1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

using VCDS Lite

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Garber, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. Garber
    Offline

    Garber New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering if anybody knows if an engine check light or fault is cleared by using VCDS lite/Vagcom then the fault reappears dose vagcom log how many miles it took for fault to reappear
    #1
  2. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    No it does not log the miles between faults. VCDS - not the lite product - may show the mileage at which a fault occurs if the ECU being monitored has this information. Not all modules do.
    #2
  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Can you expand on why you would need this function anyway, just curious, any specific module you want to monitor for longevity?
    #3
  4. Garber
    Offline

    Garber New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm just being curious when i bought the car it had a vac leak which put MIL on so dealers mechanic cleared the fault and off i went the MIL lamp came on again a few days later and his handheld scanner showed it took 15 km for the fault to return so was just wondering if VCDS had this function

    Kind regards
    Garber
    #4
  5. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    If the tool he used can read what is known as the freeze frame data, and if the guy had marked previous mileage, he could know the difference between first occurrence and the second occurrence. VCDS does show the freeze frame data. See the on line manual.
    #5
    Garber likes this.

Share This Page