1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urgent Help Required - RNS-E Bluetooth Coding

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by Avus Sportback, Mar 26, 2011.

  1. Avus Sportback

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hello, I know these topics have been posted a million times but I still can't get my RNS-E to see my Bluetooth module.

    I have a 2008 (57) A3 8P 2.0 TDI - and I have MFSW - Factory fit RNS-E - 6 CD Changer and Cruise.

    I have installed the Bluetooth module and coded it 10422 ???, my original coding was 11822

    The bluetooth connects to my phone and works as it should, the sound comes through the speaker, it displays in the middle of the instrument cluster but still shows TELEPHONE IS NOT INSTALLED on the RNS-E.

    What else do I need to code?

    I assume I need to change the code in the Navigation unit #77. My original code was 0205117, I did change that to 0205717 but it still didn't display on the RNS-E?

    Do I need to activale anything in the CAN gateway?

    Do I need to reboot the RNS-E, if so how?

    Nav info-

    SW: 0600
    HW: H99
    Map: M1N061018_EN0603

    Please HELP :sos::sos::sos:
     
    #1 Avus Sportback, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    I thought it would say "Telephone not installed"

    Did you reset the RNS-E when you coded it.

    Hold RADIO & SETUP until the screen blanks after you change the code to xxxx7xx

    Also 0011422 is the correct coding for an A3 BT kit with MFSW and RNS-E
     
  4. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,124
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Had exact same issue as you on an install other day, coded perfectly, connected via BT but would not display on the rns, no matter what coding I changed to & reset the rns, now if craigs advise for coding doesnt work, then as below.

    Did a forced downgrade of firmware to think was 600 or lower if you have a dvd with it on, then phone data was displayed properly, then did an update to 650 & also displayed properly, all good.

    I think the unit we got, had a dodgy sds hack applied & corrupted the unit, thus downgrade cleared this firmware & restored full functions.

    Now when doing fw changes it cycles through twice so dont get worried it isnt responding after the 1st software upgrade is finished, let it do its thing, takes few minutes.

    Finding clients who supply there own kit are getting units from lithuania with X in the fw area shown in rns menu's which is a possible sign of security code changes, maybe this is also the cause of these problems, who knows.
     
  5. Avus Sportback

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    Guys, thanks for the responce - It was the fact that I didn't do the reset that caused the problem. I didn't know about this but now it is displaying. :thumbsup:

    I have noticed that the Display between the cluster keeps showing the first entry in my phonebook even tho i'm not using the phone?

    Also, I didn't connect the "Tel Mute" wire to D11 I think as I didn't have a repair wire. Will this be a problem as it all seems to be working as it should apart from the above? I did wire the Mic directly to the RNS-E and the from the RNS-E to the BT Module. This wiring is for the SDS Hack to work I think but not got round to that yet!
     
  6. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    Ok, the MODE button on the steering wheel should toggle between the phonebook and radio/CD.

    You don't need the mute wire on the audi BT prep.

    When you do install the SDS hack change the BT coding to 0011402
     
  7. Avus Sportback

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks Craig, yes the Mode button has changed that now.

    Do you have a copy of the hack with the instructions or know where I can get it?

    One last question, how do i change between phones if my phone and my GF's phone are in the car at the same time both with BT turned on?

    Changing to 11402 - the "0" is for no voice control, is that correct?
     
    #6 Avus Sportback, Mar 26, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2011
  8. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    Yes you turn off voice control when you have full SDS as the BT control is now in the RNS-E when in full SDS mode. So you have to disable the BT module SDS.

    Have a search for AUdi RNS-E 0660 firmware, plenty of place to download it from.
     
  9. Avus Sportback

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have noticed that since wiring the Bluetooth into my car, the dimmer for the interior lights isn't working. I thought last night when driving the car that the lights were all very dim but I thought it was because i didn't have the pannel plugged in for the light switch and dimmer switch. I have plugged them back in but the interior lights are not changing when rolling the dimmer.

    The Sat Nav goes from day to night colours when the head lights are turned on and off. I have just plumbed the footwell looms in this morning and they are dim too?

    Does this sound like a wiring issue with the bluetooth module?

    I hope not as the module is behind the stereo and it was a pig to get in.
     
  10. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,124
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    Clear any codes thrown with vcds, then test ss somethings dont function properly when there are codes logged, if it still doesnt work then I would disconnect everything & test, reconnect, fault analysis/process of elimination based on you have already coded it correctly.
     
  11. Avus Sportback

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    Bugger - cleared all fault codes and still dim interior lights.

    I did go into the can gateway (#19 i think) and activate the #77 Telephone Module although I didn't see any write up telling me to do this. Could this be the problem? Should I also change the VCDS coding on the #77 and other controller back to orignal to se if that helps?
     
  12. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    Activating the coding for BT option 77 should have no affect. You have to do this on the A3/TT/R8 with can gateway.
     
  13. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,124
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    I would unplug BT module, see if problem goes away, if does then plug BT module back in & if problem returns then check your wiring.

    I'd also unplug rns aswell to see if issue goes away.

    Edited this twice cause missed your other points, dohhhh
     
    #12 NHN, Mar 27, 2011
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2011
  14. Avus Sportback

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    Your not gonna believe this, just been out in the car and the dimmer is now working ????? Does the A3 have a light sensor on the car somewhere that will only activate the dimmer control when it goes dark? The switch has not been working on any of the cockpit lights all day, but not dark it works!

    My footwell lights are still very dim, how do i turn thek up?

    Thanks Guys
     
  15. Avus Sportback

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    7
    All sorted now :rock:

    You can control the brightness in Central Electrics #9 - Adaptation - Group 09 Channel 005

    Mine was set at 25% so turned up to 100% and its Happy Days!
     
  16. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,124
    Likes Received:
    1,644
    You can also control it via the DIS if new enough modules installed.
     
  17. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    58
    0205725 IS MY CODING......I NEED CHANGE IT
    To fit rnse what do i need to change to?
    i have ipod connection in glovebox.....factory bluetooth,mfsw and bose sound
    works ok,tel works too......got 3-4 fault codes one being control module incorrectly coded.
     
  18. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    0205725 is A3, no BOSE, telephone, AMI and MFSW

    0209717 at a guess is what you need and adaptation channel 08 needs to be 255

    This is all from memory as I've not coded one for nearly a year.
     
  19. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    58
    il try now....back in 5-10 mins
     
  20. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    Also did you move the BOSE wire to the correct location?
     
  21. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    58
    that is right....i had fault code in can-gateway....i ticked the box which says navigation.......now no fault code

    but still faults left ---same fault codes in radio and navigation my phones connected but no numbers/name displayed on rnse(probably do with faults below) any help?


    56:radio 00858 connection radio itermediate frequency(if)output to antenna short to ground 007
    01044-control module incorrectly coded 000--
    03157-functionality limited due to communication distruption 000--


    37-Navigation 00858 connection radio itermediate frequency(if)output to antenna short to ground 007
    01044-control module incorrectly coded 000--
    03157-functionality limited due to communication distruption 000--
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    58
    yes bose wire moved to correct location.

    Radio working ok
     
  24. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    The first fault is normal on an RNS-E Installation, your car has 2x HF connectors for radio and the RNS has HF/ZF so the ZF will always show a fault.

    Is your phone ECU coded 0011422


    Do you have phone book in the DIS
     
  25. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    58
    i do in the dis, but nothing on rnse
     
  26. s8craig

    s8craig Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    51
    If you don't have it in the DIS it is usually that you have not enabled the comfort option in the phone ECU to talk to the RNS-E, that is why I suggested you change the phone ECU coding.
     
  27. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    58
    phones ok now,all number are there.........only faults i get are

    56:radio 00858 connection radio itermediate frequency(if)output to antenna short to ground 007
    01044-control module incorrectly coded 000--
    03157-functionality limited due to communication distruption 000--


    37-Navigation 00858 connection radio itermediate frequency(if)output to antenna short to ground 007
    01044-control module incorrectly coded 000--
    03157-functionality limited due to communication distruption 000--

    im stuck now ?
     
  28. vw754

    vw754 vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,311
    Likes Received:
    58
    can anyone help,above faults stil present..........when talking on phone,get hissing sound too.
     

Share This Page