1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VAG-COM ECU connection problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by racc, Jan 30, 2008.

1. racc

racc New Member

[Jan 30, 2008]
    My problem is VAG-COM can't contact ECU of my A3 1.8 (1996). Connection to ABS, airbags, central lock and meter panel (probably that, it was some time ago I last tried this) modules seemed to work. I changed connection parameters, pretty randomly though, but that didn't help. No any kind of signs of life from ECU.

Any ideas how should I start debugging this? I've got Haynes' manual but wiring diagrams in it don't seem especially complete concerning ECU.

Car is in running condition. It has only slight problems with starting occasionally, so in theory I could take it to Audi service. However, as I'm anyway pouring most of my money into this car (I'm a student :wacko:), it would be excellent if this could be repaired at home garage.
  2. Ads

Ads

[Dec 29, 2014]

3. steve1975l

steve1975l Member

[Jan 30, 2008]
    Is it a genuine lead or from the bay?
  4. FactionOne

FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

[Jan 30, 2008]
    As steve has alluded to already, this is the type of area that can differentiate between an eBay lead and a genuine Ross Tech one.

On some ECUs there can be slight communication timing variations which make a lot of the leads found on eBay fall-over.

Do you get any error messages at all?

I had a lead from eBay a while ago and I was driving a '98 A3 at the time; everything seemed to work pretty well. I got a 2x2 port adapter for older cars for it as my father was driving a late-model Audi 100 then, and I had similar issues to you. It would connect to most of the (few) modules on his car but it never once managed to open the Engine module because of communication issues.

As soon as I bought a genuine Ross Tech HEX-USB+CAN it worked first time, every time.