1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urgent Help Required.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Vikz, Sep 4, 2006.

  1. Vikz
    Offline

    Vikz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    Driving along the M3 today at speeds of 100mph plus, luckily this guy in a vectra pulls up next to me while in traffic and tells me none of my brake lights ain't working.

    HELP!! checked them out and the bulbs are fine, anyone have any idea why they aren't working? even the 3rd brake light doesn't work. my rear lights come on when i switch the headlights on though.

    Audi A3 1.8T

    thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    Are the brake lights on a separate fuse ? have you check the fuses ?
    #2
  4. Vikz
    Offline

    Vikz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    i have no idea if they are on a seperate fuse and i haven't even checked, wish i had a haynes manual right now damn it!
    #3
  5. icenutter
    Offline

    icenutter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    On the A4 the brake light switch can break (most people find out when the cruise control stops working). Dunno if the same thing happens to a3s
    #4
  6. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    well, if you know where you fuse box is, pop the cover off and on the inside it should list what fuse number does what
    #5
  7. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    Could be the brake light switch under the pedal
    #6
  8. Vikz
    Offline

    Vikz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    just checked the fuse and it was fine. my mechanic said it probably is the brake light switch but it was too late for him to look at it today. any idea of the price of these things?

    by the way thanks olly.
    #7
  9. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    129
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    Olly you really must fix that bug mate... Whenever people write
    Code:
    km/h
    in stories about doing a ton plus on UK public roads it seems to come out as mph! Very strange! ;)

    Regards,

    Rob.
    #8
  10. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    LOL Faction ! here's me typing it in going what's he on about !

    No worries Vickz, im not really up on A3's, S4's and RS4's are my bag,

    Thinking about it though,the bulbs are usually dual fillament, and its the same bulb for the brake lights and the main lights, so unlikely to be the fuse !

    I think icenutter and randomjim have it spot on
    #9
  11. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    :yahoo:
    #10
  12. Vikz
    Offline

    Vikz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    we'll see what the mechanic says but looks like they are right.
    #11
  13. Timbo
    Offline

    Timbo Slowest car ever round the Top Gear track?!?

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2006]
    The switch on the pedal went on mine with exactly the same symptoms. If memory serves the part was about £10-£15. It was less than £100 including fitting at a dealer.
    #12
  14. rickparmar
    Offline

    rickparmar va va voom

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2006]
    mine has gone and i didnt even notice,

    first tyre puncture, then little bump today and now brake liights gone,
    am going to buy the part tomo

    where exactly does it go, ???
    #13
  15. Vikz
    Offline

    Vikz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2006]
    got mine sorted, part and fitting for £30 by my mechanic. it goes somewhere near the pedals, but the surrounding has to be taken off to fit it.
    #14
  16. rickparmar
    Offline

    rickparmar va va voom

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,268
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 7, 2006]
    30 pound, part is only 7 pound lol

    ill have a go to mo, see what happens
    #15

Share This Page