1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using stock speaker wiring? (A4 B6 avant)

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by RobMorris, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
    Chaps

    I have the standard system in my car with sub/amp in the back.
    Are all 4 door speakers + sub powered by the amp?

    And if I replace the amp, can I use the stock wiring to power the stock speakers? and then eventually replacement speakers in the stock locations?

    Cheers
    #1
  2. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Standard meaning non Bose?
    #2
  3. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    You can use the stock speaker wiring no problem - obviously you can't use the power connection to the rear amp to power a new amp
    #4
  5. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
    Cheers Andy - will the stock speaker cable take 50wrms?
    #5
  6. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
    I might run my own wiring actually? Is it easy to run the wiring through the gromits into the doors?
    Im not going for bass or component sets in this car. Just a cleaner sound over stock.
    Ive bought 2 sets of 17cm Infiniti 6532i. And will be running off a 4 channel DLS CA40 amp.
    #6
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    good luck with that! There's no way through the A pillars to the doors. The rubber boots are protecting solid connectors for all the door wiring.
    With the standard (non Bose) system - the fronts run off the HU on a standard ISO plug annd the rears run off the rear amp.
    #7
  8. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks Andy and understood - I shall forget the running my own wires idea..
    I think im best to leave the fronts running from my Sony Headunit then?
    Then run the rears from my own amp leaving 2 channels (bridged) potentially for a small sub at a later date..
    Just sold a 8" RE sub that would have worked perfect in this car! Nevermind..

    I have also learnt the reason why my rear speakers/sub doesnt work - I have an aftermarket HU!
    This is not an issue considering my plans but the fact I can only pick up radio 2 and classic fm is an issue!

    Q****What do I need to 're-activate' my aerial amp?

    Cheers
    #8
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    #9
  10. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
  11. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,227
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    It is a possibility to run new wires tbh, time consuming but maybe possible, dependent if there are spare slots in the door connectors, which there usually is.

    if you want to do this with an oem finish then open up the pillar rubber boots, see if the connectors have any spare holes to put repair wires into, if so, you could look at the sizes available for that connector & fit new audi repair wires into each connector side, join new speaker wires onto the audi ones, thus oem connection through the connectors properly.

    This isnt a 5 minute job & if the stock wires are adequate then use these tbh.
    #11
  12. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks maybe il take a look as I done something similar to your suggestion in my previous BMW.
    Do you know if the stock speaker cable will take 50wrms?
    #12
  13. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yes no problem
    #13
  14. RobMorris
    Offline

    RobMorris Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    9

Share This Page