1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vag com error please help

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by neilwaterhouse88, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am new to vag com coding and while trying to activate leaving/ coming home lights I seem to have activated trunk close assist and have no idea how to stop this, everything works fine but when I open the boot it sounds like the latch is releasing 3 or 4 times which just really bugs me
    please help
    #1
  2. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have just spoke to audi they said the can put the codeing back to standard for £50 has any body got a 59 or similar a3 that they could give me the original code for to have a try
    many thanks
    #2
  3. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    02364 – closing Assistance
    008-implausible signal
    Freeze frame
    Fault Status:01101000
    Fault Priority:5
    Fault Frequency:1
    Reset counter:152
    Has anybody ever had this before? when i open the boot it make the noise as if it is unlatching several times, i think i have changed something on vag com by mistake please help
    #3
  4. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Please try to keep your posts together mate rather than creating a new thread for the same thing. It's busy forum and people will help if they can but you may just have to be patient.

    Which modules did you go into when you tried to activate CH/LH?

    As a beginner you should really have saved a copy of your old setting before you started buddy :shrug:

    It's probably worth you posting the long coding code for any module you think you may have changed. I have a bit of free time later so I may be able to compare it to mine.
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2010
    #4
  5. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Great typo staz :lmfao:
    #5
  6. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    :wacko:
    #6
  7. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry about the seperate posts mate just trying to get to grips with it, right I altered the following
    9.cent elec--- coding-----long code help
    the code I currently have is:
    a e e d 1 a 2 f b 0 0 5 f 0 0 0 2 0 7 0 4 1 e 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 c 4 3 1 a 2 3 a a 1 0 4 d c 1 2 9 e 4 0 0 0 8 8 0 0 0 4 0
    thanks alot for the help and advice
    #7
  8. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Ok I'll have to have a look tomorrow or at the weekend but I'll get back to you if someone else hasn't susses it out before me.
    #8
  9. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers mate very much appriciated, is there any chance that if you do get time to have a look at your coding would you be able see what byte/ bit are ticked so I can work out what I changed
    cheers
    #9
  10. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Neil, are you in the USA? A few of your options are North America only.

    What I had planned to do was stick your coding into my central electronics module and see if I got the same symptom then gradually change it back to mine until the symptom went. I wasn't able to do that as VCDS told me it was out of limits :think:

    There's nothing that stands out that might give that problem but what I can suggest it that you put my coding into yours one byte at a time and see what happens. If it's not fixed by the end then just put your back to how it was before.

    Do you have labels for bytes 24 and up? You have options selected but I can't see what they are as mine are blank.

    Here's my coding anyway: B58E0F27A028100008000000000000000009FF175A050202000000000000
    #10
  11. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I'm not in the us mate what byte/bit are selected that are us only
    #11
  12. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    The NA ones are:

    Byte 22 - Bit 6 Rear Parking Lights as Blinkers active
    Byte 22 - Bit 7 Diagnosis Rear Brake Lights inactive

    Also Byte 23 - Bits 3-4 Turn lights via fog lights is selected, on mine this it's set to 'not active'.

    Other strange things are that nearly all of the cold diagnosis on your bulbs are disabled, you have DRLs through fogs enabled but Byte 1 bit 1 says that you don't have fog lights installed, you have rear seat recognition installed which I'm fairly sure is wrong and your options are set for having bi-xenons but you don't have the 'headlamp washer installed' ticked.

    Is it a sportback?
    #12
  13. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rite I see pal, iv definetly only changed a couple at the most, maybe the set up has changed on 2010 cars not sure at all, I think I might get them reset by audi so I know it's all correct and not the codes down on future and have a fresh start do u think this would be wise? Thank you very much for your help
    #13
  14. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yep it's definitely possible that the label file is different for your car so things wouldn't necessarily correspond. Where abouts are you Neil?
    #14
  15. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Top marks to you Staz. very helpful thread mate.:respekt:
    #15
  16. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    In Lincolnshire mate, I think that I'm gonna get them all checked and reset at audi just so I know it's all right and start a fresh making sure to note down the original codes in the future
    #16
  17. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I just hate seeing people pay Audi so much money for a relatively simple fix!

    That's fair enough mate.
    #17
  18. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ye I feel the same mate, my main problem is that when I open cent elec then long codeing help it says no information avaliable for this ecu so I have no idea what each byte/ bit does therfore cannot look for errors this way, I have tried using a guide that says what they are but they don't match due to many more bytes on mine
    #18
  19. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where abouts are you based?
    #19
  20. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Oh right! Are you using the latest version of VCDS?

    Near Reading mate. Check out the VCDS users map for guys near you though: http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?84603-***VCDS-Users-Map***
    #20
  21. neilwaterhouse88
    Offline

    neilwaterhouse88 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took my car to audi today mate had it checked and the noise from the boot is being caused by a faulty fuel cap that is not locking with the car but when I open or close the boot locks and unlocks several times so getting a new one fitted under watrenty next week, got all the codes rest too
    #21
  22. stokeballoon
    Offline

    stokeballoon Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    So did Audi charge you?

    remember that at least **** Turpin wore a mask...............
    #22

Share This Page