page : http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=21390&page=7

    When I bought it from J. it had the Eibach SportsLine Springs (50mm drop) with the stock shocks and I didn't like the ride, so I installed the Proline kit (30mm) with the FSD dampers. I am very happy with the result, it handles well and the FSD dampers soak up a lot of the **** road surfaces that we have to put up with. It is about on par with the firmness of the suspension of my wifes MX-5 sport.

    Regards,

    Paul
    #10

Share This Page